We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Castle Mixing History With a Tribute to Monty Python”
Review of Doune Castle

Doune Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$664.08*
and up
Private 'Outlander' Film Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$59.77*
and up
Outlander Film Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$58.44*
and up
West Highland Lochs and Castles Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Doune
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore this 14th century courtyard castle in Doune, with a striking 100 ft high gatehouse and one of the best preserved great halls in Scotland. The formidable Doune Castle was built for the Regent Albany. The striking keep-gatehouse combines domestic quarters including the splendid Lord's Hall with its carved oak screen, musicians' gallery and double fireplace. This was used as a film location for the BBC production of Ivanhoe and Monty Python and the Holy Grail. As well as being heavily featured in Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Doune Castle was also used for the castle known as Winterfell in the pilot of the award winning TV series Game of Thrones as well as Castle Leoch in Outlander.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic Castle Mixing History With a Tribute to Monty Python”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not in the original "plan" for our tour of the UK, this turned out to be a delightful add-on. As castles go, this one is in very good shape, and the audio tour they provide is one of the more interesting and complete. It is most interesting to hear the actual history of the site, its ties to other historical sites and people, to gain historical perspective. The structure is visually interesting, without being overtly changed to suit subsequent wants and needs of its residents -- that is to say, it has the look and feel of a castle, not a palace. The Monty Python ties (Holy Grail) are referenced, but lightly so, which if you are a fan is a nice tribute without taking over the castle's identity. Nicely done. Expect to spend between 1-2 hours to enjoy the castle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    411
    89
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland Newbies
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Took my German brother-inlaw and family along after 5 year old nephew demanded to see a proper castle. Doune delivered! Dungeons, spiral staircases, great halls, turrets.... Fabulous views from the top. And to top it off, an audio tour by Terry Jones (Doune Castle played most of the castles in Monty Python's Holy Grail). We went expecting a couple of hours entertainment and stayed all day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The audio tour brings the castle alive without the need for a guide and allows you to explore at your own leisure. A fascinating look into Scotland's history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLG1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Monty Python at its finest”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed touring Doune Castle particularly because the movie, Monty Python and the Holy Grail was filmed partly in this castle. The audio guide is entertaining as it presents audio scenes from the movie as you walk through the castle. Each room where filming took place is pointed out on the guide, as well as the history of the castle in real life.
Who would have thought that touring a castle would result in belly laughs and chuckles along the way?
When we got home, we were certain to pop in the movie to watch it from a different perspective, having actually walked through many of the scene locations.
There is a large car park for you vehicle, and easily accessible restrooms on the grounds for your convenience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit but accessibility could be better”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went with my young son to see the castle famous for being the filming location of Monty Python's Holy Grail. At reception we got our coconut shells and staff kindly parked our buggy for us, as the cobbled entrance is difficult to walk on. Not easily accessible for pram or wheelchair users - you need enough mobility to get to the 1st floor of the castle.

Lovely atmospheric rooms and though I didn't get a chance to hear all Terry Jones' audio commentary, I would visit again. My son also loved exploring the castle. Could benefit from better food & drink facilities, more interactive displays, and closing when hired exclusively, as there was a wedding on when we went, which made things chaotic with all the tourists around. Toilets are in the cottage across from the castle and were well maintained, with a little room with some seating and a range of local information leaflets.

The building and location were great. Staff nice and helpful too, considering they must get people coming up to them going "Ni!" all day. Blair Drummond Safari Park is about 10 mins away on the bus, so you could visit both if you've got time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doune Castle also viewed

 

Been to Doune Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing