We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway...and so close to Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My partner and I were only able to get away for one night, but even just one evening at Takatu Lodge felt like a full weekend. The entire experience was faultless - Heather understands service and getting the little things right. We spent most of our time there parked up in front of the fire in the mian lodge, reading, chatting and enjoying the fantastic Takatu wine.

The location is stunning, the accomodation extremely luxurious and the common lodge areas inviting and welcoming.

Being from Auckland, it was the perfect distance away for a mini-break - far enough away to feel like you are on holiday without the worry of a long commute home at the end. It is the kind of place that you can recommend to friends and family and know with certainty that their experience will be a fantastic one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1vivy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely stay as we take great pride in offering the best possible service. We agree it is a fabulous option for Aucklanders to come stay at Matakana Coast as we are less than an hours drive from Auckland City and the area offers beautiful beaches, treks, vineyards, restaurants and cafes for guests to enjoy.
Best wishes
Heather Forsman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently enjoyed the pleasure of the lodge for one night - the lack of noise was a treasure, nothing disturbs you and surprisingly you don'y even hear vehicles leaving during the night who must drive out on a pebble driveway.

the morning view across the vineyard towards Little Barrier which was bathed in sun was a stunning experience

Breakfast was excellent - the local produce was wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your lovely positive response. We're so pleased you made the most of what our area has to offer and enjoyed your stay with us. It's always a delight to 'see' through the eyes of others who visit us and our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Takatu lodge and vineyard in Matakana recently and had an exceptional time there. The room was spacious, warm and inviting with views over the vineyard and on to Little Barrier island, the bed and linen were superb and there are all the extras you'd expect in a 5 star lodge such as fresh flowers, gourmet chocolates, elegant fittings, underfloor heating, a luxuriously comfortable arm chair, etc. The bathroom is further bliss, great shower and double vanity, they along with the bathtub also have views over the vines and beyond, my wife loved to soak in the tub each evening before dinner. Then there is the exquisite breakfasts which were served in the main room overlooking the grounds and vines of course and a mountain range in the distance, they were a delight to wake up to each day.
There was also plenty to do and see in the area too, we did the sculpture trail at Brick Bay which i recommend, lots of local talent on display. We took long walks on Tawharanui beach and Omaha beach both of which are beautiful. The Matakana markets are on each Saturday and give a fantatastic representation of the local produce and food in the area, well worth visiting. We did enjoy the restaurants and cafes in the area too and would recommend the Stables and Plume restaurants as well as Dragonfly cafe and Maurice and James cafe which also sells fabulous pottery.
Lastly, our stay was topped off by the host of Takatu lodge, Heather who gave us the warmest of welcomes each morning, she was insightful and helpful in guiding us on what to do each day, booking restaurants and generally making us feel as if we had come home. We had a truly wonderful time there and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimJ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Takatu Lodge to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. From the point of booking through to checkout, Heather made sure we were well looked after! The wine tasting is good fun (and we left with a few bottles) and the region is well worth the time. So close to Auckland as well! Great location, great lodge, great people, great time. Thanks and we'd love to come back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were exceeded.
We take great pride in all we do here at Takatu Lodge so love feedback that we are doing it right!
Thanks again from the Takatu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I visited Takatu lodge quite some time ago and I forgot to lodge a review, so here it is on the assumption that late is better than never.

Takatu Lodge is located within easy driving distance of the increasingly up-market village of Matakana; just over an hour from Auckland. I have to admit that my first impression of Takatu was slightly underwhelming. Viewed from the street in dull weather the house presented as an uninviting expanse of grey-on-grey, and called to mind an industrial estate more than it did an upmarket B&B. Happily, as soon as you step inside any comparison to industry begins and ends with the rolling vista of carefully tended grape vines that can be seen from almost every window.

The main house is absolutely beautifully designed; it works extremely well as a B&B but as a family home (plus guest wing) it would also be spectacular. From the functional office located conveniently close to the entrance, to the magnificent galley kitchen, huge expanses of glass and spacious indoor/outdoor living areas; the whole thing will cause anyone interested in interiors, cooking or architecture to drool a little.

In keeping with the rather deceptive street appeal of the house, the guest wing looks blank from the outside too but, again, this is because the ‘good stuff’ is out the back. The rooms are not gigantic or completely over the top; they’re classy, downright comfortable and fitted out with all the little ‘extras’ you expect for the price (plus some thoughtful additions such as a stack of magazines for browsing). The beds are absolutely huge and the decor is understated and restful. The bathrooms are lovely and have been designed so that the bath runs along one wall next to casement windows which can be thrown open to reveal the expansive view. If you pop the cork on a bottle of bubbly, run the bath, light a few candles (supplied) open the windows and watch the sun setting in a blaze of pink over the vineyard, I am sure you’ll agree your only option is to surrender to a fog of bliss. The stretch of grass behind the guest rooms is strictly off-limits to anyone but guests, so you can relax with confidence.

Heather (we saw John only fleetingly as his main love is the vineyard) is an elegant, unobtrusive and charming host. Being the type of person who clearly knows and is known by everyone in the area, she is a fabulous resource if you are seeking guidance regarding things to do and see, and the various dining options in the region. We didn’t dine at Takatu (there are some really good options in town) but breakfast the next day was nicely imaginative, and beautifully cooked and presented.

Takatu isn’t one of those cosy ‘home away from home’ B&Bs, nor is it a luxury Lodge in the real sense of the word. It’s something of a hybrid, and a fabulous choice for anyone seeking elegant, upmarket accommodation that offers a high degree of privacy and service without a ‘millionaires-only’ price tag.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed and made the most of your stay with us and Matakana in general, and very much appreciate your comments.
We are passionate in all we do at Takatu Lodge so love feedback!
Thanks again from the Takatu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Four days was not long enough. The lodge and room were extremely comfortable however nothing was better than sitting on our balcony watching dusk fall over the vineyard. Watching the kingfishers and the kookaburra returning home for the night and waiting until the light faded on the sea in the distance and first stars of the evening came out.

All this while drinking some very good wine made from the vines you are looking at.There’s something special about doing that.

Takatu Lodge is discrete, refined and understated and with just 4 rooms more a country house than a hotel. We keep wishing we were back there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for your valuable & positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to Takatu.
Kind Regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We have just spent two wonderful days at Takatu. Not only is the lodge wonderful accomodation but Heather, the co-owner ,makes your stay very special indeed - nothing is too much trouble. She is the perfect balance of being available for you whenever you need, without ever intruding on your stay.

The only place we can compare Takatu Lodge to would be "the Maharaja's palace in Jaipur, India, where we spent out Honeymoon. Anywhere elase in the world that we have stayed just does not compare. We will definately come back for our next special occasion.

Kevin & Sarah

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevinba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
5.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
79 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#5 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
39 reviews
19.0 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takatu Lodge & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takatu Lodge & Vineyard

Address: 518 Whitmore Road, Matakana, Auckland 0948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $456 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Takatu Lodge & Vineyard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the beautiful Takatu Peninsula, this award-winning 5 Star lodge & vineyard is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean and magnificent beaches. Takatu Lodge's contemporary design incorporates walls of glass to capture stunning views of the vineyard, mountains & sea beyond. The luxurious suites are designed for ultimate privacy and comfort. A sumptuous breakfast with a "slow food" approach and 'A Gift for Every is included: 1st night: A bottle of Takatu’s award winning Bordeaux style Kawau Bay 2007 2nd night: Two tickets to the local Brick Bay Sculpture Trail – explore & view the best renowned NZ sculptors works, exhibited in a natural bush setting. 3rd night: Hosted by the owners, experience a complimentary wine tasting of one of their award-winning wines, accompanied by an antipasti dish for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takatu Lodge & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing