We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matakana Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matakana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matakana Castle
Ranked #1 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“We will be back”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful one night stay in the 'tower room' At Matakana Castle in mid January. Have been raving to family and friends that they must visit. So relaxing, comfortable and the breakfast was the best! Hosts Natalie and John were so friendly and helpful, even driving us to restaurant in the town for dinner when local taxi firm didn't answer the phone! Just a great location and we will definitely be back again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janeox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend told me to pack a bag and dress nice and whisked me away from the office at 3:30pm on a Friday afternoon. Not 2 hours later we arrived at Matakana Castle. Immediately we felt at home. Complimentary h'or dourves and a glass of wine, looking out at the green slopes beyond the front lawn and the turquoise sea in the distance, dotted with the small white triangles of yacht sails, we really felt like we had discovered somewhere special. Hosts Natalie and John were warm and relaxed, taking the time to chat and make us feel comfortable. We were presently joined by another couple, Russel and Mel, with whom we shared a bottle of wine and tales of travel. These two turned out to be such characters that we got lost in conversation and were late for our dinner reservation in the village! After returning from dinner in Matakana we sat up late listening to Oasis and Van Morrison and drank a lot more wine by candle light. The next morning I penned a letter to a friend in Australia on the Matakana Castle stationary and we then joined Russel and Mel for breakfast.
The experience was not one I'll soon forget - and for all the right reasons. The Castle is a homely, relaxed and well appointed establishment, rural but close to Auckland, modern yet rustic, casual yet opulent, and you never know who you might meet there. We will be returning -and thoroughly recommend Matakana Castle to anyone looking for a convenient and relaxed getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrogthevirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Matakana Castle is run by a lovely couple and it is set in a wonderful location.

We had a wonderful afternoon relaxing in the sun by the pond with a bottle of champagne.

The breakfast was sensational.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goldenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Matakana Castle and thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing pampering break. Hosts Natalie and John super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Great room with fantastic view out over the water. Complimentary h'or dourves and a glass of wine were waiting for us in the guest lounge after an afternoon siesta. And the fabulous breakfast the following morning was just superb.

Matakana is a stunning area with so much to do, see & taste. We spent a day at Tawharanui on the beach, got to be the best beach in NZ! Lunch at Ransom Wines which is just before Warkworth if travelling North. Dinner at Matakana Market Kitchen. And the following day a walk around Brick Bay Sculpture Trail. Highly recommend all of these places.

Thanks again Natalie and John for a fabulous weekend!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our children surprised us with a weekend away for just the two of us. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. Our hosts Natalie and John struck the right balance between making us feel very at home and giving us our own space. The standard of the accommodation was excellent with little extra touches that made it feel very special. Breakfast was delicious and looked amazing. All in all a lovely get away from it all weekend with great places to visit locally. We would thoroughly recommend Matakana Castle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed the night for our 5 year wedding anniversary. Lovely owners. Beautiful setting, with amazing views stretching across Mahurangi Harbour. Made a day of it in Matakana by going to several superb vineyards and enjoying a delicious platter at Mahurangi river vineyard. Had a relaxing late afternoon at The Castle in the guest lounge enjoying the complimentary h'or dourves and glass of wine each and decided it was a place to come back to in winter too - with its enticing fire place. Headed to The Matakana Kitchen for dinner which the owners had recommended. A great choice. We will most definitely be back. Hospitality like that is one in a million!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at Matakana Castle booking 2 rooms for us and family from overseas. From moment you drive down the driveway, we got that wow factor. Greeted by hosts Natalie and John, who were very helpful. The rooms were very well presented with a nice touch with the chocolate and biscuits, great bed linen and good size. The view of every window was stunning, looking out to sea. The wine and hors d'oeuvres went down very well before dinner in Matakana.

Would definitely recommend if you are after that luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
5.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
71 reviews
3.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
85 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
181 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Castle

Property: Matakana Castle
Address: 378 Whitmore Road, Matakana 0986, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matakana Castle is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set in 3.5 acres of rural splendor with magnificent sea views over Kawau Bay from every room. Three luxurious rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The Tower Suite is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion whether it be your honeymoon night or you just feel like spoiling yourself. Enjoy our 2 course gourmet breakfast which is included in the price. Enjoy a glass of wine in front of the roaring log fire whilst enjoying the breathtaking views. Complimentary wine and hors oeuvres are included in the price as well as sweet treats in each room and fresh flowers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing