We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in the Vines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I was fortunate enough to be hosted at this lodge with my partner.
I was aware of the status of Takatu wine and the high quality of its reputation within the world of wine.
However, what I gained most exceptionally from this visit was being able to see and to gain an insight into the passion of John and Heather through their determination to develop wine of exceptional quality using the purest methodology amidst a lodge of exceptional quality. I gained a sense of genuine friendship from our hosts who spent time amongst their respective busy lives to take/make the time to share accounts of their journey with my partner and I as well as to enable them to host us to a very high standard.
For me this was more than a place in paradise to lay our heads, but a place where I was able to be invigorated by the passion of a couple who took the risks with a purest vision and who are continuing to strive to achieve the most highest of standards.
The area is only 45 minutes from Central Auckland and seems a world away. The beach at Buckleton's Beach is a gem too with the nearby townships of Matakana and Puhoi providing divergent impressions of current rural living. The determination of the local people to prevent and/or manage the challenges of the "big city developments" is to be admired and to be commended and to be totally encouraged as the "big city way" is not the way for everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Copperduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2010

Every detail is thought of at Takatu Lodge...My husband and I spent a couple of nights with Heather Forsman on our recent trip to NZ. It was a genuinely luxurious break in our itinery, the rooms are fantastic and the location and architecture of the Lodge itself have to be appreciated! Heather's breakfasts were yummy - I have emailed for recipes! - and the main reason for Takatu - the wine - some of the best we found in Matakana. A little bit of heaven in the chaos of life!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarrotFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

John and Heather were incredible hosts, made us feel at home and amazed us with their attention to all details. Their spot is amazing, in the center of their vineyard, the room has an incredible view. It really is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of life.
We are already planning to get back there next year and bring our parents with us.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I badly needed a relaxing break from our heavy workload and chose Takatu Lodge after recommendations from others who had previously stayed there. Takatu Lodge is a peaceful, tranquil piece of paradise surrounded in green hills and trees. Spectacular lounge/dining/deck area, open fire, wine and canapes in the evening - the perfect place to wind down. An exquisite breakfast was served to us in our room the next morning, together with the newspaper. Our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer. Would thoroughly recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a secluded hideaway to take time out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreakfastontheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

This lodge is the absolute best place of more than a dozen we stayed on our 3 week trip to New Zealand. The vineyard setting was superb, as were the hosts Heather and John. The lodge is contemporary with earthy and natural accents and has been featured in many design and travel magazines.
Every detail has been considered in the design! The rooms are sublime and the sheets are the best money can buy. The bathrooms are huge and feature a great oval tub set close to the vineyards and views of the sea.
The chef comes in every morning from down the road and whips up an amazing organic breakfast using local ingredients. The wine tasting features their own wines and olive oil from their farm.
We stayed the first two days of our trip and sadly nothing after even compared. It is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TravelpairSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

My wife and I went to Takatu for two nights and wanted to stay longer, like a week longer. The location, facilities, owners and of course the wine are absolutely top notch. My wife and I went to New Zealand for a long weekend (from Sydney) and had no idea where to go but after some advice from the staff at the best restaurant in Auckland (The Grove), we decided on Matakana. Then we found Takatu on TripAdvisor and called up John (John and his wonderful wife Heather own the vineyard) and were lucky enough to get a room.

When we got there it was truly fantastic, absolutely stunning scenery, fantastic facilities (my wife and I are going to try and integrate some of the hotel’s design elements into our own home), perfect service and some of the best wine we have ever had. I hope I will be able to go back and I hope I'll be able to bring our extended family with me so they can experience it as well, that is how much we enjoyed it.

The only downside is they do not ship wine to the US (I am not sure about other countries). We loved their wine so much that we bought a case but had to bring it back to Sydney with us (we are living here for a few months) rather than send it back to our home in the US. Therefore if you do come here make sure you make arrangements so you can ship wine back to your home country because you will definitely want to take some of their wine with you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigCat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

My husband and I wanted a romantic getaway for our honeymoon and Takatu was incredible, exactly what we were looking for. If you want to be surrounded by gorgeous vines, close to untouched beaches, near to fantastic food and wine in 5 star accomodation then this is your place. Worth every penny!! Heather was an incredible host......Excellent in every way.
Natasha - London

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LondonNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2008

Dear Natasha
Thank you for your lovely comments, very helpful & informative & very positive! it's an absolute pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to your return next February when you can perhaps enjoy a 2nd honeymoon!
Our kindest wishes,
Heather & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
1.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
143 reviews
2 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
42 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
90 reviews
19 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
342 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takatu Lodge & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takatu Lodge & Vineyard

Address: 518 Whitmore Road, Matakana, Auckland 0948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $438 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Takatu Lodge & Vineyard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the beautiful Takatu Peninsula, this award-winning 5 Star lodge & vineyard is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean and magnificent beaches. Takatu Lodge's contemporary design incorporates walls of glass to capture stunning views of the vineyard, mountains & sea beyond. The luxurious suites are designed for ultimate privacy and comfort. A sumptuous breakfast with a "slow food" approach and 'A Gift for Every is included: 1st night: A bottle of Takatu’s award winning Bordeaux style Kawau Bay 2007 2nd night: Two tickets to the local Brick Bay Sculpture Trail – explore & view the best renowned NZ sculptors works, exhibited in a natural bush setting. 3rd night: Hosted by the owners, experience a complimentary wine tasting of one of their award-winning wines, accompanied by an antipasti dish for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takatu Lodge & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing