We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of paradise!”
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Slice of paradise!”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Wow, what a simply fabulous place to escape the hustle and bustle of the big smoke!!

An easy one hour drive from Auckland and you're there..... winding down the driveway into the resort I felt a lovely sense of calm wash over me. Check-in was painless, the lady was super friendly and very accommodating when it came to answering my long list of "where to go for dinner.... where to go for a run..... what time was high tide so my signif other could go fishing off the jetty" etc.

The villas are lovely, and I thought the description on the website that they're based on the "iconic Kiwi bach" was bang on..... except they're a MUCH nicer than any bach I've ever stayed in! Everything is provided and the villa was spotlessly clean.

The two bathrooms were really smart, I loved the large walk in shower.

The only bummer was the weather..... cold, intermittent rain and wind, however it didn't matter because the villas have a built in gas fire which turns on at a flick of a switch, plus a couple of wall heaters - I lay on one of the leather couches with a book for most the first day, glancing up every now and then at the magnificent vista spread out through the huge floor to ceiling windows. The sun did come out on day two so we were able to explore the extensive grounds and down to the boat ramp - signif other started making noises about wishing he'd brought the boat..... yeah right, fishing in winter?! I don't think so!!!!

I checked out the conference facilities for future reference, and have already recommended the property to several friends as the perfect venue to take a work group.... apparently the catering is to die for, you walk out several kilos heavier!

We’ll definitely be going back, hopefully before winter is over so I can make the most of lying in front of the fire, and then again in summer with a group of friends - I can only imagine how fabulous it would be sitting on the deck in the sun with a glass of wine in hand, vineyard stretched out in front, signif other cooking dinner on the BBQ (hopefully freshly caught snapper after a day out on the boat!), to be served with cheese and other fresh produce purchased from the Farmers Market down in the village..... bliss!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING was provided and the views are out of this world!
  • Disliked — Having to depart and head back to the city :o(
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveToTravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    29
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
63
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed one night at the end of summer and wish we stayed more. It was a hot day so we had a swim in the pool and then sat in the late afternoon sun on the deck. From our room we could see an absolutely gorgeous sunset which we enjoyed every minute of. The unit was spacious and private and we felt like the only people there. We used the barbeque instead of going out for dinner and found the kitchen had everything we wanted, including huge wine glasses. Everything was spotlessly clean and new.
We were given a unit designed for disabled, (though we didn't need it) which meant an open shower with no walls. We went out for breakfast (Leigh Sawmill) and had plenty of time to get back before checking at 11.00.
Overall we had such a peaceful relaxing time, we felt it went too fast and would like to have stayed another night. Next time...

  • Liked — Peaceful surroundings
  • Disliked — Having to go back to work.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ph0neman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I agree with the previous review....not 5 star but charging 5 star prices. We have two young children and this place was totally unsuitable for them. The garage/come sleep out across a deck was hopeless for the children and they wanted to be inside with us. We ended up converting the two couches in the living area into beds. The TV in the lounge dictated the channel in the bedroom so you couldn't watch two different chanels (disney is not my choice). The apartments are new and clean but done on the cheap and probably won't stay looking new for long. Also very noisey as they are all open with no insulation. Nice location and only 5 mins into Matakana which is lovely. The Quest is OK for a couple but I wouldn't recommend it for families and it's definately on the expensive side. You can hire a vey nice bach at Omaha for the same price.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Was over priced, didn't accomodate children and the advertising is misleading
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loodoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snells Beach, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

: Nice setting, pity about the so-called sleep out. Very nice setting, with wooden bach type villas, described as 5 star. With 5 star prices. But not 5 star! Clean and well serviced but the accommodation for the 3 bedroom units is not as advertised on the website and other publicity material. The layout is odd with the main TV in the second bedroom (which has a foldaway door) not the sitting area. The real problem is the so-called 3rd bedroom. Described as a 'sleep -out' in reality it is a garage with 2 beds and a rug on a dirty concrete floor with no ventilation. Completely unsatisfactory and unfit for purpose. To make it worse a polite complaint was completely rejected.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sleep out and inconvenient layour
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeSHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
2.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
110 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
14 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Property: Riverside Matakana
Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing