We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Matakana Motel(Matakana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosemount Homestead(North Island)
View Hotel
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
73
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightnew zealandthe pacific oceankauri cliffspinot grismade us feeltwo nightslong drivefabulous viewsattention to detailwarm welcomeother guestsa real gemsecond to nonebefore dinnerhigh standardbeautiful location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 79 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had spent a day at Takatu lodge and really enjoyed the peaceful place, John makes excellent Rose wine the taste was impressive, Heather and Barbara's cooking was memorable. Beautiful place all around Matakana also. Hope will be back some days and will see you guys again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hello Mike

Thank you for your positive feedback after staying at Takatu Lodge and we hope you'll be able to return again when next visiting NZ.

Feedback is important to us so we are able to offer the best possible stay for all our guests.

Kind Regards
Heather & John Forsman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My partner and I were only able to get away for one night, but even just one evening at Takatu Lodge felt like a full weekend. The entire experience was faultless - Heather understands service and getting the little things right. We spent most of our time there parked up in front of the fire in the mian lodge, reading, chatting and enjoying the fantastic Takatu wine.

The location is stunning, the accomodation extremely luxurious and the common lodge areas inviting and welcoming.

Being from Auckland, it was the perfect distance away for a mini-break - far enough away to feel like you are on holiday without the worry of a long commute home at the end. It is the kind of place that you can recommend to friends and family and know with certainty that their experience will be a fantastic one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1vivy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely stay as we take great pride in offering the best possible service. We agree it is a fabulous option for Aucklanders to come stay at Matakana Coast as we are less than an hours drive from Auckland City and the area offers beautiful beaches, treks, vineyards, restaurants and cafes for guests to enjoy.
Best wishes
Heather Forsman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently enjoyed the pleasure of the lodge for one night - the lack of noise was a treasure, nothing disturbs you and surprisingly you don'y even hear vehicles leaving during the night who must drive out on a pebble driveway.

the morning view across the vineyard towards Little Barrier which was bathed in sun was a stunning experience

Breakfast was excellent - the local produce was wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your lovely positive response. We're so pleased you made the most of what our area has to offer and enjoyed your stay with us. It's always a delight to 'see' through the eyes of others who visit us and our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Takatu lodge and vineyard in Matakana recently and had an exceptional time there. The room was spacious, warm and inviting with views over the vineyard and on to Little Barrier island, the bed and linen were superb and there are all the extras you'd expect in a 5 star lodge such as fresh flowers, gourmet chocolates, elegant fittings, underfloor heating, a luxuriously comfortable arm chair, etc. The bathroom is further bliss, great shower and double vanity, they along with the bathtub also have views over the vines and beyond, my wife loved to soak in the tub each evening before dinner. Then there is the exquisite breakfasts which were served in the main room overlooking the grounds and vines of course and a mountain range in the distance, they were a delight to wake up to each day.
There was also plenty to do and see in the area too, we did the sculpture trail at Brick Bay which i recommend, lots of local talent on display. We took long walks on Tawharanui beach and Omaha beach both of which are beautiful. The Matakana markets are on each Saturday and give a fantatastic representation of the local produce and food in the area, well worth visiting. We did enjoy the restaurants and cafes in the area too and would recommend the Stables and Plume restaurants as well as Dragonfly cafe and Maurice and James cafe which also sells fabulous pottery.
Lastly, our stay was topped off by the host of Takatu lodge, Heather who gave us the warmest of welcomes each morning, she was insightful and helpful in guiding us on what to do each day, booking restaurants and generally making us feel as if we had come home. We had a truly wonderful time there and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimJ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Takatu Lodge to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. From the point of booking through to checkout, Heather made sure we were well looked after! The wine tasting is good fun (and we left with a few bottles) and the region is well worth the time. So close to Auckland as well! Great location, great lodge, great people, great time. Thanks and we'd love to come back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were exceeded.
We take great pride in all we do here at Takatu Lodge so love feedback that we are doing it right!
Thanks again from the Takatu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews