We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome awaits!”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Doune B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the beautiful town of Doune to visit friends, on arrival Jamie was very welcoming and showed us to a lovely room, very cosy with lots of character. We ate dinner in the restaurant and my husband said it was the best steak pie he' had!! The bar was warm and friendly and we had a great night being entertained by the locals. We slept soundly and had a lovely breakfast served by Jamie and kenny who couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely return, good value for money and friendly staff, jamie does a great job looking after everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We used the Red Lion as a stop over when depositing our daughter at Stirling Uni and it was worth staying just 15 mins away for a more reasonable price. We found the £65 price for bed & breakfast to be very good value. We had a lovely room with a four poster bed which was clean and had plenty of storage and I thought the magazines were a nice touch. The bathroom was very dated and the shower was poor but I discovered next day that that room has not been refurbished yet. The bedroom was lovely though. We ate an evening meal there which was delicious and very reasonably priced and breakfast in the morning was made to order and set us up for the day.All the staff were very friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in you enjoying your stay.

Room Tip: If you want an early night check your room is not above the bar area!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swampduck74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thanks to a terrific person in the Ullapool, Scotland, Tourist Bureau, we were recommended the Red Lion and what a real gem of a local Inn and Pub! We spent 2 nights there and the Inn was comfortable, clean, and full of friendly and helpful staff and patrons. An instant smile the minute you walk in. Parking is on their property, it's right in the middle of the little town of Doune with a number of great sites within walking distance. Food is outstanding---in 2 days we ate all meals except one there (we were away for lunch). Talk with the staff, visit with the locals, enjoy the Red Lion!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms so ask for the size bed you would prefer. Some rooms have lower ceilin...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for a night on our way home to Oban after a terrible holiday at the Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport (see seperate review). It was abreath of fresh air! The Inn is the focal point of the village and is about 200 years old. There is a well laid out carpark and seperate entrance to the accomodation. We entered the bar to book in and were immediately greeted by the barmaid with a friendly welcome. We were shown to our room which was spacious, clean and attractively furnished. We read through the dinner menu in our room, then went down to the bar for a drink and to order our meals. As we had our dog with us and couldn't therefore use the dining room, the staff had set us a table in the bar. The food was excellent as was the liquid refreshment, After a great night's sleep and a refreshing shower in the immaculate ensuite bathroom, we enjoyed a perfectly cooked breakfast and chat with the gentleman who served us. All in all our stay at the Red Lion Inn in Doune more than made up for the stress and disappointment we had experienced in Southport. I wish we had stayed at the Inn all week!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 3 and 4 (above the bar) but still quiet enough.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family (5 people) only spent one night there but the service was perfect.
Really friendly people. The pub was full but we couldn't hear any noise from there.
The breakfast was delicious.
We spent 7 nights in Scotland in 6 different places, but this was my favourite.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have only ever visited to eat. We have had some very good meals here. The service is friendly. The portions are a very good size. The last meal I had there was a business meal with 4 other people. Two of us had salmon with roast veg. The salmon was very dry and the roast veg were more like mixed boiled veg. It was tasty but the salmon had been grossly over cooked. I didn't say anything as I was a guest at the table with people I didn't know, but had I been with my family and paying for it myself I would have complained. I found out afterwards that the owner who usually cooks hadn't been in the kitchen that night.

So, before you order you may want to check who's cooking! Owner is good, apparently his stand in is not so good!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This Inn seemed a little old fashioned but had some nice touches. We had a hard time getting the WiFi in our room. The man who served us breakfast was very genuine and nice. Even though the pub is right downstairs and was full of people watching soccer, we had no noise problems in our room. He told us our room dated to the 1700s! Free parking right next to the Inn. It also was within walking distance to Doune Castle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doune
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
6.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
566 reviews
3.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
6.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
8.1 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Balkerach Street, Doune, Stirling FK16 6DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range: $102 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 200 years old, the Red Lion is a charming village Inn located in the centre of the picturesque village of Doune in central Scotland. The Inn has 6 bedrooms with 2 family room which can sleep up to 4. A friendly public bar serves a range of whiskey and local beers, while our restaurant offers fresh pub grub with a little finesse. Our Quaich suite is suitable for functions, meetings and events and opens onto a sunny courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Inn Doune, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing