We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morris & James

Morris & James
Book In Advance
More Info
$237.61*
and up
Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Matakana
Attraction details
Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Morris and James produce superb pottery products. Would that we could have brought some of there planters back to England, we had to be content with some little decorative bits. Café is charming and serves good coffee. The free tour of the factory was extremely interesting and well carried out by one of the staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sillyoldduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We called in for the first time today and are planning another visit with friends visiting from UK. It is very French as eating outside with your dog under the table reminded us of our time spent there. Food is very nice and maybe a bit on the pricey side, but the surroundings are pleasant. There is a pottery shop next door, now that is pricey and I couldnt be tempted this trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank janmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL CAFE WITH AN INTERESTING HISTORY”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We often stop here on the way to Ti Point for a walk because they dont mind our ittle furry companion sitting beside us in the courtyard. This always gives a cafe the edge. But apart from this excellent convenience, 'Morris and James' is a delightful stop for lunch, with so many interesting features designed by the owner who still has an interest in the property. Not only is the food delicious (although slightly pricey) the service is good, the rural setting wonderful (down a peaceful side road off the main drag) and an enormous pottery outlet as it is all designed and made here from the clay found on the property. The designs are colourful and diverse, from small bowls and platters to large outdoor pots. Well worth going to.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilyAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

There products are lovely and of a high quality. They have seconds as well. The tour is free and informative.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cafe as Well as Their World Famous Pottery”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went there for Sunday lunch. A faultless meal only spoilt by my wife's coffee which she found a little weak. As always the pottery on display was of the highest standard with prices to suit but managed to stretch the budget to buy a piece that I just had to have.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris & James also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Morris & James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing