We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Matakana
Nearby Hotels
Sugarloaf Lodge(Matakana)
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge(Matakana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
163
31
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
31
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergas firegrape vinestennis courtsconference facilitiesconference venueliving areaconference roommain bedroomboat rampswimming poolroom layoutwashing machine and dryerfully equipped kitchencomfortable bedsshort driveolder children
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 201 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

“It was amazing! Big and spacious, quiet and tucked away yet so close to Auckland. We drove up in the evening as I had been in Hamilton earlier in the day and arrived to find a stunning, large and clean house style apartment! Would be a perfect family getaway. We enjoyed a good drink and eat and catch up (Lisa and I) and really loved the peacefulness of it all. In the morning we could hear the birds chirping away and I really enjoyed the break away from the busyness of life here.

Jan showed us around in the morning and it was good to see the conference room, pool and tennis court too which is good for versatility of guests. They have put a lot of time and effort into making Matakana an ideal stopover for anyone heading up further north.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Riverside Matakana is made up of around 20 two bedroom small houses, built like an upmarket bach. They have full cooking facilities and two ensuite bathrooms. They are designed so the second bedroom can be opened up to increase the size of the living area. Furnished beautifully and very peaceful surroundings. They have tennis court and boat ramp onsite so would be nice to bring the family and the boat.
The only downside to Riverside Matakana is that there is no restaurant or bar onsite so you have to drive to find sustenance. However, local taxis were great and charged a flat rate of $20 into Matakana Village, which considering we could fit 7 in their people mover was excellent value.

Room Tip: If its windy, the ones down the bottom are most sheltered, otherwise the ones higher up the hill have great views
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennipea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Myself and my husband needed a weekend away, so we chose the most expensive and most 'luxurious' place in Matakana for the weekend and took advantage of the special. $445.00 for two nights at Riverside Matakana.

Now, the website and reviews don't tell you this but these little 'lodges' are actually just little flats all grouped up together in a great big vinyard, which is great if you're a social person on a social weekend. But for us, we wanted somewhere quiet and secluded by a river. We were put in one of the lodges which was no where near a river, in fact, I couldn't even SEE a river and right next door to us (and I mean RIGHT next door) was a family of young kids. All we could see/hear all weekend was the young kids running back and forth over our lawn, screaming first thing in the morning. It was horrendous.

As the owners/mangers you'd surely think to put a couple in another flat away from the family?

It was terribly overpriced for what you got, horribly uncomfortable bed and the milk in the fridge when we arrived had gone off in MAY. Two month old milk isn't something you'd expect to see in a $280 a night lodge.

All in all we left feeling dissapointed and disatisfied and will not be reccomending this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matakana123, Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Sarah P
We are very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Through photographs we do our best to accurately represent Riverside on our website.
It is our policy to group couples and families seperately in the different clusters to avoid this type of conflict.
We respond to any complaints from guests immediately and would have been very happy to move you if we had known you were unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Just had girly weekend here. There were 4 of us and there was heaps of room. The view from our bach was fab. The gas fire gave a very cosy feeling and added to the atmosphere. Would recommend this place to anyone. If its some R and R you are wanting, go no further that this place. With Matakana not far away with the Markets and Restaurants its the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karena66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

A perfect place for my husband and I to stay with our family. We had four cottages - one for each of our three children and their families. They were clustered together but beautifully private. We looked right down on to the tennis court and swimming pool - perfect for sports mad grandchildren.
The cottages were beautifully appointed, and had everything we needed. The two bathrooms in each cottage were modern and spotless, as was the kitchen.
Only a short drive in to Matakana and close to many lovely beaches and restaurants.
Will certainly return when possible.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews