We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Escape”
Review of Matakana Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matakana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matakana Castle
Ranked #1 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Matakana Castle and thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing pampering break. Hosts Natalie and John super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Great room with fantastic view out over the water. Complimentary h'or dourves and a glass of wine were waiting for us in the guest lounge after an afternoon siesta. And the fabulous breakfast the following morning was just superb.

Matakana is a stunning area with so much to do, see & taste. We spent a day at Tawharanui on the beach, got to be the best beach in NZ! Lunch at Ransom Wines which is just before Warkworth if travelling North. Dinner at Matakana Market Kitchen. And the following day a walk around Brick Bay Sculpture Trail. Highly recommend all of these places.

Thanks again Natalie and John for a fabulous weekend!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 103 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our children surprised us with a weekend away for just the two of us. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. Our hosts Natalie and John struck the right balance between making us feel very at home and giving us our own space. The standard of the accommodation was excellent with little extra touches that made it feel very special. Breakfast was delicious and looked amazing. All in all a lovely get away from it all weekend with great places to visit locally. We would thoroughly recommend Matakana Castle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed the night for our 5 year wedding anniversary. Lovely owners. Beautiful setting, with amazing views stretching across Mahurangi Harbour. Made a day of it in Matakana by going to several superb vineyards and enjoying a delicious platter at Mahurangi river vineyard. Had a relaxing late afternoon at The Castle in the guest lounge enjoying the complimentary h'or dourves and glass of wine each and decided it was a place to come back to in winter too - with its enticing fire place. Headed to The Matakana Kitchen for dinner which the owners had recommended. A great choice. We will most definitely be back. Hospitality like that is one in a million!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at Matakana Castle booking 2 rooms for us and family from overseas. From moment you drive down the driveway, we got that wow factor. Greeted by hosts Natalie and John, who were very helpful. The rooms were very well presented with a nice touch with the chocolate and biscuits, great bed linen and good size. The view of every window was stunning, looking out to sea. The wine and hors d'oeuvres went down very well before dinner in Matakana.

Would definitely recommend if you are after that luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just back from a great escape at The Castle.
We stayed the weekend to get out of the city and relax in the beautiful Matakana country side.
We chose The Castle as the website looked good and the reviews were all positive, we're really glad we did.

From the moment we arrived after battling the Auckland traffic on on Friday, to our sad farewell on Sunday we had a ball...! We had a beautiful room with views out to sea. It was luxury and style and comfort all rolled into one. We loved the guest lounge with the awesome open fire and the huge picture window. Relaxing in that room looking out at the living art of the landscape was just bliss.

The hosts Natalie and John were really welcoming and knowledegable about the area and things to do. We went to the Saturday market, which was great and drove out to Leigh and Omaha for a walk. With all the great wineries in the area you really are spoiled for choice. We had a tasting at OBV and a platter of delicious food at lunchtime then back to the Castle to relax and enjoy the views.

Breakfast was delicious with local produce and awesome organic blueberries from OOB just down the road.

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and relax and reconnect then this IS the place for you. Highly recommended we'll be back, maybe in summer to enjoy the beaches nearby.....Can't wait...!

Room Tip: Tower room was awesome....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeelinIrieAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank xking3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
133 reviews
4.9 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
90 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#5 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Castle

Address: 378 Whitmore Road, Matakana, Auckland 0986, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $153 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matakana Castle is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set in 3.5 acres of rural splendor with magnificent sea views over Kawau Bay from every room. Three luxurious rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The Tower Suite is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion whether it be your honeymoon night or you just feel like spoiling yourself. Enjoy our 2 course gourmet breakfast which is included in the price. Enjoy a glass of wine in front of the roaring log fire whilst enjoying the breathtaking views. Complimentary wine and hors oeuvres are included in the price as well as sweet treats in each room and fresh flowers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing