We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great 1st trip to Costa Rica - we want to go back! Pura Vida!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great 1st trip to Costa Rica - we want to go back! Pura Vida!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Our group consisted of 2 single moms and our 2 newly high school grad daughters. The purpose of our trip was for leisure/adventure. We used Dimas as our driver from the airport to the resort and back again on departure day. I researched other drivers & car services and chose Dimas based on his reputation/reviews on trip advisor and due to the costing. Dimas picked us up and provided cold bottled water for everyone in the group. He also provided information to us on tours and we called him to reserve our tours. If you are interested in his info, please message me.

We arrived at the Doubletree approx at 4pm and our rooms were ready. We are Hilton HHonors members so were able to use the special check-in desk. The bellboy took all of our luggage to our rooms and we were quickly on our way to fun! Note we checked in on a Tuesday so it was not as busy as if we were checking in on the weekend. We were placed in building 3 which based on what I’ve read is the best building. Being a Gold member, there was a bottle of wine & fruit plate waiting in our room – this was a nice touch! The room was clean overall and the air conditioning worked very well. We had issues with a lack of hot water in the early evenings – everyone seems to go in when the rain hits and take their showers to get ready for dinner. I found that by taking a late night shower or early morning shower gave you better chances of having hotter water.

We enjoyed the Canopy tour – horseback riding, zip-lines, and lunch that Dimas booked for us. It rained and we got soaked so I wish we’d thought to bring a change of clothes. Nonetheless, it was a great experience!!

We ate at the Macondo restaurant 2 nights during our stay. The 1st time we took the last seating available – at 9pm and they were out of steak. So our 2nd time in the restaurant we booked 7pm just to be sure we had full menu choices. The menu was the same both times we ate there. We did not eat at the outside Cana Brava seafood restaurant – other guests said Macondo was better, and some of our group wasn’t seafood eaters.

The food in the buffet restaurant was fine. If you are open-minded and willing to try new things you will enjoy this restaurant. Each night there is a different theme for the foods. There is also a snack bar by the main pool which had great burgers, pizza, wraps, nachos, etc. – more Americanized foods.

As for the drinks, we tried all of their specialty drinks. Note that you get “house liquors” unless you’re a preferred Hilton member. Those who are very particular/selective about their alcohols may not like the choices. But go with the flow and just enjoy – it’s still a pretty good value when you look at the all-inclusive plan.

The beach is the dark volcanic sand. We didn’t mind this. Some beaches haul their sand in anyways. The water was deeper and a little rough. It was fun to watch the local kids surf it.

We enjoyed the nightly shows and found them entertaining. Many of the entertainment staff double as servers at the bar and work some of the daily dance lessons & activities. They had bands and offered karaoke at the main bar. We visited the disco one night and enjoyed that, too.

Overall, we found the staff very hospitable. Many spoke English and we did our best to speak in our limited Spanish when possible. We had 2 different incidents requiring use of the 1st Aid dept. and were very pleased with the care they took.

Beware of the gift shop – the pricing is rather high on snacks, sunscreens, etc. T-shirts were priced comp to the airport gift shop.

I was most disappointed in the salon. It is located over near Bldg 1 and is in dire need of a renovation. They would certainly increase business if they did. Two of us got massages on the beach and enjoyed very much. Apply your sunscreen – even when it’s cloudy! I got burned and wasn’t able to get my massage.

We had a great trip. It is what you make of it!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank ginabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greetings from the Hotel Doubletree by Hilton Costa Rica-Puntarenas.
Thank you for your wonderful review from our Hotel we are very happy that you truly enjoy our facilities and our country.

Our hotel is located 2 hours from San Jose airport, we can arrange your transportation so you can enjoy a wonderful ride to our hotel with trustfully and friendship drivers.

Our front desk staff is always ready to receive you with a warm welcome and a warm cookie, and for our Hilton Honors members we have our especial check-in desk and courtesies in theirs rooms.

All of our housekeeping staff efforts every day to give us all of our guest nice cleans comfortable rooms. And if your room is on our building 3 you will enjoy the ocean view.

We’ve been characterize in provide families a wonderful, relaxing and safety stay to all family members.

In the afternoons families can be part of our dance lessons, were you can learn our tropical dances like merengue, salsa, cumbia and more.

And at night our entertainment doesn’t stops we have our night shows and entertainment night activities like karaoke and disco. And for teens we just open this year our teens club were teens can stay in the club from 10:30 pm to 1:00 am where they can chat with friends, play wii games, flight simulator, board games or just chill out there.

We offer two specials restaurants Macondo and Caña Brava were you can enjoy all special Sea Food our Latin American flavors. Also we have a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner were you can try different dishes or maybe our fresh season fruits. And if you are hungry in the middle of the afternoon or late at night, visit our snack bar for a pizza, a hamburger or maybe some nachos.

In Costa Rica you can experience many different adventures, like the zip line, rafting or horseback riding, and from our hotel you can book many different tours. Or maybe stay in one of our pools and just relax and pocket watch our volcanic sand beach.

So if you are looking for family entertainment, good food and adventure come to Costa Rica and in our hotel we will be more than glad to extend you our Pura Vida Costa Rica culture.

Ana Gonzalez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    859
    502
    238
    141
See reviews for
977
921
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I think the visitors who have given this hotel bad reviews.. must of been somewhere else.. what I read I did not see at all.. I only saw paradise.... Upon arriving at the Doubletree which was pretty late at night.. by our tour guide Diego from Odyssey tours (which I have to comment are the best!!!) my mom and I were greeted by a wonderful warm welcome.. cannot remember his name but the gentleman that helped us was so friendly, as was every staff member we spoke to..The lobby is beautiful and felt very fresh and clean...and tropical.... we were helped to our room which was in building 3 and our room was beautiful.. too excited to sleep we went to the main dinning room had a snack and then explored the grounds... the next morning when my mom pulled back the curtains we were amazed how beautiful the grounds were and how clean.. the staff works so hard to keep everything immaculate...
The pools are wonderful, well we hung out in pool by building 3 which was quiet and the pool bar was great.. try the mojitos,,yummmm....you can just relax while watching cute iguanas lounge beside you.....
The food is great.. and I am vegetarian.. there was always something I can eat, and they have a healthy station which always offered great choices.. the fresh fruit and cheese were tasty and homemade tortillas are something that cannot be missed... The Latin American restaurant was great, ate there twice.. very attentive and a great night out.....
What is great is the pier at sunset.. they have a bar on the pier.. you can get a drink, relax and take beautiful photos......
The nightly entertainment is very enjoyable.. the dancers are fantastic.. looked forward to seeing the show everynight......
I have to mention the staff again.. who always greeted you with "Hola".. we made many friends.. especially Jose in the dining room and Jairo our waiter.. so sweet.. we miss you guys.....
Oh, we also were taken to town by Chino.. he was wonderful.. stayed with us while we shopped and helped us with our spanish...
When you leave Doubletree you leave with a wonderful feeling inside and great memories, but it also feels like you are leaving family behind.. we gave hugs to those who we befriended and said we will be back... and left with Dimas who drove us to the airport (Dimas is great!!, ) Costa Rica is a beautiful country filled with beautiful people outside and mostly inside.. as they say "Pura Vida" and we took away with us that philosophy on life and will return one day soon I hope!!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItaliangreyhoundNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greetings from our hotel Doubletree by Hilton Costa Rica – Puntarenas.

Thank you for your wonderful review from our hotel, we are really happy that you felt like paradise and have only wonderful memories about your stay with us.

Our front desk staff make a great effort to always are give our guest a warm welcome, specially for those who have traveled from far away and arrive at night.

As you said, we offer meals at every hour so our guest will always have a place to eat, even if it is late at night.

During the day we offer our 4 pools and 2 wet bars to relax in company of our friendly bartenders and our delicious Tropical and International cocktails.

As you mentioned , our buffet offer a healthy station for vegetarians guest or for those that are on a diet. At all of our meals, you can enjoy our fresh fruit station.

If you prefer to have a nice quiet dinner, as you have discovered, our two specials Restaurants Macondo and Caña Brava are available for your enjoyment attended by a group of professional waiters.



It Is part of our culture, to always to be really friendly with all of our visitors so we always will extend you a smile and a Hola!

We are always sad to see our guests leave but so happy when we have the opportunity to great them again, some for as many as 15 times. The DoubleTree Resort Puntarenas is without a doubt your home away from home in Costa Rica

From our staff and managers, we thank you again and hope to serve you again soon.


Ana Lorena González
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Doubletree Puntarenas for a week in April 2009. From the minute that we walked into the lobby until our departure time, we were made to feel special by a staff that was friendly and helpful. People like Cecilia, Magdalena, Carlos and Diego were just a few of the staff that went out of their way to make certain our stay was unforgettable. The grounds of the resort were immaculate, the food at the dining areas were always good, the pools and lounge areas were always inviting. We ate twice at the on-site restaurant, Macondo, which was excellent! Make reservations!!!! Both meals eaten there were incredible. We chose not to use the hotel travel agency, Swiss Travel, as we lucked upon one of the locals who services the hotel. His name is Juan. He is a professional with his own Tourismo bus. It is clean and reliable. He will take you to all of the places that Swiss Travel offers and places they don't offer, for a cheaper rate. He will take as few as two people vs four for Swiss Travel. He took us to Arenal Volcano, Lake Arenal and Bali Spa on one day trip. He took us to Punta Leona and Villa Celetas (a fave of our trip) another day. He also helped us with arrangements for a day trip to Montezuma Beach. With his permission, of course, I have his telephone number of interested parties. I won't publish it on this site, but will provide my email address if you are interested in his service (StevenR1965@yahoo.com). Also, Chino is a reliable tour guide. He is friendly and very funny. On the trip to the San Jose airport, he surprised us with a stop to see toucans. You will NOT be disappointed in this resort. I look forward to going back in the future. Costa Rica is an incredible country. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imperialbeerlover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 26, 2009
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting from all the staff of the Hotel Doubletree Costa Rica-Puntarenas.

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel facilities, we are so happy that you truly enjoy your stay at Costa Rica.

We offer to our guest our four pools, each design to satisfied every need, for example: relaxing in one of our quiet ocean view pool, or maybe join to a pool volleyball in our main pool, and for the little ones play in our kids pool specially made for them. and at night you can enjoy your dinner at our calypso restaurant with a different buffet theme every night or maybe you can book in one of our two specialty restaurants, Caña Brava (seafood) or as you that enjoy dining in the Macondo Latin American restaurant.

Finally if you want to explore Costa Rica, we can help you to contact our tour desk or rent a car agency located inside of our resort. You can book for many different tours that will adjust to your needs.

So if you come back to our incredible country, we will be expecting you here at your hotel in Puntarenas Costa Rica.

Ana Lorena González
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I went on a ten day tour of Costa Rica with Caravan tours. On our 7th and 8th nights, we stayed in the Doubletree Puntarenas.

My initial impressions were that the hotel was large and nice--I had been looking forward to an "all inclusive resort" experience after a week in the rainforest without airconditioning. Unfortunately, as soon as we got to our room, the problems started.

Our room had two double beds, instead of the King we had requested (we were on our honeymoon!!). We called the desk and asked to be switched, and we were told that while they were available, we could not switch to a king bedroom because we were with a tour group.

We were in building 1 (of 3), which i think was the oldest and non renovated building. The wall was growing mold, and everything in our room was wet. Despite turning the airconditioning up, everything was dripping wet. We went swimming on the first day, wrung our suits out and hung them up to dry... and two days later, everything was still wet. We stayed in other hotels during our trip without airconditioning, and we were used to the humidity, but the rooms had huge feather duvets and feather pillows; NOT good for a humid climate.

Since we were there during the rainy season, of course we experienced nightly storms. The hallways between rooms are open to the elements, as are the stairs. On our first night, there was easily several inches of water covering the ground. Unfortunately, all the floors were TILE--and there were no non slip mats, or even "warning slippery" signs. Wet floors without mats, in the dark=i fell down the stairs on the way to dinner.

The food and service at the buffets made Golden Corral look like a high class experience. Despite it being a huge hotel, there were only 3 buffet areas: a 'cooking show' station, where they have hot food and someone prepares things to order, a hot area (usually with meats), and a salad/cold bar. There were maybe 3 choices for meats, and whatever pitiful vegetables were left at the salad bar. On our first night, it was "asia" themed. We went at 7pm (half an hour into dinner) and the food was pretty wiped out. I waited 20 minutes for pork lumpia... which was inexplicably wrapped in a crepe. Not tasty. The 'sushi' at the salad bar was falling apart and picked over, most of the actual foods at the salad bar were gone, and the other hot station featured teriyaki beef with pineapple (and a LONG line!). That night, after we had been seated and gone to get food, someone took our table. When we finally got reseated, we were unable to get water and had inexplicably soaking wet napkins. The second night was latin themed, and marginally better, but still absurdly crowded. We gave up and decided to wait until the snack bar by the pool (fries, pizza, burgers) opened up.

The drinks (and honestly, part of the reason you go somewhere all inclusive is for unlimited drinks) were pathetic. Since when do you make a pina colada by dumping a shot of rum in a glass, adding bottled pina colada mix, and throwing a straw in? I expected low quality liquor since it was free, but I was surprised by how bad it was.

The hotel boasted that we would never be bored, because they have so many activities. When we looked at the activity schedule these were things like towel folding classes or bingo, and no one in our group did any of them. The hotel did have tons of pools... which were over run by bugs, birds, and screaming babies. Because there are no lifeguards on duty, and the hotel staff really didn't care, people were doing whatever they felt like. We left after a woman with a loud whistle decided to keep blowing it... for over half an hour. Not a fun time. The beach itself was a letdown too--its located between two ports, with murky waters that are unsafe for swimming.

I would never stay at the doubletree puntarenas again. The rooms were damp and dirty, the food and drinks were terrible, and there was nothing to do. We went to costa rica to see all of it's natural beauty, not sit in a third rate hotel. Our experience there could be easily replicated stateside with a few bottles of aristocrat at a motel with a pool, topped off with golden corral for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbirdy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
We were surprised to read your comments about your 2 night stay at our Resort .
Caravan is an important Tour operator and we have received very few bad comments about our service since they have begun to include us in their ten day Costa Rican tour.

The rooms reserved by Caravan in Building One were those received by your group, all requests are respected when possible, As any other Hotel or Resort around the world, a request does not mean that it is an obligation for the hotel.

The other rooms that included King Beds were in another building which had different rates than those paid by the Tour Operator.

We are sorry that your room was not to your expectations, that the humidity was high, we do not have any maintenance report that you called to report the air conditioner for the Duvet and Pillow again, it is sad that you were not pleased but they are DoubleTree Hotel standards around the world.

It is true that at night during the green season, it does rain, this is something normal, but we have no knowledge of any storm lately that has left us with several inches on the floor.
We are sorry for your fall but we have no report of it either to our Guest service manager, reception, or Paramedic. We would have done everything possible to ensure that you were alright or that we could have helped you by having a doctor checked you.

As for the food, we are sorry that you were not pleased with our menu, we try to offer a variety of dishes during our themes night, For our Asian Night, we did have Pork Lumpias and teriyaki Beef, but also had Fried Rice, Sweet and Sour Won Tond, Chop Suey, and our Sushi Bar which all of them are refilled constantly.

As for our Bar service, Our liquor that we served at our bar are Whisky, Passport and Johnny Walker Red label, Rhum Bacardi and Castillo made by Bacardi, as for our Cocktails, As an All Inclusive we do prepare our Frozen Daquiri and Piña Colada Mix ahead of time, so guest don´t have to wait too long for their drinks, this is the same at almost all the ¨All Inclusive Resorts around the World.¨

We are proud of our LIVE AND LET LIVE Activities Program, there are 4 activities offered at the same time, for example Low Impact Aerobics, Spanish Class, Pool Volleyball , and Beach Soccer, it is true that we do offer towel folding and Bingo, but you left out about 20 other activities offered on that day, from Tropical Dance lessons, to Air Rifle Shooting, from Beach Volleyball to Shuffleboard.

We have areas at the resort for every taste, activities at the main pool, or complete peace and quite at the Adult only pool, and another pool with no organized activities but with music in the back ground.

As for the Beach, The Murky waters you talk about is because of the black Volcanic Sand, it is impossible to have blue water with black sand but the water is not only safe to swim in but we also have the Blue Flag award that confirms the quality of our Beach and Water.
As we said at the beginning, we are surprised to read your comments as we truly try our best to satisfy ALL of our guests at the DoubleTree Resort Puntarenas.

Ana Lorena Gonzalez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I recommend this hotel as a way to treat yourself at the end of a Costa Rican trip! The pools were plentiful, large and relaxing to lounge around in (great fun for the kids). Oh and the swim up bars what fun!! The grounds were beautiful with wonderful landscaping, beautiful flowers and fresh grass to enjoy during walks around the resort. Also we saw iguanas and frogs all over the resort area. The buffets had plenty of variety, imagine your fill of delicious fresh mangos, papayas and watermelon every day. Oh and the FRESH CHEESE - YUMMY! The service was great and everyone was so friendly, to really compliment them, we never felt pressure to tip ( a first for us) and they were just very gracious to be tipped. Don't forget to watch the sunset from the pier and enjoy a drink. The nightly entertainment was fun. We visited the town of Puntarenas, yeah maybe it's not the prettiest Costa rican town, but it was filled with culture and interesting to see. Take a taxi, it's just a few miles away. This is a very KID friendly resort. We love it!! And I highly recomment that after seeing the incredible sights that Costa Rica has to offer, end your trip at this resort to get your "chill" on!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank estrellagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Dear Guest

Receive a warm greeting from all the staff of the Hotel Doubletree Costa Rica-Puntarenas.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel facilities.

Our hotel is an excellent destination for those families, who have kids, because we offer lots of fun for every one, for example the little ones can be part of our kids entertainment at the pool, where they can have many activities with others who will be supervised with one of our kids staff member, or maybe they can do some arts and crafts in our kids paradise club.

We just open a new club exclusive for teenagers where they can make activities as a wii, play stations, dance party or maybe some nightly soccer at the beach and a while the parents enjoy our cocktails, activities or just take a walk through our pier and enjoy the sunset.

In our restaurant you can find as you said a variety of local fruits or enjoy our night theme dinner with international and Costa Rican recipes.

Do not forget to carry your camera with you, you can find some friendly iguanas ready to be photographed in all over the hotel green areas !

We are looking forward to having you back to our country so we can continue show you more of our Pura Vida culture.


Ana Lorena González
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed for 6 nights in mid-May and were pleasantly surprised at how friendly and helpful the staff were. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel seems to spend a lot of time cleaning and updating. Being an all-inclusive there is nothing additional you would have to spend. Even their $10/day internet worked for free in our Building 2 room. Since it is free in the lobby, you can connect there and just go to your room.
The rooms are nice and clean, nothing too spectacular, though the beds are very Hilton-comfortable. We were greeted with warm cookies and wine upon check-in and check-out was a breeze as well. The staff will help you with anything you need, even transportation to airport. They take great care of Hilton HHonors members. Cecelia at the desk was the best! Muchas Gracias!
Food was good, much of it in Costa Rican style, but still delicious. Coffee was the best! We did go the Cana Brava Seafood Restaurant but did not find it that fantastic. The Latin American Restaurant was exceptional, however! Breakfast buffet was superb with fresh fruit, omelettes, juices, etc.
They have daily activities and nightly entertainment which was good. The beach was huge, though you will not find white sand there. Rather it is volcanic sand, which was fine with us. The water was really warm and we enjoyed boogie-boarding there. The pools are awesome and the swim-up bar staff are very cool. Drinks are in abundance, good in quality and are quickly served.
We did 4 tours with Varso Travel across the street from the hotel. Highly recommend Chris and Mike there! Tortuga Island tour was the best. The country is so beautiful!

All in all a great time spent in Costa Rica. Would return again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Greetings on behalf of all the staff and management at Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica-Puntarenas.

We are more than happy that you really enjoyed your stay here at Costa Rica and specially at the Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica-Puntarenas.

We’ve been characterized on giving all our guests a truly warm welcome and a special stay with us, offering comfortable nice clean rooms and free internet access at our lobby and main bar, were you can check your emails and enjoy a cocktail. Also if you don’t have a personal computer we can offer you our business center witch it is open 24 hours for your convenience.

As you said in your review we don not have white sand and crystal water due the volcanoe activity but you can also enjoy the view or maybe relax in our always warm sea water, were you can practice boogie board, skimboard or kayak and the hotel will provide you the all the equipments you need, or maybe you will prefer to chill out in any of our three pools.

If you don’t feel in the mood of going out of our hotel, we offer our day and night activities of our all inclusive resort, were you can enjoy aerobics, sports, dance lessons, live music band, dance and comedy shows and much more. And always enjoy our food and cocktails at any time you want.

Also from here you can book many different tours so you can explore Costa Rica nature.

Thank you for staying and enjoying with us your vacations! And we will be expecting you soon.

Ana Lorena González
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I have traveled extensively around the world and I have never felt this strong about saying ¨DO NOT GO HERE¨. I am not the type to complain but the service was horrible, the place had bugs everywhere, the food was horrible, and I felt like I was at the worst hotel in Vegas on a Monday night. The entertainment made me laugh at how bad it was, and I ended up leaving early. They told me they would refund my money and after an hour of waiting in line, to only have no one help me, they refunded my money partially. In my business they call it a run around, and I was fine paying just so I didnt have to be there. My wife would like to add the pool was gross, had hairs in it, and this happened while they were renovating the main bar during the day on Saturday of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peytard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Guest Service Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 13, 2009
Dear Guest

Greetings on behalf of all the staff and management at Doubletree Resort by Hilton Puntarenas.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and please accept our most sincere apology for having our Snack bar under renovation during your stay but the only purpose was to improve our quality of our services. We invite all of our guests to enjoy our New Menu at our Snack bar. We are committed to make our guest’s stay an enjoyable one.

As for our night entertainment, we are sure that you were not well informed about the time that the night shows started as we have 5 dance couples and two incredible Circus performers, we believe that you might have attended our early kids show.

We are thrill to inform that we have our new shows are on Friday and Saturday nights, our Friday show is call A Century of Music where you can enjoy musical dance and comedy numbers from the beginning of the Century until music arrival of the New Millennium.

On Saturday night, you can enjoy a spectacular production, Planet Earth and its 4 elements, a show where we celebrate Planet earth, filled with dances, comedy and circus acts. The other nights we present, Costa Rican Shows, Tropical Caribbean Shows, etc

Our guest can enjoy our daily activities from 9am to 5pm, without forgetting our shows at night.

Thank you for sharing your comments and being our guest!




Ana Gonzalez
Guest Service and Hilton Honors Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
785 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 21 in Punta Arenas
66 reviews
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
1,279 reviews
24.8 mi away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 7 in Tambor
1,111 reviews
24.9 mi away
Croc's Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Property: Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing