We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and reasonable priced”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Doune B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our B&B hosts (Glenardoch House, Castle Road--> excellent) recommended this Pub. So we went there for dinner. Kitchen was already closed but the owner said "No problem", and we could choose from the whole menu! The meal was very tasty (be best since our trip started 6 days ago) and was the lowest price we had until then. When we visit Scotland again (and we will!), i am sure we eat there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Spent a week night here with my wife and daughter. Excellent bright and airy, ensuite family room: simply decorated with nice touches. We decided to have dinner in the small restaurant and were very impressed with both the choice and the standard set by the in house chef. Good wholesome food well presented and reflecting obvious skills in the kitchen.
A further bonus was that the bar had two well conditioned real ales on tap, though we sat in the restaurant as it was quieter.
Breakfast was very good and the owner helped me out with some complex but accurate directions through a maze of roundabouts.
This was a good value experience all 'round.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestLochBoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stopped over at the Red Lion in Doune with my two children (9 and 12) and our dog last week. The care and attention we received was above and beyond what I expected. We had had an eventful journey from the Midlands as the car had broken down at Carlisle. When I had called to let them know we were going to be late, Jamie, the owner said he would stay up for us. We arrived around 1130pm and he offered to make us all something to eat at that late hour. We were all exhausted and so retired to our room which had a double and 2 single beds (all very comfortable) and ensuite. It was perfect for us. We had a delicious and filling Scottish breakfast in the morning and from then on Jamie, his father Bob and the locals all played a part in making us welcome and looking after us as we waited to find out when our car would be ready. We ended up staying an extra night and during our stay one of the locals kindly looked after our dog so that we could do the tour of Doune Castle (a must for Python fans complete with coconuts and Terry Jones audio commentary). We thoroughly enjoyed that. Bob was fantastic (as others have mentioned before). He is a keen fisherman and gave my son some tips on salmon fishing and kindly gave him some flies to get him started. Even more generously he gave me a lift all the way to Stirling to collect my car! What a star. What with Jamie's tasty food and his mum and dad's attentive service this little inn was the best place to break down. Ignore the negative nitpicking comments of the previous review. This is a small inn providing comfortable, clean, good value rooms with tasty food above a cosy pub with friendly locals. It is not a chain hotel and so much the better for it. They are renovating more parts of the inn and I am sure it will go from strength to strength as their customer service is superb. Thank you all for making our stay stress free.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pythonesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed one night in order to visit the Argaty Red Kite Centre. The room we stayed in was very basic. The shower was quite dangerous as it went from red hot to cold all the time. There was only a small amount of toilet roll and when that ran out we could not find a spare. When we made tea in the morning we discovered there was no milk on the tray. There was no sign of anyone downstairs in the inn so my husband had to go out to buy some milk. There was no plug near a mirror so what with the impossible shower I decided not to bother trying to wash or dry my hair. On the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable and it is a shame that no one bothered to do a check on the rest of the room. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and both decided to try the steak and ale pie with "creamy mash". It was stewed meat with a puff pastry topping, very little gravy and "lumpy mash" and a mix of vegetables. The breakfast was fine, if a little greasy. On reflection we wish we had stayed at Calander instead.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We decided to use this Hotel as a half way marker for our trip to NW Scotish peninsula of Applecross.

We arrived early after a very very long drive and were warmly welcomed.

Although we were the only ones there that evening we had an excellent evening meal and superb breakfast prepared by their excellent chef.

Will definatley use again

Room Tip: Small and friendly - meet the locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warlows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed here for an overnight early April....wow! Lovely decorated rooms, we were in room 4 wich was pretty big for this kind of place. Really friendly, in fact so friendly that the owner's Dad gave us a lift to a party!!!Now that is above and beyond.....I'm sure if we had asked we would have got a lift home too - luckily the whisky drinking made the night mild enough for us to have a leisurely wander along the riverside home. Breakfast was perfect, not too small, not too big - although you couldhave just kept eating so there is still a possibilty of bursting your button! The most perfect potato scones in the world...I ate my husbands too! All in all, great value and great place. Lots of posters up with events coming up, so well worth a visit as the weather gets nicer and you want a taste of Scotland.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank clareandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed for 1 night during a stopover on our way to Fort William. Very clean and comfortable inn and a convenient location. Food really tasty and excellent quality without being over-priced. The bar area was full of locals and had a great atmosphere. The manager was very polite and helpful but didn't smile ONCE which I felt a bit disconcerting! The only downside was the late night revellers in the street directly outside the pub that created quite alot of noise on their way home. Overall a great place to stay on your way through but probably not for a long holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingthedream21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doune
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
3.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
6.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
6.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#11 of 20 in Stirling
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Balkerach Street, Doune, Stirling FK16 6DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range: $105 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 200 years old, the Red Lion is a charming village Inn located in the centre of the picturesque village of Doune in central Scotland. The Inn has 6 bedrooms with 2 family room which can sleep up to 4. A friendly public bar serves a range of whiskey and local beers, while our restaurant offers fresh pub grub with a little finesse. Our Quaich suite is suitable for functions, meetings and events and opens onto a sunny courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Inn Doune, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing