We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Fab, Perfect - its all true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Raglan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, Fab, Perfect - its all true”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I travel frequently on business. We decided to have a mini break during the week and travelled to Matakana. We decided to make a reservation once we arrived and popped into Warkworth Info Centre on our way. Matakana Country Estate were recommended highly, especially Susan as being a fabulous, perfect host. We decided late in the afternoon to telephone and Susan answered. She is just simply lovely, nothing was too much trouble, in fact Susan and Garth were not at the Lodge, but arranged for a local neighbour to open up the Lodge for us...when they arrived it was as if we had known them for years, such welcoming special people. Over wine, cheeses, nibbles, I can honestly say I am proud to be a kiwi .... these hosts will simply make your special stay awesome, fab and perfect! the rooms are amazing ..... great bathrooms ... we had the champayne room....simply beautiful with everything you could want...they have thought of everything. Didnt have time for a swim or spa...but will definitely next time. Next time I will book well in advance as I have a funny feeling this best kept secret will be full if I try my luck again.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonlee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We needed a break and this was the most perfect place to spend it, awesome views, great hosts, our room was fantastic, it is a place I would highly recommend. Breakfast was to die for. It is a place that I look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquiwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were made very welcome by Susan and Garth from the very start, including evening drinks with them. The Lodge has lovely expansive views. Our room and bathroom were clean,spacious and peacefully quiet. Splendid cooked breakfasts! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I needed a quiet place to relax for two nights and this was perfect. Susan and Garth are excellent hosts and their Lodge is a credit to them. I loved the spa pool ..so relaxing. We watched a movie in the TV room that boasted a huge 50 inch TV. A would love to stay again with some friends in the future. In fact we are already planning it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had a fantastic stay here. I would highly recommend Matakana Country Lodge to anyone wanting a complete unwinding experience. The hosts are fantastically welcoming, and the breakfast was to die for. Thanks so much for making it a weekend to remember!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereseEliasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

It's quite a drive up their hill but it worth every inch with the views. A beautiful home with a pool and terrace breakfast which is fabulous. Susan and Garth definitely go the extra mile to make you feel at home and helping plan activities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Traveled to New Zealand for a family wedding. All plans were made for us so really didn't research anything. Was pleasantly surprised when we checked into Matakana Country Lodge.......absolutely beautiful and the owners were very gracious and couldn't do enough for us.
There are 4 suites and we occupied all 4.
Great lodge, would love to go back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnatodd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
2.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
189 reviews
3.1 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Property: Matakana Country Lodge
Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing