We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good. Definitely worth a visit”

Matakana Market Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good. Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you don't set your expectations too high, Market Kitchen is a fine place. It would easily be worth a 3.5 from me but Tripadvisor forces a 3 or a 4. The food is good, the portions generous and the wait staff try their best. But it is an out of town restaurant so don't expect The French Café.

I had a special: kingfish with prawn and citrus risotto. It's great to see kingfish on the menu–I generally avoid snapper as I catch plenty and there is nothing like your own-caught fish–and it was nice. It was a little underdone (better, in my view, than the other way) and eating the raw middle proved this was a nice, fresh, piece of fish. The risotto was a little sloppy. My dining companion's snapper was enjoyed and the local wine can be beautiful (Brick Bay pinot gris is not cheap but worth every cent). The place was very busy, an encouraging sign, and the atmosphere is good, If you are looking to eat out in Matakana region, you should definitely consider Market Kitchen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DitchDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    164
    51
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

a group of 4 of us from Australia were in Matakana in April, 2013. Having read the many rave reviews of MMK we were very pleased to be able to get a table at the last minute. The hotel is beautifully positioned on the banks of a river and we sat and watched the sun set. Unfortunately that is where the pleasurable experience ended as the food was definitely of inferior quality.. Two of us ordered the fish which ended up overcooked, dry and tasteless. One ordered the pasta with meatballs which, whilst the meatballs were tasty had almost no tomato sauce and left the pasta very dry and unpalatable. The last member of our party ordered the smoked salmon pasta with creme fraiche. The dish lacked taste and was very disappointing. Perhaps this was an off night but 4 out of 4 meals is a very poor average.

Susan and Julian, Sydney

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value, stylish cafe, busy but not noisy”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good menu choice, nice buzz, friendly wait staff and efficient service. Outside tables pretty water view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, good food and good service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We always come here when we visit the little market. It's really neat and has a good atmosphere and great decor. The Caesar salad is the best I've had and has optional Anchovies which I love. It's very reliable and does a good range of food. There's a short cut along the river back to the large car park thats always fun to explore

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whittakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average service, good food.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The food overall was good to great. But the service while not terrible left a lot to be desired. We felt forgotten about. It took a long long time for our plates to be cleared at each course. Also the waiter seemed to go to every table except ours at every round he made. We couldn't get eye contact to wave him over. Which resulted in us not ordering more drinks as once offered (when the mains were delivered) it was too late for us. And we didn't stay to see if there was a desert menu as it wasn't offered when our mains were cleared and by then we were over it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matakana Market Kitchen also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Matakana Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing