We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, professional staff, terrible internet connection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen Garching
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, professional staff, terrible internet connection”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay., However, the in-room internet connection (I paid for a room connection) was so poor, I didn't use it. The biggest problem was logging on. I could log on, and the signal was strong, but the actual internet speed was so slow that my computer(s) could not gain internet access.

In most high-end hotels in the US and Asia, the quality of the WiFi connection is getting better and better. Customer MUST have an internet connection today.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank emmettHughlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    172
    81
    23
    3
See reviews for
44
95
46
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

no frills accomodation just next to public transportation outside Munich.

Room more spacious than your typical ibis, bathroom economical. Everything clean.
Good choice if you are travelling by car or use public transportation to get into the city.

Public transport to airport a bit lengthy (depending on time of day between 35 and 50 min).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tourist35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The rooms are small, the working area comfortable, bathrooms are very small, and comfortable double beds. The staff members were not very friendly - even coffee was chargeable in the lobby. Breakfast options are good but very standard and cannot be customized for individual needs. The lunch and dinner options are very limited. However, some of the staff members were good - and tried to provide great service at the restaurant by offering "out of menu" items. But again, this was not offered by all staff on all days. Staff generally speak decent English. The location is good, just on the Garching Hochbruck U Bahn station, and close to Parkring Offices.

Room Tip: Select the rooms facing the U Bahn station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's not a high end hotel, and it's exactly what you would expect - functional and clean. The only irritation was the housekeeping staff consistently ignoring do not disturb signs and barging on into the rooms anyway (so dont expect a lie in in the morning, even with the late checkout time).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you are, like me, looking for somewhere for the night just off the autobahn quite close to Munich airport, then this Ibis fits the bill. It's easy to find - left as you leave the autobahn, ignoring the Garching sign (the town is on the other side of the motorway), then right towards the cluster of hotels. There's a car park under the hotel - drive up to the doors on the right and press the Ibis button on the control post - it costs 5€ for 24 hours. The rooms are standard Ibis, slightly on the small side, perhaps. The beds were good, certainly better than others I've experienced which were often on the hard side. There's a small pub-style bar downstairs but prices are much better at the bar/restaurant 100m away on the corner which also does substantial and quite cheap food. Breakfast was fine - reasonable choice, decent coffee, items topped up regularly. It may be worth noting that the hotel is only one junction away from Bayern Munich's stadium and has a station connecting it with central Munich next door. So, somewhere that does a basic job quite well. Onward travel note (Winter 2013) - if you are going on towards Innsbruck/Garmisch etc.on the A95 there seem to be traffic problems at peak times heading towards the south side of Munich, possibly due to extensive road works. Either follow Google maps advice and go round the north side or perhaps do what we did - follow Salzburg and cut back west via Bad Tolz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during our roadtrip through Europe. This hotel was amazing. It was clean and quiet and it was all we needed as a rest-stop.
We booked this hotel online and we werent sure if we were gonna have trouble when we arrived, but everything went smoothly.
There was wi-fi in the lobby area and even a stationary computer, in case we wanted to surf the web.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ys84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at the Ibis in Garching during my short stay in Munich, as it was a bit more reasonable than hotels downtown. When using public transit, it might be a bit challenging to get from the airport to the hotel, first S-bahn, then bus and finally U-bahn. However, the Garching-Hochbruck U-bahn station is 25 meters from the hotel, and the trip downtown takes about 15-20 minutes. However, outside rush hour the U-bahn runs on 20-minute intervals.

The hotel is fairly OK, it is what you can expect from a hotel in this price range. The room was not very big, with a very little bathroom. Comfortable bed, I had a good night sleep. Very small TV, with very few English language channels. I had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel, dinner was decent, large portions, but perhaps a little pricey. Breakfast was OK, but at €10, somewhat overpriced. Would rather suggest going to the local Edeka supermarket, a 5 minute stroll away. The service from the staff at the hotel was very good, they were friendly and approachable when I had questions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acro456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garching bei Munchen
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Muenchen Garching
Ibis Budget Muenchen Garching
#5 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
SOULMADE
SOULMADE
#1 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Konig Ludwig II.
Konig Ludwig II.
#3 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Zur Post Ismaning
Hotel Zur Post Ismaning
#2 of 11 in Ismaning
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coro
Hotel Coro
#7 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Residence
Park Residence
#8 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen Garching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen Garching

Property: Ibis Muenchen Garching
Address: Daimlerstr. 5, 85748 Garching bei Munchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garching bei Munchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Garching bei Munchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen Garching 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2 star Ibis Munchen Garching is located in the north of Munich, just 100 m from the nearest underground station (U6). 105 airconditioned rooms with wireless access in all areas. Our Hopfen und Malz restaurant is open from 6 pm to 10.30 pm, our bar isopen 24 hours. With free onsite parking and a basement garage at reasonable prices, the hotel is 17 km from the city centre, 5 km from the prestigious Technical University of Munich and Allianz Arena, 18 km from the centre and 8 km from the MOC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Muenchen Garching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing