We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average service, good food.”

Matakana Market Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average service, good food.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The food overall was good to great. But the service while not terrible left a lot to be desired. We felt forgotten about. It took a long long time for our plates to be cleared at each course. Also the waiter seemed to go to every table except ours at every round he made. We couldn't get eye contact to wave him over. Which resulted in us not ordering more drinks as once offered (when the mains were delivered) it was too late for us. And we didn't stay to see if there was a desert menu as it wasn't offered when our mains were cleared and by then we were over it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    164
    51
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a fantastc time!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a perfect evening with the family, great food, service and atmosphere cant recommend it enough, George our young waiter was gorgeous. It is a must go when in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 512j0hns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived here by chance on a fairly drizzly Good Friday with no booking but got found a wonderful seat outside over looking the river which is so pretty. The service was really good although would have liked to find a kiwi amongst the staff and the food was awesome, had a lovely time and if we had more time in Matakana would have certainly gone back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Special occasion: Birthday - 5* as usual”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is my wife's birthday today and we wanted somewhere that would deliver a great meal in good surroundings away fro the hustle and bustle of the city. We have been to the Matakana Market Kitchen before and we thought this would a great place to go for this occasion. We were hoping for the usual great food, friendly and efficient staff and a nice ambience. We weren't disappointed! For desert we ordered the lemon citrus tart with sorbet to share. Wooohoo, this was so good we just had to order another (to share) as this was the best lemon tart I have ever tasted and lemon tart is my wife's favourite desert. Real zing and the sorbet set it off nicely. We will be back. Mmmm...Thanks team.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't Go Past It!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we visit Matakana, one of the things we look forward to the most is eating at Matakana Market Kitchen. We make sure we can have lunch or dinner here - sometimes both! The food is delicious and the staff are always friendly. If you are there for brunch/lunch, try my favourite - the Welsh Rarebit with Puhoi cheddar, Leigh beer & piccalilli, oven-baked & served with bacon, apple & Worcester sauce dressing. It's a simple classic but they do it so well. The food presentation is great and the atmosphere and position of this cafe is superb. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matakana Market Kitchen also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Matakana Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing