We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Inn
Nearby Hotels
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stirling Court Hotel(Stirling)(Great Value!)
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$136
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
$164
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bridge of Allan)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
77
42
14
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
42
14
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe ownerdoune castletasty fooddining roomold buildingfriendly hostsnova scotiajamie olivermade us feelscottish hospitalitysteak pieelectric showerfew drinksfull scottishlow ceilingsbeautiful scenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 145 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Owned by Jamie Oliver (Not the Chef we all know). We visited the castle then went for a pub lunch. the food is very tasty and fresh. The chef sources his ingredients from the best quality available. i.e. Fresh haddock from Aberdeen, Stornaway black pudding etc. I had the beef and ale pie. What a treat. Deliciously tasty in a quality gravy. Then I had the Stornaway Gateau, Wow, what a feast of flavours. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Although bar and dining room were small, the hospitality was big! Bar being refurbished and redecorated. Food - variety and portion sizes were excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order.

Windows may not have curtains - so be aware of moonlight. Take a eye mask if you need complete darkness to sleep. You will need your soap and toiletries as none supplied in the bathrooms.

The early morning birds may be your alarm clock, or take your own if you need a wake-up call.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMW050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were in this part of Scotland last week and were looking for a late lunch, around 2pm. We had been looking for a while in the area and came across this pub. From the outside we thought it looked a little basic and the bar area was also a bit bare, but food was being served so we wen't in.

The food was excellent and the service was superb with the landlord going out of the way to help seat us in the small restaurant area. We had 2-3 courses for each of the 4 adults and a course each for the two kids.

All thoroughly enjoyed it with the kids food being fresh and the adult meals better than I've had in proper restaurants. Both delicious and large portions if you like that.

Put on top of that the very reasonable prices and friendly staff and we must recommend this to people visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Stream62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

just came back from a 2 night stay at the red lion inn and must say it was great.We went there for a surprise 40th anniversary for my sister and husband who live close,i must say from the minute we arrived we were made very welcome the locals also made us welcome.We had a surprise meal waiting for the party of 17 people and the choice was good plus they made any thing you wanted if you were picky as we had one.The rooms were very clean the beds were very comfy and the food was lovely the breakfast was lovely too,theres plenty of places to visit around the area its so nice.On the saturday night it was a sponsored fancy dress aswell and they looked realy well,well done you locals.Thanks to the staff they made a good night brilliant well done

Room Tip: not sure about other rooms but room 1 is very nice
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the beautiful town of Doune to visit friends, on arrival Jamie was very welcoming and showed us to a lovely room, very cosy with lots of character. We ate dinner in the restaurant and my husband said it was the best steak pie he' had!! The bar was warm and friendly and we had a great night being entertained by the locals. We slept soundly and had a lovely breakfast served by Jamie and kenny who couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely return, good value for money and friendly staff, jamie does a great job looking after everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews