We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matakana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matakana Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matakana
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

I wish I had read other reviews on here before we booked. We stayed for 2 nights over Easter and I have to say its one of the worst motels i've stayed at for the price we paid ($120/n). We were put in a block of 4 rooms, they were very basic for the price and had minimal facilities (like camping cabins). They overlooked the back of the old pub and its rear carpark where kids seemed to like to hang out so there was no chance to relax even though there's a deck outside. The walls of the room are paper thin so you can hear everything going on next door. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. The only good thing was that it was right in the centre of matakana and an easy walk to town. Give this motel a miss.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRocksKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Is pretty much the only game in town in Matakana, the marketing material makes it look fabulous, but is a basic motel. Could do with curtains/blinds over the door as the room gets very light as soon as the sun comes up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

A last minute choice, this was an odd place located down the far end of a long driveway, and nestled between normal street houses. A minimalist experience, about the only thing this place has got going for it, is that its a short walk to the local restaurants, bars, pub and cinemas. Our $120 room was really a portable cabin, oozing 1960's prefab charm. The double glass doors at the back of the room would have been a pleasant offset if not for the fact the neighbors had a top view into our room over the fence.

The bathroom was adequate, the TV small and the bed cheap and uncomfortable. It may be a co-incidence, but the night after we slept at this place, I appeared to have small bites all over my feet. Hmm.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matakana hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay here as a break from sightseeing the North and decided that we would spend the next day looking around this area. We had not prebooked and when we arrived there was no one there to great us but a note on the managers door giving us a number to telephone. Upon getting hold of the person in charge we were told that we could have our choice of 4 rooms and that he would catch up with us later. All the rooms that were available were the same in appearance, so we chose what we felt would be the sunniest. There is a bedroom/lounge and a bathroom with toilet, hand basin and shower. Tea and coffee was available but no milk until the owner came back. There was a tiny TV on a small stand, a small inadequate fan heater, a basin to wash cups in under the bench which had no draws and was open for all to see, an uncomfortable couch and an average bed that was not totally comfortable. The bathroom was not entirely clean and you were only given 1 small bar of soap. (No extra luxuries here). We were charged $100 for the room 1 nights stay and I would value the the rate as being only worth $60 tops compared with what you can get from other hotels and motels around New Zealand. As it was winter we were extremely cold and as there was no one to greet us we had to leave our bags in an unlocked room whilst we went to have dinner or load them all back into the car. This would be a place of last resort to stay at and next time I would drive back to Warkworth and stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AucklandTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
4.4 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.7 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
15.8 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Motel

Property: Matakana Motel
Address: 975 Matakana Road, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Matakana House Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matakana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is made up of 16 modern, purpose built units, from studio units with tea and coffee making facilities through to 2 bedroom units complete with kitchen. Or, spoil yourself in the spa unit which has its own spa bath.• 2 bedroom units have full cooking facilities, separate lounge and dining area.• Studio units have bathroom, fridge, tea/coffee and breakfast making facilities. Outdoor heated pool, children's playground & a gym for those energetic guests. Location is only minutes from Omaha Beach & golf course. Goat Island Marine Reserve, local wineries, Morris & James pottery. Opposite Matakana Farmers Market cinemas and shops. Handy to Matakana Country Park and equestrian centre, Kawau Island via ferry, Sandspit and more. Matakana is situated 8kms east of State Highway 1 from Warkworth on Matakana Road, approximately 1 hour drive from Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Matakana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing