We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cooked breakfast ever!”
Review of The Board Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lealholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Board Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Lealholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best cooked breakfast ever!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely room. Fantastic food, fresh fish was wonderful and the chips were awesome!!Great range of cheeses! Welcoming hosts. Can't wait to go back. Walks from the door were beautiful. Set in a delightful village. Combine it with a visit to Esk Valley Theatre in August.

Room Tip: This is a very good pub don't expect an early night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    38
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
135
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have visited the Board regularly over the last 18 months, this time for a one night stay. It is a place where we feel cared for from the moment we enter to the moment we leave. Karen, Alistair and their staff do everything to make one (and their dog) feel at home. It is a pub geared to the community where the locals are always happy to have a chat and give you information about the area. This time, a special moment on a very early Sunday morning dog walk, was standing on the bridge over the river Esk , full of colour due to recent rainfall, watching the salmon run, the first time we have seen this. The village is lovely, with easy access to the moors and coast, the beer is good, the food is good ( including a superb breakfast) , mainly because of excellent local produce and sound cooking. If you want to see an English pub at it's best look no further.

Room Tip: If you like a larger room or prefer a bath to a shower ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smking323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This pub is a must a warm welcome awaits you in a lovely location by the river & the food is all cooked fresh & is excellent too we had the gammon it was out of this world & well worth every penny but make sure you book as its very popular

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyScoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for one night and we were overwhelmed by the warm welcome we received. Although our room was quite small it was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. Our dinner and breakfast were very good and the local produce was marvelous. A big well done and thankyou

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my partner have been to this quaint country pub twice now. On our 2nd visit to Lealholm we popped in for a bite to eat after wandering around the village taking photos. The bar area is lovely, not too dark as someone seems to have written before and some nice pictures on the walls of surrounding areas with the cast and crew of Heartbeat. The dining room is spacious and that AGA in their, wow I want it. We decided to sit out on the back overlooking the river and its a nice touch to the pub, being able to sit outside in the sun having lunch whilst watching people having fun in the river below. Our order was taken by a lovely woman who couldn't do enough for us, and we ordered the Goats Cheese with Chutney sandwiches and my partner ordered Wensleydale with Coleslaw. When they came out we couldn't believe it, the sandwiches were like doorsteps, the bread was proper farmhouse bread, and the cheese an inch thick along with the homemade chutney and coleslaw, amazing!! They are the best sandwiches in Yorkshire. I ordered drinks after our lunch and saw they did a raspberry cider, its called flat cider and it its dry but very nice along with icecubes but if cider isn't your thing they do the good old Black Sheep Ale in there. All in all the Board Inn is a very lovely pub to eat and drink in and the staff are very welcoming. (the garden is very nice, im saying this as I mean it ,because someone commented badly on it) 10stars I give this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level Contributor
391 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Board is set in a picturesque location overlooking the river. The bar area is rather dark, but the dining room is much brighter and lighter. There is a pleasant outside terrace.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. The menu features local produce, but on the day we arrived we were disappointed by the lack of imagination in the menu on offer that lunch time. The main ingredients of the meals were of good quality and the wine list provided an adequate choice. I did not think that the main courses offered good value for money compared to one or two other establishments in the area that offer good food.

We did not stay here so cannot comment on the rooms. Parking close to the Inn is limited, although there is a public car nearby.

Our experience was OK, but this is not a place I will rush back to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a one night stay here last Sunday. What a fabulous find! We were made so welcome by all the staff. I cannot think of one negative comment. Our room was lovely with everything we needed & more. We had a super meal in the restaurant which was very reasonably priced. Lealholm is a beautiful village & we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne_lewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lealholm
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
712 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
2.3 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
87 reviews
4.0 mi away
Church House Farm
Church House Farm
#1 of 3 in Danby
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Property: The Board Inn
Address: Village Green, Lealholm YO21 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Lealholm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lealholm
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Board Hotel Lealholm
The Board Inn Lealholm, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing