We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Matakana where we based ourselves at Riverside Matakana. We loved it! The rooms were immaculate, very well appointed, quiet and private. Great views down through the vineyards to the river and countryside beyond. Located only minutes from the Matakana Village and surrounding region - this was the ideal spot to explore what the area has to offer. We highly recommend this location, and will be returning with friends as soon as time allows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

After coming to NZ for a wedding in Hamilton, we stayed in Matakana for the final leg of the trip.

It was amazing and everything we had hoped for. The management team were all great, very helpfull and all very relaxed.

The stay was perfect and the village of matakana was great.

We had around 4 different beaches all within a 15 min drive and all amazing.

Worth going to Nosh food store, they have some very good steaks for te bbq.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webbt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just had a weekend at Riverside Matakana and found it a great place to stay. The baches are well appointed and not too far from local attractions. The only thing I would say is that the next time we stay I would ask not to be put in 13 to 17 they are on the flat and don't have such a good view. However, we would return it is a wonderful peaceful setting and we really enjoyed the time we spent there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideMatakana, Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Many thanks for a great review and we do take your point about the bottom cluster. Fantastic to hear that your stay was not longer and that you wish you had more time.

To be sure next time, feel free to ask to be put in a cluster of your choice as all baches are located on different parts of the property (30 acres). Subject to availability at the time of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a family wedding at Matakana and there was a large group of us staying at Riverside for the weekend (2 nights). The views down to the vineyard and the river was awesome and the location was great - only a 5min drive into Matakana Village to go to the markets, restaurants etc. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable for a larger group - have two bathrooms was great. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the facilities on offer, such as the pool, kayak on the river, tennis courts etc. but would love to go back there again!
The only thing that disappointed us about our stay was the fact that our large group (there were about 20 of us) was spilt up. The layout of the resort means there are 4 'baches' in a group. When we book very early on we were assured we would all be situated in group of 4 so all the wedding party could stay together. However when we arrived one family was put in a bach up the top, far away from us. When we inquired about getting this changed we were told it wasn't possible. However the people in the 4th bach who were not part of our group had wanted to be moved also as they too had been separated from their group. Unfortunately they did not change this during our stay.
However we still thoroughly enjoyed our time at Riverside and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joc186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideMatakana, Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback and we fully understand the disappointment of not being able to be in the same cluster. That particular weekend we had many special requests and try to fulfill as best we can. We had instructions to follow and try to please everybody, however it would have meant additional cleans that we were not able to make happen at that late stage in the week.

If you wish to contact us directly for your next booking we will definitely take care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a wonderful "unexpected and surprise" weekend, with our son and daughter at
" Riverside Matakana " for a belated Mother's Day gift.......their gift to me. How spoilt I am !
The property was delightful with a beautiful view from our self contained unit ( Number 3 ). The decore was great and the unit had all the facilities you could wish for, including two double bedrooms, each with their own ensuite, two lounge rooms and a fully equiped kitchen.
( It also had a converted garage with sleeping facilites for family if required.)
Could highly recommend.
Pam.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on value as it was a "surpise" gift, therefore do not know the cost. Lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lespam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our wedding anniversary. I wish we'd stayed longer! The baches are extremely comfortable with quality fittings. We especially loved the gas fires. The outlook is serene and beautiful with the vines, olive trees and river. Michael was very helpful and friendly and overall we couldn't fault our stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and we are so happy we found the town of Matakana. Check in was easy and the gentleman at the front desk was not only nice but very helpful with restaurant suggestions. This property is beautiful with views of green rolling hills, olive groves and vineyards. Each room is a is a super Eco-friendly space. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room, kitchenette, 8 people could sleep comfortably plus we had a washer and dryer. Yes, laundry facilities were exciting in the middle of our trip. The hotel is close to restaurants, the bay for boating, wineries and is only 45 minutes north of Auckland or so.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
2.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
143 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
74 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Matakana
Price Range: $187 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing