We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambiente Boutique B&B

Ambiente Boutique B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matakana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambiente Boutique B&B
Ranked #9 of 10 Matakana B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very late review as my partner and I stayed here in September 2011. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and made us a lovely breakfast. Very relaxing and quiet location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The, room was fabulous, we had good en-suite with patio to sit out on & watch the evening sky.Lesley and Norman were really helpful and looked after us well, the breakfast was wonderful and good to chat with them. We sadly only stayed one night and wished we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: The apartment with patio outside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

My mother and I stayed at Ambiente about a year ago. We were visiting family in Auckland and wanted to duck up to Matakana for a couple of nights to browse their fabulous Saturday markets (and a few wineries). My husband and I had previously stayed at Takatu lodge and I wanted to try something new, so I found Ambiente via Trip Advisor.

Ambiente is located outside the main village so you will need to drive when you visit town to shop or for dinner. We booked the self-contained apartment. The guest accommodation is tucked in behind the main house and offers a beautiful view of the countryside stretching towards Matakana village. The private terrace and garden areas are beautifully maintained and add to the relaxing atmosphere. Inside, the decor was a little too fussy for my personal taste but the suite was still well appointed and comfortable. There was only one bed, so I opted for a foldaway in the living room which arrived promptly and turned out to be surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom was fine with ‘standard-quality everything’ provided. For dinner on Saturday night we feasted on the spoils of our visit to the Farmers market and found everything we needed in the way of crockery, pans etc in the small kitchen.

Late on Saturday some new guests arrived and moved into the bed-sit suite. Now, this is a family site so let’s just say that almost immediately an extreme lack of sound-proofing in the dividing walls became apparent. This 'situation' occurs now and then when travelling and it’s no big deal if you’re alone or with your partner, but it certainly plonks an elephant in the room if you’re staying with your rather prudish mother! Mum opted for an abrupt early night; fled to the bedroom and shut the door. I donned industrial strength ear plugs and read a book instead of watching TV. Repeat late PM. Repeat early AM. It was excruciating then, but kind of funny now...

What can I say about breakfast? It was delivered as described, fresh to our door on a trolley and it was HUGE.

Throughout our stay, Ron and Patricia were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Check in and check out were hassle free and the entire experience (apart from our noisy fellow guests) was very pleasant indeed.

We’d be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Book the apartment if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The setting and house is lovely, the hosts are very welcoming and make the stay very comfortable. They offer good advice on the local area. There are good places to eat and drink in Matakana village, but you do need a car to get there. The only things that did not give this full marks are the following; no en-suite bathroom (you have to walk through the entrance hall to get there), shared terrace with other suite and no internet ( wi-fi is standard in NZ accommodation )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMelman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We only stayed for one night to break a long journey but we should have stayed for longer - very beaurifully appointed rooms and the breakfast was so good we had to take a photo to keep the memory going - beautiful location and lots to do in the area

Room Tip: No tip needed - all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Wow... if you want to be spoiled, go to Ambiente in Matakana! We were lucky it was our last accomodation otherwise we would not appreciate any other accomodation anymore, hahaha! The breakfast was very very very nice.... the best we ever had. Every morning fresh different kind of breads, muffins (both warm), several fresh kinds of fruits, yoghurt, cerial, pears or peaches on sirup... and more! Very cute clean room and outside enough space to sit down in the sun and enjoy the view. We loved it! Thanks Ron and Patricia for your kind hospitality and all the help with finding best places to eat and to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneKeijzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending 2 luxurious nights at Ambiente and were very impressed with the 5 star accommodation, the delicious gourmet breakfast, and the hospitality of Ron & Patricia.
The big beautiful deck with the fantastic view of the countryside was therapeutic in the quiet of the evenings. The one bedroom apartment type unit was very modern, well equipped, quiet, and luxuriously appointed.
Ron & Patricia prepare gourmet breakfasts and deliver them to your room at a prearranged time. This B&B is an ideal venue for a romantic getaway or weekend rejuvenation.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkenab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
6.5 mi away
Auckland's Waitakere Estate, Heritage Boutique Collection
6.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Motel
New Haven Motel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Avondale Motor Inn
Avondale Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Avondale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi Heritage Home Stay
Kiwi Heritage Home Stay
#16 of 54 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiente Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiente Boutique B&B

Property: Ambiente Boutique B&B
Address: 61 Golf Road, Matakana, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ambiente Boutique Hotel Matakana
Ambiente Boutique Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing