We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my very favourites - worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardardan Tearoom

Ardardan Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Cardross
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Run by the Montgomery Family Ardardan is set within our Walled Garden on the banks of the River Clyde. With our Farm Shop Deli, Garden Nursery, Tearoom and Woodland Walk we hope you enjoy a visit to Ardardan. We strive to provide the highest quality products along with excellent services and aim to exceed expectations! There's no strangers at Ardardan; just friends that haven't met yet.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of my very favourites - worth a detour”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great place for lunch or afternoon tea - it is pricey but the quality is excellent - does pay to check the bill as they can get it wrong and the service is variable - tends to slacken off a bit when they are not busy. I can forgive that because the food, the soup, the tea, the coffee, and the banter is top notch.

Not fancy but what they do, they do really well and with passion which is why it is one of my very favourites.

Best egg mayo sandwiches I've had anywhere, black pudding toasties are brill and the scones and cakes are fabulous and homemade.

I must mention the lentil soup which comes in a bowl or half bowl portion - it is better than home made - so tasty and thick it will cure whatever ails you and have you coming back for more.

Well worth a detour. They don't take bookings and at busy times you may have to queue. Seats outdoors if the sun shines.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdardanCardross, Owner at Ardardan Tearoom, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi there! Just wanted to leave a wee note to say thank you so much for your kind review on visiting Ardardan! We are very lucky to have such lovely local customers and now Friends of Ardardan! Glad to hear the lentil soup remains a favourite and eggs are a staple so we're delighted the sandwich goes down a treat too! Always great to get feedback - we have a brilliant team at Ardardan and will do our best to maintain the high level of service we strive for at all times, even when a wee bit quieter. Thanks again for taking the time to write about Ardardan and we hope you continue to enjoy visiting us! The Monty and Team at Ardardan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Terrific scones!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Montys are great folk with wonderful staff and an expanding business which deserves all the accolades. Their food is lovely, the shop is a treat. Prices in both are fairly high but the quality is there and it is a favourite place for ladies (and gentlemen!) who lunch! I am going back soon!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelensburghMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdardanCardross, Owner at Ardardan Tearoom, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Delighted to hear you enjoy visiting us here at Ardardan! We are do lucky to have such support and so many visitors from the local community and beyond! We hope you continue to enjoy coming down to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely but check your bill”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Nice cafe with tasty food and friendly staff. Good selection of baking including gluten-free treats. Bit noisy during busy times. Let down by being charged for two soups when we only had one. Wouldn't let that put me off; just check your bill.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdardanCardross, Owner at Ardardan Tearoom, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi there, thanks a million for taking the time to write about Ardardan! We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our gluten free baking - we try as much as possible to always have a few sweet treats options and can always amend the menu to suite as many diets as possible. I am so sorry to hear you were charged for too many soups - we try to go through the bill with visitors when at the till to try and avoid such an issue-but in this case I can only apologise and will use this to improve and hopefully not repeat this mistake! Thanks again and we hope you enjoy many more visits to Ardardan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Great family-run business”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you are ever having a day trip to Helensburgh by car, do not drive past this little gem. The Montgomery family run this establishment and you can't beat it for breakfast/coffee and scrummy cakes or lunch. The food is great and always served with efficiency and friendly banter. There is a large car park and garden centre along with Highland cows and various other animals to keep children entertained. Bring your wellies and have a woodland walk too if you feel like a little gentle exercise. A nice place to stop on the way to Helensburgh, a lovely seaside town.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdardanCardross, Owner at Ardardan Tearoom, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Just a wee note to say thank you for sharing your views on Ardardan. We are delighted to hear you enjoy getting your wellies on and saying hello to the Highland coos! We are hoping to do a few bits and bobs in the woodland in time for the spring to make the Woodland Walk even better and more enjoyable for our visitors. Hopefully you will continue popping in -it is most appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardardan Tearoom also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Ardardan Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing