We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas lunch and bunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bartellas

Bartellas
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Meopham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A privately owned 175 seat restaurant with cocktail lounge and bar serving Mediterranean inspired food, Bartellas is a favourite of the charming village of Meopham. Elegantly appointed in wood and sisal, clean lines and contemporary furnishings, Bartellas offers comfortable and attractive surroundings plus excellent continental service including those little touches of linen napkins, predominately round tables, complimentary still and sparkling water and bread. The recent orangery extension and private dining salon upstairs for a maximum of 24 at one table ensures that whatever the occasion, Bartellas can cater for your dining and party needs. A regular changing a la carte menu, a Sunday menu with all the traditional roasts and the prix-fixe menu available Monday to Saturday lunchtimes and early evenings Monday to Friday offer great value for money- ��10.55 for one course including a 175ml glass of wine, small beer or soft drink.
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch and bunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My children booked this for me as an early Christmas present with 3 friends. I have been to the lunch and bunch before but they hadn't and they weren't disappointed. We all made a Christmas table decoration, which we were all impressed with. Everything was supplied so hassle free. The meal after was excellent, we had a choice from the Christmas set menu. We all chose chicken pate to start and then the Christmas dinner. We all had a different deserts which we thoroughly enjoyed. All my friends agreed they had a great time and would all like it do it again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge79, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Lovely to hear Linda that your early Christmas present was so enjoyable.

Regards,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    138
    62
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit of class comes to meopham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This is the sort of place you'd expect to find in London so I feel lucky to have it here on my doorstep. From the moment you step inside you're made to feel welcome and I just could not fault anything from start to finish. Bartella's deserves 5* cos that's how they treated my party. Thank you.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria187057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge79, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Much appreciated Victoria- delighted we manage to get it so right for you on a consistent basis.

Regards,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Me & my girlfriend went to Bartellas on a Wednesday eveening and I have to say we were both very impressed. The service was excellent and very attentive. We both went for pizza which were massive, the toppings (chicken, pepperoni & prawn) & (salmon) were unusal but delicious and at just over £7 an absoloute steal. The rest of the menu seemed reasonably priced and varied. Will definetly be coming back again, we live over half an hour away and it was well worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CRSCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge79, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Good to learn the trip was worthwhile and that your pizzas were so enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“High quality restaurant at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We ate here for the first time one early Sunday evening with friends and have to say we really enjoyed it. The people of Meopham are very lucky to have this restaurant and the Cricketers so close to hand.

The interior was lovely and crisp and modern with good spacing between the tables. Although we ate relatively early, the restaurant was still busy with couples and families alike and had a nice buzzy atmosphere with low level music in the background.

The menu was of a really high quality, mainly Mediterranean but with the odd nod to the Far East as well. It was also good to see that children were not side lined as all the dishes could be downsized into smaller portions for them. Each table are given complimentary water and bread and oil while they peruse the menu which is a great touch. There was a great selection of wine by the glass which you don’t often see

I settled on the Chicken and Foie Gras terrine with kumquat chutney, followed by the Sea Bass with crabcake and lobster sauce. Both of which were generously portioned but more importantly tasted great. I sampled the OH’s goats cheese roulade with romesco sauce and roast pork and crackling and they too were equally as good. As the starter and main were so good, we had to sample dessert so settled on Passion Fruit Creme Brule and the Lemon Tart – both were a really good end to a great meal.

The staff team worked the room really well and were constantly on the ball although not intrusive at all. For food of this quality we were pleasantly surprised as to how the low the bill was/ Would definitely recommend and will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge79, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good to learn of your delight and appreciation of all that we offer Gary.

Sundays at Bartellas, when we are open throughout the day, have become a regular fix for so many in the area and so readily demonstrate our broad appeal.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good meal with friends. Very good service and food. Nothing to complain about, the food came out at a good pace, not rushed or too slow. Cost are fair for the quality of food. Would return and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank mikepay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge79, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Appreciate your kind comments Mike- hope to welcome you back when you're down our way next.

Regards,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartellas also viewed

 
Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Bartellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing