We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Friendly Place”
Review of The Board Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lealholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Board Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Lealholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

In the beautiful picturesque village of Lealholm sits the Board Inn next to the river.
Having dined here many times, I have to say it serves the finest food with home grown or locally sourced produce. The warmth, friendliness and attention to detail from the staff is 2nd to none and I have to say serves the finest sunday lunch I have ever tasted at a very reasonable price indeed.
Do yourself a favour, have a drive out and discover the Board Inn....you will not regret it

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for The Board Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 289 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

We are so lucky as the Board is one of two excellent local pubs that we have, the other being the Fox and Hounds at Ainthorpe. Took my father in law and his wife for Sunday lunch last week and all four of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Alistair and his team in the kitchen produce excellent quality food ,almost all sourced locally and reasonably priced. It is a lovely pub with friendly staff and regulars and is beautifully situated next to the River Esk. Go on, give it a go, you will not regret it. Dogs and children are welcomed and there is nothing nicer than being in front of a roaring fire in winter in the Board.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank johnallananderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

What a fantastic find.
Brilliant accomodation, awsome food quality and quantity, service welcoming and relaxing nothing to much trouble. Friendly natives too!
Outstanding value.
Great for exploring the area.
Definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay for one night but we will be booking again for a longer stay because we found this place to be excellent.

The lounge room was very welcoming with the fireplace lit and big comfy lounge chairs. The dinner was exceptional – the quality and presentation of the food was at a Michelin star level.

The breakfast was well worth it too. We enjoyed the homemade jams, fresh coffee, croissants, and the full English breakfast (fantastic bacon and sausages).

The owners were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our first visit here was for a weekend in the depths of winter on my wife's birthday. We received a very warm welcome from our hosts and nothing was too much trouble. When they found out it was her birthday, they left a souvenir mug and home-made biscuits for my wife in our room. The room was comfortable and the snug bar had a roaring log fire. The restaurant was far beyond our expectations - not pub food but superior English cooking, with the provenance of all the fresh ingredients, from home-reared beef to Whitby fish (and even the vegetables) listed on a blackboard in the bar. Yorkshire-size helpings! The location is perfect for visiting Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors, and the pub stands in a picturesque setting by the River Esk. Couldn't fault it - we've booked again for the autumn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent two nights here recently and went walking in the surrounding area. Stayed in room 5 which was a lovely 4 poster with bathroom and a little sitting room. Plenty of tea and coffee, a bar of chocolate and some homemade shortbread await. If you are sensitive to noise then ask for a room that is not over the main bar area as there as you can hear some noise from below. The bedroom of room 5 however is perfectly quiet and over the restaurant area.

A lovely warm welcome when we arrived from Karen in the bar area and we felt like we fitted in very quickly. In a small village pub you would imagine that as a stranger you would feel uncomfortable but this is quite the opposite and the local community seem very friendly.

What makes this a good place to stay however is the food. With almost nothing around without someone having to drive, having a restaurant (a very good one at that) on your doorstop is fantastic. A word of warning - the full english is not for the faint hearted! There is a lot of food however it really will last you until supper. We ate both evenings in the restaurant and would happily have ate for many more. The scallops were sublime, the beef excellent and the puddings sizeable. Plenty of choice, all freshly cooked by Alistair and his team and a good selection of wines, at reasonable prices, to go with it all. If you can manage it after all the indulgence, sit down in front of the fire and enjoy one of nearly 60 odd whiskies.

A lovely weekend walking on the moors and around some beautiful scenery, complemented by a very warm welcome and good food at the Board Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mynameisalwaystaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

One word....superb, Alistair & Karen a massive thank you, it does not come much better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lealholm
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,079 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
743 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arncliffe Arms
Arncliffe Arms
#3 of 6 in Glaisdale
108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
91 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eskdale Inn
Eskdale Inn
#1 of 2 in Castleton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: Village Green, Lealholm YO21 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Lealholm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lealholm
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Board Hotel Lealholm
The Board Inn Lealholm, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing