We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced”
Review of Plume Restaurant

Plume Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated just an hour's drive from Auckland or Whangarei, Plume, the vineyard restaurant, Matakana is a must visit destination on any Matakana wine or food journey - we believe we are all about fabulous local New Zealand wine and produce which together can celebrate "culinary diversity." Plume is a small town, rural, rustic restaurant with friendly service from locally employed staff. It is a great change from the starchy fine dining service of a big city like Auckland yet is in a class of its own.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special and the service from our waitress did not come with a smile......
I'll stick to Matakana Market Kitchen or the Matakana Village pub - both of these offer better value and better atmosphere!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doepie277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    101
    51
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Matakana, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“let me at those grab one vouchers, i love plume!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Plume is just fantastic, and that's from a worldwide perspective as I eat a lot all over the world. Great views, amazing food- the pork loin, the churros. I grab one a bunch of vouchers when they come out in winter and me and the hubby, and bro and neighbours head along while the kids are at school and its quiet and enjoy a delicious meal and vino. Its always great, cant wait to try the new chefs food, hope he is good, but I bet he is. I think ill get about 8 grab ones this year- valid for 2 people lunch or dinner, just so the whanau can come along, not that I really want to share them. Plume is fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matakanafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stopped at Plume during a private tour of the Matakana region. Great lunch. Nice bottle of wine with some great seafood. We highly recommend PLUME.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuffyMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding at Plume”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

An immediate family member was married at Plume, it was only a week prior to the wedding that I found out about the awful way that the bride and groom to be had been treated by the owner Farida. From being advised there was to be no music for their wedding venue (!) to being advised they were to have finished by 10pm because there was a large wedding the following day - although, they were not allowed to start until 4:30pm and a multitude of things in between we were less than impressed. It was fortunate for Farida that we only found out how stressful she was making organising he wedding about a week before the event as she would have been swiftly dealt with otherwise. If you are marketing yourself as a wedding venue, one can surely assume that that includes all that goes with having a wedding.

When the family arrived to set up the tables for the venue an hour prior to the wedding nothing was in place for the ceremony or reception and it took some reminding to the host that in fact we had hired the venue for a wedding and that we were in fact the customer - in order to even be able to get the reception set up.

The food was reasonably nice, the wine was pretty good, but the entire scenario has left a pretty bitter taste in our mouths. We simply wouldn't recommend the venue for a wedding - possibly if the current host was not in charge of the venue this would improve as Sebastian and his team were excellent - even in the face of not having been given the most up to date version of the order of the reception by his management team, he was professional and friendly.

I'm sure that if you were a large wedding party you would be treated better at Plume, but rest assured, even if you're small - around 50 people, they're happy to take your money, you just may not get the service that you were promised to get in your first enquiry and meeting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
The venue was originally booked for a “wedding dinner” service only for 40 guests on a shared basis with normal guests for the restaurant and a quote was given for this scope – more correspondence followed requesting for the “ceremony” to be held also – that too was accommodated without charge. The venue was to be shared with dinner service at the same time – however in the end the dinner service too was cancelled by us in consideration of the couples privacy and special day so that the small wedding could go off well with all our attention without strangers around which was highly appreciated by the bride. This too was done without any extra charge. Also the venue hire charge was not charged as this started off just as a wedding dinner and then progressed to a full exclusive wedding service. The bride came to meet us exactly twice and we never met the groom. While we have everything in writing at no time were we told that there would be table runners provided or that decorations in the form of lanterns etc were to be carried out – we were absolutely set up for the wedding both for the ceremony as well as for the dinner, on time, when the family came in at the last minute requesting for the table runners and lanterns to be incorporated and we had to remove everything from the set up tables and re-do for the runners to be placed – if there had been co-ordination from the couple as is normal for all weddings and we had specifically asked for the same to be given to us in advance, we would have set up accordingly only. When candles with “flames” were to be put up it was suggested that the venue’s candles without flames be used as there were children at the dinner and we were concerned for their safety we were told “claim from insurance” if there is a fire. At no time did we say that there could be no music – the concern was about the space required for the same to be set up and as long as the space available was fine we had no problems with the music – in fact, the guitarist was really very good! It is sad that there was no proper co-ordination for this wedding as the groom did not get involved and the bride was away and only came back to the country towards the end . No family member stepped in to support the planning and on the last day and last minute insisted on not agreed things to be done We tried our best to help out the groom for a wedding in Matakana in the peak wedding season, at the last moment – a lesson well learnt for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Absolutely fantastic place. Came here to celebrate our engagement and the food, service and views were fantastic. Had a wine tasting earlier and got a nice bottle to take home at the same time. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume Restaurant also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Plume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing