We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our stay at Takatu Lodge is extremely difficult to express in words, but I will try… From the moment you see the property, to entering the driveway followed by the grand entrance into the main house you know it’s gonna be fabulous and luxurious. We were just 2 girls up from Auckland for the weekend to see six sixty perform which happened to be within walking distance (thou we didn’t walk) and wanted some where magnificent and relaxing to stay. If you want lovely friendly hosts (John and Heather), beautiful surroundings, exquisite furnishings throughout, complimentary items found in your room such as (Takatu wine, home baked cookies, handmade chocolates, box of thoughtful items needed just case you need to sew on a button, triple filtered water) and a whole lot more, an amazing home cooked breakfast, breathe taking views, stunning star gazing in the evening (yes you can see the stars on a clear night)…. TAKATU is the place to stay and worth every cent… I will be back in 2013 to enjoy the surroundings once again… Thank you John and Heather for being you and for such an unforgettable stay. Regards and best wishes…….Allison and Alexis

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allisonedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Allison and Alexis
Thank you for your very positive response. It's always great to hear we're on track and giving the best service and accommodation possible. It's extra heartening when guests such as yourselves appreciate the extra touches and added values.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and hopefully live up to our reputation!
Kind wishes
Heather & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in December. This is a first rate property. There is nothing you could fault in the room. It included touches that you don't find in 5 star resorts. The view over the vineyards is wonderful and peaceful. Heather and John are discreet and welcoming and are generous with their local advice when asked. Breakfast is customised to your tastes and appetite. Would highly recommend - and - we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello there
Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely stay as we take great pride in offering the best possible service. We are particularly pleased you appreciated our attention to detail, the little extra indulgences that portray you, as all our guests, are important to us.
Best wishes
Heather Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and i shared a wonderful 3 nights at Takatu Lodge. The units were beautifully appointed and immaculately presented with all the fine details expected of a 5 star residence.
The Breakfasts and supper platters were delicious and generous.
Heather and John were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend anyone looking for a special getaway to consider Takatu. We will be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello Graeme
Please excuse my delayed response and we hope you had a lovely family Xmas and New Year.
Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely 3 day stay and particularly pleased you appreciated our attention to detail, our supper platter and the little extra indulgences that let you know you are important to us...and we look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Best wishes
Heather & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I only dropped in for a brief overnight stop as we were touring. Despite being delayed prior to arrival, we were directed to a great local restaurant and John waited up for us! Heather has done a fantastic job equipping the rooms with every creature comfort. The weather wasn't the best but the vineyard setting really enjoyable. The breakfast was memorable with fresh ingredients prepared by Barbara to a really high standard. A fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGK005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive response and so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, albeit brief. We realise the importance of ensuring guests are well looked after when travelling and spending a limited time in each area - that you receive the best welcome, service and are made to feel as comfortable as possible.
Kind Regards
Heather Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had spent a day at Takatu lodge and really enjoyed the peaceful place, John makes excellent Rose wine the taste was impressive, Heather and Barbara's cooking was memorable. Beautiful place all around Matakana also. Hope will be back some days and will see you guys again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello Mike

Thank you for your positive feedback after staying at Takatu Lodge and we hope you'll be able to return again when next visiting NZ.

Feedback is important to us so we are able to offer the best possible stay for all our guests.

Kind Regards
Heather & John Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My partner and I were only able to get away for one night, but even just one evening at Takatu Lodge felt like a full weekend. The entire experience was faultless - Heather understands service and getting the little things right. We spent most of our time there parked up in front of the fire in the mian lodge, reading, chatting and enjoying the fantastic Takatu wine.

The location is stunning, the accomodation extremely luxurious and the common lodge areas inviting and welcoming.

Being from Auckland, it was the perfect distance away for a mini-break - far enough away to feel like you are on holiday without the worry of a long commute home at the end. It is the kind of place that you can recommend to friends and family and know with certainty that their experience will be a fantastic one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1vivy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely stay as we take great pride in offering the best possible service. We agree it is a fabulous option for Aucklanders to come stay at Matakana Coast as we are less than an hours drive from Auckland City and the area offers beautiful beaches, treks, vineyards, restaurants and cafes for guests to enjoy.
Best wishes
Heather Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently enjoyed the pleasure of the lodge for one night - the lack of noise was a treasure, nothing disturbs you and surprisingly you don'y even hear vehicles leaving during the night who must drive out on a pebble driveway.

the morning view across the vineyard towards Little Barrier which was bathed in sun was a stunning experience

Breakfast was excellent - the local produce was wonderful

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely positive response. We're so pleased you made the most of what our area has to offer and enjoyed your stay with us. It's always a delight to 'see' through the eyes of others who visit us and our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
5.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
71 reviews
4.1 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
85 reviews
4.5 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
90 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takatu Lodge & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takatu Lodge & Vineyard

Property: Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Address: 518 Whitmore Road, Matakana 0948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Takatu Lodge & Vineyard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the beautiful Takatu Peninsula, this award-winning 5 Star lodge & vineyard is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean and magnificent beaches. Takatu Lodge's contemporary design incorporates walls of glass to capture stunning views of the vineyard, mountains & sea beyond. The luxurious suites are designed for ultimate privacy and comfort. A sumptuous breakfast with a "slow food" approach and 'A Gift for Every is included: 1st night: A bottle of Takatu’s award winning Bordeaux style Kawau Bay 2007 2nd night: Two tickets to the local Brick Bay Sculpture Trail – explore & view the best renowned NZ sculptors works, exhibited in a natural bush setting. 3rd night: Hosted by the owners, experience a complimentary wine tasting of one of their award-winning wines, accompanied by an antipasti dish for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takatu Lodge & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing