We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start-up with a quality focus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Angolino

L'Angolino
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Doune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent start-up with a quality focus”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Firstly, my wife and I know the owners. We have been here twice. The first time was an impromptu lunch. I had the pasta al ragu. The sauce is meaty and flavoursome and not at all runny. my wife's was also very good. She remarked on the fact that the pasta was not over-cooked. Excellent start. The second time was planned, we went there with my brother and his family. This time pizza was chosen by several members of the party and it was excellent. My wife is Sicilian and would say if things were not good. I had the lasagne al forno and again it was very good. The portions are generous and the service very friendly. It is all about the food and experience. Gerry (referred to on here as "the chef in the shorts" LOL) will have no problem with you telling what you think and will appreciate all constructive comments. Best of luck guys M, N and I will see you soon, with the Mother -in-Law!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    29
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth traveling to.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal last night. Good food, with genorous portions, and good service. Would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited L'Angolino for lunch on a Sunday and enjoyed it very much. We had the trio of bruschetta, the farfalle al salmone affumicato, tortelli alla zucca and a pizza. The toppings for the bruschetta were very well balanced and the bread nice and crisp. The pasta was al dente, just as you would have it in Italy. We all agreed that the food was delicious and unfortunately we were in a bit of a rush, otherwise we would have tried one of the desserts as well. The restaurant is quite small but the atmosphere is lovely and it has a cosy and warm feel. The staff was also very welcoming and friendly. All in all a great experience and a shame that the restaurant is not closer to Edinburgh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 640JenniferS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doune, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was brought to this lovely Italian restuarant by my family last week. The service was fantastic, the staff friendly and the food delicious. I felt the prices were great value for money and i love the fact they dont double book tables which means you can sit back, relax and enjoy for as long as you wish. Its great to see such a great restuarant in Doune and i will definately be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 624DonnaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wee gem in Doune”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fab eaterie, food was so tasty, full of flavour and cooked to perfection. Very friendly staff and very relaxed atmosphere. Great value for money. Will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Avril715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolino also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to L'Angolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing