We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Experience with CRT and the Fiest Resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
A TripAdvisor Member
“Our Experience with CRT and the Fiest Resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2006

We already wrote a lenghtly review but our internet connection timed out, so we have decided to give you a breif synopsis and if you require further detail you can email us.

We didn't like the Fiesta Resort because we felt that it catered mainly to Spanish speaking people. There is also non-stop constuction begining each morning. We thought that the CRT tours were impersonal, over-priced and their ethics were questionable. We had our tour cut short and a camera and money stolen.

Get out on your own, forget the tours with the groups. The taxi and local buses are safe and affordable and you will have a chance to really see the country. Met an English speaking cab driver who offers private tours at a considerable discount on his days off. If you are interested his name is Chico and his numbers are [-------------]. He really put a positive spin on what otherwise could have been a bad vacation.

Erick & Chantel Johnston

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    847
    492
    236
    141
See reviews for
965
906
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2006

My 7 friends and myself just returned from Fiesta Resort and casino. We had a great week because we met about 12 great Canadians to hang around with and we had a great personal tour guild (lots of fun).

The resort is good enough for the money you pay, the food is average as is the entertainment and accomadation.

If you get a standard room they will put you in the old section in the 1100`s, these tend to be alittle moldy smelling but as far as rooms go they were very clean and good enough.

The hotel had about 75% Costa Rician guests, and all the entertainment was done in Spanish. Very little english is spoken there and very few employees speak english although everyone was very friendly. The grounds are very nice and well kept up except the main pool which got really dirty and wasn`t cleaned for 3 days. The disco was smelly and full of 16 year olds so you never really felt comfortable there.

You can see lots of wild life running around the resort which was really neat, iguanas, birds, crabs and lizards but hardy any bugs.

The beach was hardly used by anyone as the sand was so hot and the water murky because of the sand colour and around the pier was full of crabs. They had 5 nice pools so you didn`t need the beach anyway.

As far as tours go we had a guy named Dimas take us around for less than half of what the resort tours wanted. Resort tours ran from about $89. to $110. Our guy took us out for about $35 to $45 dollars. Dimas was able to get us discounts at some shops and took us to places we never would have seen. He called the monkeys from the trees and we were able to feed them by hand. He spoke great english and we learned lots about the culture from him. You can call him when you get to Costa Rica his phone # is (home) [-] (cell)[-]. The staff at the front desk and the gate know Dimas. He made our trip.

All in all we had a great time. To enjoy Costa Rica fully you must leave the resort and see the country its so beautiful. Just know thats its a 3+ star and you get what you pay for.

***** By the way their summer holiday runs till the first week in feb so if you don`t like kids go after this date.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank travelgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2006

This place was a great buy for 2 weeks. The rooms are alright, but make sure you get the new side because the old side smells very musty. The top 2 floors you cannot open any windows. Food was good. Pool bar's were very nice. Lots of kids and local's. Take the zip glide tour it was assume ($100/person). Going to Jaco rent a car for 4 people and up it is cheaper ($67 american $10 gas their and back) Taxi was 25/ person min. Water was fine to drink. All bartenders were great. I tipped most of the time 1000 colones was good. I would return to this resort. The weather was very hot and the rum and beer went down great!!

Helpful?
14 Thank amartec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2006

This is a 4 star hotel that offers most of the services and amentities that one comes to expect. However, the hotel could have been anywhere in the Caribbean.

It is a large hotel and my personal concern was that many of the rooms were designed so the the windows did not open.

If you prefer a room where you can open you windows request a patio room in the old section.

The food is very good though the dining room is large and at times there is a line up to wait for a table.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GOGOGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

We were hesitant going to Dreams Fiesta as it was located in Punteranas, which does not get good reviews. However, the location made Fiesta a great location to visit Manuel Antonio for the day, take a canopy tour and visit the Montverde Cloud Forest for the day. This is only the second all-inclusive I have been to and it met expectations, we had set them relatively low before arriving. Fiesta is largely for Costa Ricans taking a vacation. We actually enjoyed this as there were few North Americans or Europeans. The grounds are immaculate and there is a pool for adults only. You need to know on weekends and holidays there are lots of children. But you can escape be going to the beach side or adult pool. We found the beach (which you cannot swim in) to be quiet and clean. There were lots of lounge chairs available.
The rooms are on the moderate side. We found the one assigned to us slightly damp and musty and my partner complained. We were immediately given a new room - upgraded to the bridal suite which had a jacuzzi and an ocean view. We were very pleased.
The food is good. Not great or memorable but good. We ate at the seafood restaurant and the italian restaurant. My partner enjoyed the seafood and I enjoyed the Italian. The servers are the best part - the remember your names and are very freindly and accomodating.
The gift shop has excellent prices compared to San Jose and tourist stops.
The entertainment is actualy a notch above what we expected and while the shows are in Spanish the costumes, dancing, lighting makes for a fun way to end the night.
The Canopy Tour is a MUST DO. You lierally fly through the air on cables and do not be afraid, it is calming and not at all as frightening as it may appear. DO not miss this adventure.
Manuel Antonio is lovely. You can swim there and see monekys and iguanas up close.
Monteverde is interesting. We had an outstanding guide who was a biloogy graduate. We had a spectacular lunch at the Monteverde resort situated on a hillside and then visited the Butterfly Gardens which sounds slightly boring but was fascinating and very entertaining.
This resort is under 2 hours from San Jose. We hired a driver to go back for $70 and was worth the door to door delivery. When we went from San Jose to Fiesta we hired a driver to take us to the volcano (Poas) which is awesome to see and then to Saarchi, a small crafts town which can be skipped.
Costa Rican roads are narrow and filled with potholes. To Monteverde it took 2 hours to drive 27 kms.
The countryside is spectacular and the people freindly - see as much as you possibly can.

Helpful?
33 Thank SeeingTHEworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2005

My husband & I just got back from a weeks stay. This place was o.k., but I can't say I'd ever want to return. First, the beach is brown and muddy from the river. Don't expect anything close to a white beach in this area.
The restaurants Tuscany & the Seafood restaurant were not very good. They lost our reservation on both of these and when we finally got another I wondered why I bothered. The food in the main restaurant was pretty good. Salad bar was the best! Fruit fresh and good too.
Room was clean, but scarce. View in our first room was of the parking lot and a used mattress. We complained and they moved us to a garden view which was o.k., but nothing special. There was no balcony and the windows didn't open.
The alcoholic drinks were not too good. Only one kind of beer-Imperial, lots of sweet drinks, no bourbon, wine not to swift.
Hotel grounds were clean and pools too. Lots of families, so if you have kids it's a good place to go.
The big pool is great for kids. It's not deep and it's near the nacho bar.
Rent a car and don't bother with the organized trips. They are expensive. You can drive yourself and see and do the exact same thing with little expense. We drove and saw the Areana Volcano, the waterfalls, the crocdiles, the rainforest and any other sign seeing we wanted.
Puntareanus is dirty and the shopping there was poor. Jaco seemed to be pretty nice with descent shopping.
The staff at Hotel Fiesta and Costa Rica were very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for three days and three nights while on vacation in Costa Rica, and we had a great time relaxing inbetween adventures.

The only problem we encountered was that our room was not ready until 3:30, while check in time was at 3:00. Other than that the staff was great, the food was pretty good (not five star, but you are getting what you pay for), and the room was clean. The grounds were beautiful, and they have a whole new area that they were just finishing construction on that looks great.

There was always something to eat, and the drinks were pretty good for an all inclusive resort. Most of the guests were other Costa Ricans, and other than the front desk staff, most speak only limited English. I know basic Spanish and was able to get by with no problem.

We enjoyed the kayaks at the beach, but other than that we just relaxed. We ate at the seafood specialty restaurant, and the food was pretty good. Overall the service was great, and we had no problem relaxing even though there were a lot of kids there.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JeffInPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 21 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
24.9 mi away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 7 in Tambor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Property: Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing