We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Hilton: Service on par with a drive thru McDonalds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Hallau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doubletree Hilton: Service on par with a drive thru McDonalds”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are looking for a place where you can sit in a pool full of drunk gringos hopped up on sugar-infused drinks, doubletree Hilton is for you. I was impressed by the general feeling of indifference displayed by hotel staff regarding the fact that we had arrived. Upon arrival, my wife and I were barely noticed as we cued up in the line to check in. After 30 minutes, we were finally greeted and checked into our room with "a view." There are some places you arrive and the feeling is "wow." Our stay at this place was filled with a series of disappointing "oh's." I think the staff at this Hilton establishment know that they are working at a watered down version of something greater. Spending a night at the doubletree in Puntarenas is like going on a date with the buck tooth sibling of some dreamboat; you really wish you had gone for the real thing. Upon check out, they didn't bother to ask how our stay was. Hasta luego doubletree...not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sebers:

Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help us to identify ways we can improve. I understand that you were disappointed about the service you experienced while staying with us.

I sincerely apologize if this caused you any inconveniences. I was especially disappointed that you found our staff to be indifferent towards you and that they did not provide you with the service you deserve. I thank you for bringing this to my attention so that I can personally follow-up with our staff members. Your business is extremely important to us and apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way.

Again, please accept my apologies and I make myself available should you have any further questions.


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    896
    523
    251
    147
See reviews for
1,040
965
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great all inclusive hotel for the price. We stayed in Building 3, the newest building and I am glad we did. Once checked into the resort I asked to look at one of the mini-suites in Building 2, as it was the same price as the deluxe room in Building 3. I would say that the deluxe room is much better than the mini suite. Newer, and has nice tall ceilings. The pools are what make this resort. They are huge and plentiful and have swim up bars. The food was average, but I wouldn't expect anything better at a reasonably priced all inclusive.

Pros: Big, free form pools. Pool bars. Bar tenders will make your drink nice and strong if you ask. Make excellent Bloody Marys. Comfortable beds. Air conditioning is ice cold. Really hot water and great pressure in the bathroom. Plenty of sun chairs to relax on. Service was very good. The breakfast buffet in the morning is quite good; lots of fresh juices and tasty food options.

Cons: Pool bars close at 6pm, so the only place to get a drink is at the main bar, which is right by the buffet, so it is awkward to walk up there in your swimsuit and ask for a drink when people are trying to eat dinner. Beach is not pretty or very good for swimming (as should be expected in this part of Costa Rica). Unless you stay 3 nights or more, you can not get a reservation at the nice restaurants; although we were able to get a reservation at the Latin restaurant for 9pm on our last night (the food wasn't that good, but the ambiance and presentation were excellent). The sprinklers turn on in the early morning and they were very loud from inside our room. There is no room service available.

To sum it up: If you are a rich, easily disturb person, go to the all inclusive in Guanacaste and pay double to triple the price. If you are just looking to relax at the pool, eat and drink all you want, and enjoy the beautiful weather with good company, stay at the Doubletree Puntarenas. I will be going back...

Room Tip: Choose a room in Building 3; it is the newest and best building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LivingLifeByTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear LivingLifeByTravelin:

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and accommodations; Thank you very much for recommending our hotel as destination for other travellers. We always try to make each guest experience a great one, and it is always nice to hear from our guests how they had a relaxing and pleasant stay

Thanks again for sharing your observations about sprinklers and for your detailed review, we cannot wait to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

*Location is great, that´s the first reason I chose this hotel for my honey moon, Is just 1 hour from the Juan Santamaría Airport using the new Caldera Highway. Amazing scenery on road.
*Welcoming always is good in any Hilton all around the world... And Costa Ricans are great friendly people. The cookie as always delicious.
*Nupcial Suite, for my honeymoon I booked a nupcial suite which is very confortable room. Has a nice jacuzzi inside and a king bed with beach view, BUTTTTTTTTTTTTT you need clean windows to look outside, unfortunately they were dirty. I called and they cleaned so good. Then there were no lamps working very well. They changed. There was no mini refrigerator, that´s important and the room did not have any detail like flowers or something special for our honeymoon. I called so upset about I they did the best... The service manager is great and she did her best work on it. Jacuzzi and bathroom were clean all the time.
*Food, the bufete restaurantes are not too good. And locours are the worst quality but the barmans do their best with their own sorprises for you. Hotel says in all inclusive 24 hours but there´s no food to 10 pm until 7 am... only tuna or cheeses sandwich or drinks. Snack bar is great until 10 pm, A LA CARTE restaurantes are great I had the opportunity to eat in the to restaurantes and they are delicious, Caña Brava is seafood and Macondo is international food, both are excellent but you need to be there for at least 3 days to receive a dinner in one of them.
*Entertaiment is the best... a lot of pools, beach front hotel, theather, karaoke nigths, typical Costa Rican nigths, nice disco, comedy, free courses and peace if you need it.
All the hotel is beautiful, hotel staff in amazing people... The hotel didn´t satisfied my needs at the first time but there were people doing their best all the time...
¨there is not a second chance for a first impression¨

Room Tip: Pedir habitaciones con vista en segundo o tercer piso no con jardin porque pasa la gente al lado y e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abner Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Abner Antonio C

First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I thank you very much for selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your honeymoon. I was glad to read from your review that you enjoyed our location and found our staff to be welcoming.

I do however apologize that we did not meet your expectations in regards to our cleaning service and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

I thank you for your business and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was worried after I read some other reviews and almost backed out of our hotel stay, but we had a really nice stay here! We travelled with family-- 2 adults, 2 kids (11 & 14), 2 seniors). We had two rooms in building 3 (which other reviewers recommended). It is further from the lobby and activities, but also more quiet. The room was very clean. There was an occasional crack in the wall or piece of baseboard missing, but nothing that would take away from our enjoyment. The beds were very comfortable and the air-conditioning worked great. We thought that the pools and grounds were lovely. The food was good--nothing world class and nothing terrible. There plenty of choices and we never went hungry. I think it is typical for an all-inclusive resort. We had already learned from friends who have visited other all-inclusive resorts that alcoholic beverages would most likely be weak and the wine would not be top notch. So we had already adjusted our expectations for that and we stopped at a store outside of the San Jose airport and picked up some nice bottles of wine to enjoy while there. The beer was good and we still enjoyed the occasional tropical drink. Also, since we stayed there for 4 nights, we got to eat at Maconda Restaurant which we all enjoyed. There was better wine served (for a price) as well. Based on past reviews, we didn't even try the seafood restaurant so I can't comment on that. There were plenty of activities to try. My kids loved playing soccer on the beach (we also picked up a soccer ball at the Walmart by the SJ airport) and we even made it out to the water a few times (sand is very hot in the middle of the day). We really enjoyed the sunsets sitting under the palm trees and sipping the wine we brought along. Very beautiful! We did not venture outside of the hotel as past reviews and travel guides did not recommend it. Nor did we go into the town of Puntarenas itself. We just enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer. Our kids absolutely loved the hotel--it was there first all-inclusive experience and they loved the freedom to eat whenever they wanted along with all the activities. Guests were a mix of other Costa Ricans(especially during the weekend), Americans, Canadians, and other foreigners. We met a nice family from San Jose and enjoyed practicing our Spanish. Overall, we stayed here to enjoy the warm and sunny weather and relax for a few days. We had a great time. We saved our big adventures (hikes, zip-lining, etc...) for the Arenal area where we headed next.

Room Tip: Building 3 was nice. If you are a wine drinker, bring some of your own bottles of wine along. We b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kappesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear kappesfamily:

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay with us.

It is a motive of happiness hears how all your family enjoyed all the facilities and activities in the Resort.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you here all together once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a nice family resort offering pool side activities and night time entertainment for everyone. The staff were friendly and helpful through out the resort. The only issue I had was with the remote for the TV but it did not matter since I was too tired to watch. This place may be reached by bus and a short cab ride from San Jose within two hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank excellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear exellone:

Thank you very much for visiting us and let us know your opinion. As you mentioned, we take pride in ensuring the guest´s satisfaction, starting with our fresh made chocolate chip cookie and throughout the stay with the little details that make an unforgettable stay, no matter if you visit us for business or leisure.

Is a pleasure to serve you, we will be so happy to have you here soon.

Best regards,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, NC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If your traveling with your family including young children this is not the place for you. After leaving another Hilton property in Guanacaste because they had no electricity we were sent here. This property is more like a compound in the middle of an area of the city you don't want to walk with your family. The hotel itself is very outdated and in desperate need of some serious capital investments for upgrades.

As a Hilton Diamond member this is by far the worst Hilton property I have ever visited. I literally never got out of my rental car. My wife got out to use the restroom after our three hour drive at this hotel and the look on her face combined with my first impression and lack of curb appeal made our decision to keep driving south. We ended up at a resort further south in Puntarenas just north of Jaco and had a great experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Culley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Culley W

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including comments help us to identify ways to improve.

I understand from your review that you found our property to be somewhat out of date, and we truly regret that you did not checked in and see all that our Resort has to offer to all our guest; as you mentioned you never got inside of our hotel because you always remained inside your car.

As a Diamond Hilton Honors member we appreciate your loyalty and feedback because it is incredibly important for us.

Again, I thank you for your review and we sincerely hope you give us an opportunity to stay with us next time you are in Costa Rica.

Sofia Drosos
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is realy run down. There is crack on the wall, frames are not level, the taps are not working ar night so if you need to take a shower do it early.
They only change the tv and the bed and they call this renovation.
The food at the buffet was terrible. They only think that was good was the food at the snack bar.
There is a lot of lezard on the wall.
If you want to walk on the beach you can go far because it is not safe.
The beach is not sand it is all small rock.
You can not go swim on the beach because the waves are to strong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windfl0wer4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear windfl0wer4576

Your comments are always very helpful and valuable for us, you can be sure that we are always looking for ways to update our property to give the best quality of facilities and service as well, in order to achieve full guest satisfaction as our major goal, and we do appreciate your time to write this review to us.

Our dark brown volcanic sand beach is a typical characteristic of our central pacific coast, and one part of the tropical attractions of a Costa Rica. A positive thing about the ocean just in front of our property is that it has one of best surfing long breaks in the world for long board, we have hosted the worldwide “ rabbit kekai long board classic” tournament for many years with great success.

Regarding the safety of our beach that you have mentioned, I would like to clarify that our staff have to give you some precautions when you leave the premises outside of our property, but it is not a dangerous area necessarily, it is just basically a prevention since all the beaches in this country are not private and are open to the public.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
812 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#8 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#5 of 20 in Punta Arenas
67 reviews
20.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,316 reviews
24.8 mi away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 6 in Tambor
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Property: Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing