We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantasic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I needed a quiet place to relax for two nights and this was perfect. Susan and Garth are excellent hosts and their Lodge is a credit to them. I loved the spa pool ..so relaxing. We watched a movie in the TV room that boasted a huge 50 inch TV. A would love to stay again with some friends in the future. In fact we are already planning it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptraveller123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had a fantastic stay here. I would highly recommend Matakana Country Lodge to anyone wanting a complete unwinding experience. The hosts are fantastically welcoming, and the breakfast was to die for. Thanks so much for making it a weekend to remember!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThereseEliasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

It's quite a drive up their hill but it worth every inch with the views. A beautiful home with a pool and terrace breakfast which is fabulous. Susan and Garth definitely go the extra mile to make you feel at home and helping plan activities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillybriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Traveled to New Zealand for a family wedding. All plans were made for us so really didn't research anything. Was pleasantly surprised when we checked into Matakana Country Lodge.......absolutely beautiful and the owners were very gracious and couldn't do enough for us.
There are 4 suites and we occupied all 4.
Great lodge, would love to go back

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnatodd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Couldn't fault this Lodge. The accommodation, surroundings, food, and hospitality all first class. Following our 2 night stay, we both felt relaxed and reluctant to leave. Hosts couldn't be more helpful and we were made to feel so at home. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We received a 2 night stay here as a farewell present. The people responsible could not have chosen better. Susan and Garth are wonderful hosts. You immediately feel as though you have known them for years they are so natural and welcoming. The location of the lodge, high on a hill looking East to Kawau Island, is splendid. Keep driving up the hill for 2.4km once you have turned off the main road. You will be rewarded by peace, tranquility, luxury and genuine hospitality. Fantastic breakfasts and late afternoon drinks and nibbles, both on the terrace, throw in a swim or spa. What more could you want? And please, don't just stay for one night!
The Lodge is an ideal base from which to explore the Warkworth, Matakana, Leigh areas and Kawau Island.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Susan and Garth made us most welcome; the bedroom was ideal and the food was as good as it gets. Our hosts were great company and genuinely welcoming. I would recommend Matakana Country Lodge without reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matakana hotels
4.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
76 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
46 reviews
3.1 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
16 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
4 mi away
No photo provided
EbbTide Homestay
#8 of 9 in Matakana
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $165 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing