We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food we had in Matakana”
Review of Plume Restaurant

Plume Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated just an hour's drive from Auckland or Whangarei, Plume, the vineyard restaurant, Matakana is a must visit destination on any Matakana wine or food journey - we believe we are all about fabulous local New Zealand wine and produce which together can celebrate "culinary diversity." Plume is a small town, rural, rustic restaurant with friendly service from locally employed staff. It is a great change from the starchy fine dining service of a big city like Auckland yet is in a class of its own.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best food we had in Matakana”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Food was great but lacked presentation was flat. Service was efficient, but not very friendly. They food though was great and with a little bit more effort.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fleur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    97
    50
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Stunning setting - wonderful food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great menu and service - recommend for a leisurely lunch - it gets warm on the courtyard so sit inside if you want to keep cooler in summer - private function room by the looks too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
1 review
“Great food, wine and service”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Four us had dinner at Plumes last Saturday evening. We have been several times before, especially when we have friends up from Auckland as well as overseas visitors. The meals are always 'fine dining' with great wines and superb service. We were in the hospitality industry in Bermuda and U.K. We live in Warkworth and I know many of our friends and acquaintances regularly dine there. The ambience is great with various lovely dining areas including outside on the terrace in summer. I would recommend Plumes as one to the best restaurants in N.Z.
Carole Robertson

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great evening ”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

It is hard to find consistently good restaurant, especially north of Auckland. Plume Matakana is one of the better higher class restaurants. There is no point going there if you want piggery style meal where one portion of main could feed the army and a quality of it is just ok. I myself want something better not just feel the stomach but have an experience. Yesterday I have decided to visit Plume. And I was not disappointed. They had a good choice if wines and couple meal specials which was great to hear. The waiter was pleasant not into you face. I ordered my favourite duck leg, which is Asian inspired meal, which I enjoyed. If you want something special and different you must visit Plume. There price range from 15 to 40 dollars, made with love and passion and I can see it and tasted on the plate. I do recommend this restaurant to food lovers, who appreciate good quality food, great atmosphere and fantastic location.

Helpful?
Thank Jalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have visited Plume several times with different friends and all of us have enjoyed the experience immensely. The warmth of the staff, the quality of the food, the every generous portions, the beautiful view and excellent wine all make for a lovely day trip from Auckland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynettesaldanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume Restaurant also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Snells Beach, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Plume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing