We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
South Weber, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stay for the money”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice room,great pools, food was good and the people were nice just about everything you could ask for. The beach was not real clean and there is a real ruff surf, everyone just hung out at the pools instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Mgreene:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of our Resort, I am delighted to know that you were felt welcomed with the hospitable attention from our Team Members, as well as that also you enjoyed the hotel premises and it delicious food.

In regards to your comment about the brown sand beach, I would like to explain to you that the reason of this is because this is a natural volcanic sand, typical of our Pacific Coast line in Costa Rica, and it is also suitable for swimming and also for general water activities, as well for sitting on the beach to observe the nicest sunsets in our Pacific Coast.

We really appreciate your comment and we hope have you back in the near future in this your home.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    908
    532
    251
    149
See reviews for
1,051
978
34
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a fantastic location close to San Jose, but next to the Pacific coast. This is a great place to stay if you need food, place to sleep and excellent service. We rented a AWD SUV and headed out to all areas of the western part of Costa Rica. The food is plentiful and provides a variety of options. The rooms are not special...but clean. The resort could use some cosmetic updates such as painting, new fixtures in the bathrooms, but that doesn't diminish the charm of the open air buildings lobby and restaurants. There are several pools, bars and two very good speciality restaurants. My friend is not one to eat fish. However she thoroughly enjoyed the ceviche bar at the seafood restaurant. If you want luxury and gourmet food, this isn't the place for you. If you want a nice facility and excellent service somewhere on the beach and within driving distance of many wonderful places, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for an ocean view room away from the pool areas. Much more quiet and peaceful. Th...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MoondoggynFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Ms. Moondoggyn:

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the DoubleTree Resort by Central Pacific Costa Rica.

We appreciate the time you took to write about your trip in Costa Rica in special about the detail at our, we are thankful for let us be part of your vacation and make the Hilton Hotel family your choice.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the sea food dinner in one of our specialty restaurants.

We hope have you back in the near future in this your home.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific. We went there to visit with our son who is studying abroad in the area. We are Hilton Honors members so we chose a Hilton Hotel in the area. We have stayed at other "all inclusive" hotels before but not a Hilton one. We were shocked at the price for an all inclusive. It is very cheap for everything that you get.

This time of year is their "off season" so there were lots of Costa Rican "Ticos" staying at the hotel for their vacation. Everyone was very nice and courteous to us. Although we could not speak Spanish, we were able to get by with the help of our son and also the staff who spoke English. We were impressed with the hospitality and incredible customer service especially with Gabriela Porras Guest Service & HHonors Guests Manager´s Assistance. She was wonderful. She upgraded our room to Building 3 which had an amazing view of the sunsets over the water. See attahed photo.

We had rain the first two days due to Hurricane Sandy but after that passed the weather was awesome. We had sunshine and beautiful days the remainder of the week.

The resort is beautiful, the staff is very friendly, the rooms were very clean and we loved seeing the towels in different designs when they made up the rooms (i.e., swans). We were not sure what to expect of the food since we were not familiar with Costa Rica but it was delicious.

I cannot say enough about how pleased we were with everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Rick P,

Thank you for your kind comment. I am happy to read that you had an amazing time in our Resort, and It is good to know that our all inclusive package have made your stay more pleasant.

In addition to this, is for me a pleasure to know that you where honored of your loyalty, you were benefited with an upgraded room assisted by Gabriela, also she was distinguished by her outstanding service, this is the reason why the culture of service, is one of the most important goals of all Team Members at Doubletree.

We will be glad to have you with us once again in the near future, thank you again for letting us be part of your holiday.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am honestly shocked by the bad reviews of this hotel. We have stayed here 4 times and love it each visit. This time we booked through expedia and got a BEAUTIFUL room for $145.00 total on the beach with a private porch. The man that wrote the review about the water being brown has obviously never been to Costa Rica, it just happens during rainy season. This is not the kind of place you spend a week at, just a few days. If you are a surfer, this is the place to go! Great for long boarding. The food is really good and they have a HUGE variety. At night time in the bar area they had a good band playing. If you have children this is the perfect place to take them, there are alot of families that visit the resort. For all inclusive its a GREAT deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FBBHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear ayn4387:

Receive our Best Regards. For all our Team Members it is a true honor to read that we meet the expectations created from old reviews.

I am so glad to know that the Costa Ricans´ charisma catches you, as well as the biodiversity of our country. Your feedback made us feel happy and It is very satisfactory to know that we could achieve your expectations and provide you a pleasant experience and you have been satisfactory, your comments made us feel happy.

Your comments will be shared with our staff and I can assure you it will be greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to having you in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went here during the summer months so it was the wet season in Costa Rica. The sun didn't really shine on the beach, which was disappointing, but what can you do? The drinks weren't terrible, but not that strong either. The pool was nice...the rooms were below average for a Doubletree name hotel. The FOOD WAS GREAT! The resort did a good job with the entertainment. One of my biggest issues is the proximity of the hotel to international airports. The drive to/from San Jose was 60-75 minutes and you have to find your own contract transportation company. Our driver did not speak english, but he was still really nice and considerate. I wouldn't go back because it wasn't anything special, I'd probably go stay in San Jose and do something different instead of driving to the coast for the beach and "all-inclusive" resort. However, for someone who has never been, it still may be pretty fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 539ChristopherA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Christopher,

Greetings on behalf of staff and Management Team of Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific, Costa Rica.

We really appreciate your time to share your experience in our Resort.

Our intention is to offer the highest quality service and convenience to all our valued guests during each visit. We are so glad to have you in our property for your holidays and to know your opinion about the great food and fun entertainment that you mention in your comment.

It is a pleasure to serve you, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and demonstrate you once again the commitment of satisfaction we have with all our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We came here as part of a package deal. We read the reviews here, looked at the photos, seemed like it would be a great place. Costa Ricans are extremely proud of their country and always say positive things about everything about their country . . . except Puntarenas. So many locals spoke very poorly of this area and were in fact embarrassed of it. We then came in with low expectations, we left with even lower.

The water color is brown, we found many articles of trash in the water, even outside of the water the beach was unpresentable. The resort itself had awful entertainment, terrible food, in the pool I stepped on 3 plastic cups, straws everywhere in pool, trash left everywhere outside of pool. We have been to very nice all-inclusive resorts. I expected much more.

The front desk was not very receptive to our needs either. We arrived very early at 10am so I totally understand a room was not available, even though we were in a standard room. Our travel agent told us most hotels during the offseason will offer upgrades if you politely ask. We are very pleasant, friendly people. The gentlemen did smile and say no because our reservation only shows a standard room. The couple who was also shuttled to the resort from La Fortuna did have an upgrade room and were shown to their room immediately. They were nice and allowed us to use their room to change. So for 4 and a half hours, we checked the site but we were ready to rest in our room because it started to rain. We asked again if a room was available because it was obvious it was the offseason as the resort was obviously not full. The same gentlemen said they would have nothing available until 4pm. We were polite and said thank you. At 4:30, we returned, again with no one in line, a half hour past check-in and we asked is a room available, the same gentleman said "Let me check if anything is available." I know he was not intending to be rude but that is an awful thing to say after waiting 6.5 hours for a hotel that is not full. We were very irritated at that point.

The food is awful for breakfast and lunch, dinner is decent, although I did get sick from the sea bass on seafood night.

Also, we saw signs to not bring your valuables to the beach. A security guard would chase you down if you decide to go for run on the beach with a waiver release form to release them of any liability if something were to happen to you. We decided not to leave the premises.

The only highlights were the wait staff at dinner. They were very friendly, especially Eddie. Please read this and please look at beaches in Guanacaste or the Carribbean side. So many countless Costa Ricans were embarrassed of Puntarenas and told me next time, I should go to these other places because they represent Costa Rica much better. People staying there told us the same thing unprovoked. Please take this advice. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, please upgrade, the standard rooms were musty and had cold showers. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear PhillipRivers:

We really appreciate your time taken into this review. As a matter of fact, I would like to share you that Central Pacific coast is famous for its nice surfing spots, as well as the cruise dock at Puntarenas downtown; visited for more than 500 cruises a year (October to May every year).

At DoubleTree Resorts we are characterized by our warm and caring culture, for that reason I am glad to know that Eddie showed you that outstanding service.

Also, we always are willing to hear all comments and take them as a way to grow in our service and keep doing our best every day.

Thank you very much for sharing your point of view with Tripadvisor community.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visit this all inclusive hotel once in a while, mainly because it's the closest to Costa Rica central valley. It takes around 80 minutes to get there, and once you get in you don't have to worry for meals and entertainment. Although it has limited choices, it is ok if you don't mind some gaps. Food is average, so are the rooms and service. Gym is just renewed and it is great, the best thing in the facility. Pools are nice and snacks are good, so you will never be hungry.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear gjtrips,

Greetings on behalf of staff and Management Team of Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific, Costa Rica.

We really appreciate your time to share the satisfactory experience.

Our intention is to offer the highest quality service and convenience to all our valued guests during each visit. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the food, our service and special that you noted the new look of the Fitness Center of the Doubletree by Hilton.

It is a pleasure to serve you, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and demonstrate you once again the commitment of satisfaction we have with all our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#6 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
20.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
6.3 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#10 of 20 in Punta Arenas
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Property: Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing