We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tranquillity in luxury accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“tranquillity in luxury accomodation”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived slightly ahead of the 2pm earliest checkin time and were met by Susan who was more than happy to see us ahead of schedule. To make things even better (for us) we were told that we were the only booking that day so had the lodge to ourselves. Susan uncovered the outside pool so we could spend the afternoon relaxing in the water. At 6pm Susan re-appeared with wine and cheese and buiscuits for a chat, latter returning with our evening meal. In the morning she prepared us pancakes as we ate our breakfast. We really appreciated that our host not only provided excellent accommodation but also was also happy to share her time with us. This why we prefer b & b to hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
As you said yourself, it's a shame you could not stay longer. I'm glad you felt rested and ready for your motorcycle tour around New Zealand. The weather has been on your side - nice during the day with the odd rain at night, perfect for motor cycles.

Enjoy the remainder of your trip. I'm sure the kiwis you meet along the way will make you as welcome as what we did and you'll have many great memories to take home with you.

Stay safe. I hope you got the helmet speakers working and can communicate during the ride.

Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in Nov 2013 on a lovely hot day. The villa is on the top of one of the highest hills and over looks some beautiful countryside. The accommodation is just the best, clean, extremely comfortable, a kitchen, laundry facilities, hot tub and pool. We wished we had stayed a lot longer.

We explored the local villages and Matakana is small but the Saturday Market was great fun, lots of food, wine and small local shops lovely distraction.

Susan and Gareth were some welcoming, and the breakfast was wonderful. I could not recommend this enough.

For anyone think that the Bay of Islands is a must see then you need to add on an extra stop to look at Matakana.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. The villa is just for guests, each has its own bathroom plus. The quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
May thanks for your review and thank you for including the sentence about making a stop at Matakana on your way to the Bay of Islands.
I'm sure you will agree that one night is simply is not enough as there is so much to see and do in this region. I suggest 2 or more nights to take it all in or use the time to relax and recharge before the next stage of your adventure.
Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Matakana Country Lodge. Susan and Garth were very helpful with suggestions for travelling around the area. Breakfast was served outside looking over the hills and toward the ocean with birds playing around the garden. Very peaceful nights sleep. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: We had a tour of all three rooms. We stayed in the Chablis room. You will not be disappointed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The birds at this time of year are plentiful thanks to the flax flowers. Tui's in particular love the flax nectar and keep the guests amused during breakfast. The wood pigeons are extremely social birds and can be found around the pool area whilst people are swimming.

The birdlife is one of the reasons we were attracted to the area. We have recently sighted 2 Kaka which are nesting in the area. A great place for bird watching.

We hope to see you back at the Lodge sometime in the future. Who knows what you might see the next time.

cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Beautiful location with stunning outlook over the Matakana countryside. This is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. Susan & Garth are the perfect hosts and really take the time to make sure you're comfortable. We just loved 'Happy Hour' - it was a lovely start to our evening out in Matakana at one of the restaurants.
Magnificent breakfast the following morning!
The room was extremely comfortable and we had the best night's sleep.
Couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely be back to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: The Chardonnay room had direct access to the patio & pool area which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We too enjoy 'Happy Hour' and getting to know our guests on a more personal level. As you say, it's a nice way to start your evening at one of our many great restaurants in the area. It also helps you to relax around people that beforehand were strangers.

We'd be only too happy to have you return - maybe next time you could try the Chablis or Champagne Room. The views from each room differ and the Champagne Room has a large bath, great for that end of the day soak.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge sometime in the future.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A gorgeous hilltop setting with broad vistas. We stayed in the Chardonnay suite with direct access to the patio area and with great views. Nice little touches; dressing gowns. Hot tub/spa and swimming pool. Susan and Gareth are great hosts, Susan solving a restaurant problem for us, even driving us there. Sadly we arrived late and only stayed one night (our loss). A place not to be missed.

Room Tip: Reservations are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Hope you took in a little of the night sky we talked about before you hit the hay after a long day.
We wish you safe travels for the remainder of your journey through New Zealand and hope to see you back here sometime in the future.
Enjoy being grandparents!
Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

New Zealand is endowed with some of the most spectacular natural beauty, yet one is often forced to stay indoors as the weather gods hold you ransom to their vagaries! A mere 40 to 45 minutes North from the hustle and bustle of Auckland, lies an Oasis of beauty and calm, the Matakana Country Lodge offers unparalleled hospitality. A home away from home with gracious hosts Susan and Garth to spoil you, share and swap travel tales and much more. We stayed for a couple of nights and were treated to the company of our hosts and fellow lodgers each evening with a shared drink and nibbles. The media room, which was there to enjoy did not get a visit as we were too busy doing other stuff. If there is one drawback, it would be the need to step out for a meal in the evenings...oh how I wished we could have lingered over our wine and ordered a home delivered meal one night. But that aside, it is a perfect place to relax and rejuvenate :)

Room Tip: The rooms are close together and we found ourselves in the "sandwich" room, perhaps I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashmiMadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We too enjoyed your company and getting to know you over the few days you were with us. Garth and I both enjoy the social aspect of the Lodge and love sharing stories and bantering good naturedly with our guests, as you experienced.

Thanks also for sending me the photos of Tawharanui. The photographer and camera produced some amazing photos which I will use for marketing the area sometime in the near future.

Enjoy your piece of Paradise, especially your outdoor cooking area.

cheers!
Susan & Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Toward the end of our New Zealand Vacation, we spent three nights with Susan and Garth at their Matakana Country Lodge - and barely scratched the surface of the area. How can someone spend just one? In two and a half days we packed in four wineries (an enjoyable tasting at Brick Bay, a long and wonderful chat with Farida at Runner Duck, a fascinating talk with David at Heron's Flight and a fabulous time with Toby at his Gillman Winery), a couple of decent hikes, some very nice breakfasts, the Farmer's Market, two great dinners (Plume and Matakana Country Market), the Puhoi Pub ... and North Harbour Rugby. Suggestion: If someone suggests the Puhoi Pub and a Cheese Shop nearby, try the cheese shop first. We missed the cheese shop..... But we did manage to take two cases of New Zealand's Finest home with us.

You simply cannot take in all this area has to offer in one, two or even three days.

Room Tip: The Chablis was fabulous. The other two have different attributes, so check out the photos on line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDexterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
You are so right about staying more than one night as there is so much to do in Matakana region. It was so nice to see a couple that made the effort to see and do as much as possible , including a rugby game at North Harbour!
Going forward will we adjust our guest itineraries as suggested - Puhoi Cheese followed by Puhoi Pub.
Thanks again for the tee shirts! Who knows we might surprise you one day and show up in San Diego!
Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
2.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.1 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Property: Matakana Country Lodge
Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing