We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deaf & blind tours review”

Dialogue In The Dark
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Holon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Deaf & blind tours review”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

You must book as far as advance as possible since these fill up quickly; the groups are fairly small. We were fortunate to book these back to back. Each tour lasts about 90 min. and I recommend you try to book both of them

The deaf tour was very thought provoking. You have to leave all watches, cell phones etc in a locker, wear noise cancelling headphones and agree not to talk or make any noise. The guide then engages you in various conversations that concentrate on communication using expressions and your hands. Most excellent and recommended!

The blind tour also has you lock everything away. You are given a walking stick and proceed into pitch black darkness with a guide. I personally did not find this as interesting as the deaf one, although it was pretty good overall.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank qsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    8
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

it is an unforgetable experience. Don't miss it. Also visit other exhibition at the Israeli Children's Museum !!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Out of your comfort zone”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My family and I were very excited to experience this unique opportunity. I was really nervous before we entered but all that disappeared as our guide introduced herself and we were given canes to use. We went through 7 different environments relying on our other senses. We completed our journey buying and eating in a "cafe" in the dark. Well worth doing. Our only trouble was our taxi driver finding this place.

Helpful?
Thank lea110270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This museum is a walk through everyday life as a blind person. You are taken from one pitch black room to another by a blind person with only their voice and the use of a white stick to aid you. The museum allows you to experience life as though you were actually blind and is very thought provoking. There is an opportunity at the end to talk to your Lind guide and ask any questions you want. We all enjoyed the museum and would recommend it to anyone visiting Tel Aviv.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Try this. Will make you a better person and you'll pass a really unique experience. Maybe is a little scary but at the en you'll appreciate others like never before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Segaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dialogue In The Dark also viewed

Holon, Tel Aviv District
 
Holon, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Dialogue In The Dark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing