We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much”

Matakana Market Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jamaica
Level Contributor
298 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Too much”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A wonderful place beside a bubbling stream. Pleasant environment, Good menu, well prepared. Braised lamp, clam chowder, thai soup - and we staggered out. The quantities, at least for us, were huge as a consequence we left have of it behind. We were offered containers so we could take the left overs. Bill was NZ$72. Wait staff were great ! Worth repeat visits. Reservations recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    162
    51
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Laid back and lovely”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited during the week. Sadly markets were not on but the tasteful shops more than compensated. This restaurant is located overlooking a very pretty stream and has all the usual wildlife to keep things interesting. Service is laid back although some might describe it as slow. We were not in any hurry so suited us fine. Food is just divine, someone in that kitchen knows what he or she is doing. Little bit pricey given that it was lunch and we didn't have any wines, but only good memories of our last day in New Zealand....We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaffTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in a hurry.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Due to a contractor arriving late, I ended up only having fifteen minutes for lunch. This was not a problem for MMK, who had my Ploughmans wrap to my table in under ten, together with my latte (which they had the perfect "drinking fast temperature!"). I could only eat half my wrap, and enjoyed the other half even more, later in the day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 213belindaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Steak and friendly Service too!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

New Zealand meats are a cut above most places in the world - but anywhere that can perfectly produce a request for a medium-medium-rare steak, has to be commended. I also love the presentation of my salad which was ensconced in its case and presented so beautifully that I almost did not want to spoil it by eating it :).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RashmiMadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We decided to take my Mum to Matakana For old times sake. Walked into Market Kitchen, lovely setting and ordered. We waited 50 mins for our breakfast despite the restaurant being very quiet. I ordered fried eggs. When eventually arrived they were incredibly overcooked and dry with toast that I had to discard as being so hard to cut. Mums dish which was avocado on toast, again very disappointing as was the scrambled eggs and full breakfast. Cold coffee didn't help. I went to pay and was asked if we enjoyed our meals. Explained that no we hadn't but it was obvious they weren't interested. Won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judeo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matakana Market Kitchen also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Matakana Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing