We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenardoch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenardoch House
Ranked #1 of 7 Doune B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Glenardoch House for our last night in Scotland and wished we had found it as our first. It was simply marvelous!!! The bedroom we had was very large overlooking the picturesque garden, the bed was sooo comfortable, and the bathroom was large, modern, tasteful and elegant, and clean. It contained all the touches you would expect of a modern spa resort. Our host was so lovely and she made every effort to make us feel comfortable and welcome without being invasive. The breakfast was incredible with fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereal, and a full cooked breakfast which included goodies that we had not encountered in our stay before. The ambiance of the entire house was gracious and elegant but not impersonal or distancing. The house has an interesting history and the décor is a interesting mix of modern comfort with old world charm. I would strongly recommend this for a romantic trip!!!

Room Tip: The garden room was delightful with a wonderful view, comfortable large bed, and plenty of space wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a beautiful place in all its aspects...location, house, garden, rooms and host Lynda ...such a genuine, kind, helpful and lively person. The house is big old mansion set in a divine garden.
Everything in the place is of the best quality....there are only 2 rooms, both upstairs and are large.Ours had a huge window with garden view.. big oval bath as well as shower..lots of good toiletries.The breakfast includes a big bowl of fresh fruit salad and the cooked breakfasts are nicely done. The bed was very comfortable and bed linen was a joy to sleep in...Lots of fresh flowers, little extras like fruit andchocolatea. Very private and the house was quiet. A few minutes walk to Doune castle, 45 mins drive to Glasgow airport. Make sure you see Drummond Castle gardens on the road to Crieff.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the best view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtchville, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

That's our room in the photo! Linda and Keith are wonderful hosts, very warm and inviting. The room is very spacious and beautifully appointed. The view from the large bay window includes the stone bridge over the Ardoch Burn and, depending on the time of year, Doune Castle. Perfectly situated in a quiet little village, Glenardoch House is within easy walking distance of several nice little restaurants and pubs, and easy driving distance to a whole host more. Stirling is just moments away. A large, comfortable sitting room with fireplace is available to guests, as well as a lovely dining room where a full Scottish breakfast is available. If you're lucky, you may get to meet Hector and Romeo as well, both are friendly and lend a feeling of hominess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailor2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The answer is YES! We were in the area of Stirling, Scotland and decided to visit Doune castle. This was the castle used in the Monty Python films. It is a nice castle to visit and much less expensive than Stirling castle, but I digress. We were looking for a B&B in the Doune area and saw the sign coming into town. We checked out a couple of other places in Doune first and they were not very nice. Just off of the highway, we pulled up to Glenardoch. I was struck by the appearance and surroundings. Very charming! We enquired and were told by our hostess that she had two rooms available ( as it turns out she has only two rooms) for 75 pounds per night (about $122). It was a bit more than I wanted to spend, considering other nice B&Bs we had been staying at were about 55 per night, but as we moved in, I knew it was worth it. Linda, our hostess, was most gracious and helpful. The home was very tastefully decorated in a sort of contemporary/ antique fusion. There was a large sitting area for guests and she even offer to build a fire. The upstairs rooms were immaculate. The beds were queen size and very comfortable. I'm a tall guy and the double beds my wife and I had been sleeping in did not lend themselves to a good night's sleep. In room coffee and tea, fresh flowers and fruit, plush towels and the bath accessories available, added to the ambiance. The large baths, ensuite, had both shower and large tub. The shower had plenty of water pressure and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was terrific. Our hostess offered us the option of the traditional scottish breakfast or a filet of smoked haddock. I took the fish, with eggs, fruit, breadstuffs, yogurt, cereal, bacon and other foods. Linda brought out a large french press full of coffee. My wife must eat gluten free foods and Linda went to the extra effort to go out and get some gluten free rolls, just for her, which were actually pretty decent when toasted. Although we were there in late September, the riduculously picturesque garden and grounds with its flowing brook and 18th century stone arch bridge, were inviting. I would have loved to be there in summer to enjoy them. The town of Allen Bridge is about 10 minutes by car, with Stirling being just a bit further. There are plenty of restaurants in both. If I had two suggestions, it would be to improve the WiFi and to be able to accept credit cards. There is not an ATM in Doune if you are short of cash. Otherwise, it was perfect. My wife and I have stayed at B&Bs all over Europe, at all price levels. This has been the best one, period. We were lucky to drive up late in the afternoon and find it available. I suspect that, as the reputation of this B&B grows, reservations far in advance will be a must.

Room Tip: both rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mblair441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Myself and my partner had the pleasure of staying at this picturesque B&B when we were attending a wedding at the nearby Dunblane Hydro. We felt that the prices being charged to stay at the hydro (£130 per room per night) were not justifiable in comparison to the cost being charged to stay at Glenardoch House (£75 per room per night).

Lynda & Keith who run the B&B were very accommodating and made arrangements for us to let ourselves in after the wedding reception at the hydro finished at 1 am. Our room was beautifully & tastefully decorated with an adjoining dressing room and ensuite bathroom. The beautiful decor in our bedroom was continued throughout the house. Lynda and Keith feel free to come to Glasgow and decorate our flat! Breakfast is served in a homely dining room with a view overlooking a riverside garden. The food was delicious and we really enjoyed the friendly conversation we had with Lynda & Keith.

We really enjoyed our short stay at Glenardoch house and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Thank you.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotschappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place ticks all the boxes. The owners are warm and friendly and most helpful. The facilities are 5 star standard and in particular the bed the most comfortable we have encountered over our years of travel. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean and the grounds and gardens beautiful. Breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit and many choices of hot breakfast foods beautifully cooked and presented. Centrally located and a great base for day trips. A short walk to Doune Castle which was a pleasant surprise. Exceptiional experience!! We stayed an extra night and would have stayed longer if they were not already booked out.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janrrrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful B& B Everything was perfect, the bed room was nice and large, bed so comfy, it just hugged you, breakfast was just scrummy, lots of choice. Lynda & Keith were so friendly and helpfull. Ideally situated for touring the area, lots to see, to suit all ages. The decor and furnishings were so tasteful, and cleanliness was perfect. Thank you for making our stay in Scotland to attend a wedding so comfortable and pleasant.

Room Tip: 2 Bedrooms at this B&B both have pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forcenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doune
3.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
3.2 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Doune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.2 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenardoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenardoch House

Property: Glenardoch House
Address: Glenardoch House Castle Road, Doune, Stirling FK16 6EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenardoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Glenardoch House Doune, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing