We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buttercup Cafe

Buttercup Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Doune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated in the small village of Doune, Perthshire a short distance away from Dunblane, Stirling and Callander as well as The Trossachs National Park. Doune is famed for its Castle, the setting of the film 'Monty Python and the Holy Grail' as well as the recent British-American TV Drama 'Outlander'. At Buttercup Cafe, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent quality of food and service and we are very proud that we have achieved a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor three years running. Furthermore, we have received a Scottish Home Baking Award for 'the most voted cafe online' and reached the final of the British Sandwich Association's 'Designer Sandwich of the Year' competition in both 2013 & 2014 Freshly made delicious food, great coffee, an extensive cake selection and a welcoming atmosphere are our trademark. Our courtyard is a great place to enjoy eating al fresco during good weather and our courtyard room is an ideal venue for private lunches, meetings or family events We offer a takeout service and we offer an Outdoor Catering Service - whether you're having a private party, office meeting or any other function, please call and we would be happy to discuss further details with you.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really nice cafe”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I love finding great new cafés and this is another that exceeds expectations with innovative and tasty options at reasonable prices and good service. Great lunch and can't wait to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DubVanCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    64
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We dropped in for a coffee (and apple and cinnamon cake) and were warmly welcomed. Good surroundings and a small fresh flower on the table with a tea light. Service was very quick and the coffee and cake good (cappuccino had fresh chocolate grated on top). There was nothing to fault it and we'd definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scandinavian Club Sandwiches...”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Nearly every time my girlfriend and I visit here we both have the club sandwich which is outstanding. We've loved coming here ever since it opened. The specials on the board change often and the homemade soups, cakes and traybakes are always great. My favourite is the club and steak sandwiches and the quiches are amazing. Always a great place for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fantastic. An interesting selection of homemade soups and sandwiches using excellent ingredients.
An exceedingly warm and friendly welcome given we looked somewhat bedraggled after a long cycle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Tend to stop here for a bite to eat en route to Balquidder.. Stopped yest ( Mothers Day) hoping to get a breakfast roll or some French toast as we had already booked lunch elsewhere.. Unfortunately breakfast items finished at 11.30am which was unfortunate as we had to have sandwiches instead as a light bite.. They were extremely busy which Is always a good sign .. After a long wait the sandwiches were tasty and freshly made.. Staff very apologetic for long wait and very pleasant.. I find on a Sunday however families expect to have brunch served all day as it is very popular in most venues these days to go and sit with the Sunday papers , a pot of tea or coffee and Sunday brunch.. So it seems kind of silly that having the ingredients and capabilities to make eggs Benedict or French toast or a full cooked breakfast that it has to be refused if sandwiches aren't really what you're looking for... The place we did eat lunch serves an all day menu until 7pm which includes all of the above every day of the week... These items aren't now typically restricted to breakfast and are popular at all times ... Just a suggestion for going forward maybe.. Other than that I love this wee place...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttercup Cafe also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Doune, Stirling
 

Been to Buttercup Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing