We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place, check on prices as they quote euros. Very odd thing to do.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya
Ranked #7 of 12 Deniyaya B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I will start this on the value of the rooms they charged.
The room was 36 euros a night + the normal 10% service charge. this did include breakfast
The rooms were very clean, the water was hot and the beds looked new. The view was stunning.
It was very quiet and peaceful
The rain forest walk that was sortted out by the place was very good.

Down sides are
The walk to the place may put some people off, tuk tuks and vans do not cover the last 300 meters.
The food was very bland.
Of the five meals we had here they got it wrong twice.
The location means it is hard to eat elsewhere with out some effort.
They made no other effort to do anything else other than the rain forest walk.
It was the only place that quoted the room in Euros.

When I was showed the rooms I understood the room to be 3600 rupees a night, while this was more than the guide price in travel guide book LP this did include breakfast.
When we went to pay the bill the cost of two nights equaled 6500 a night including the service charge. I was told I was quoted a price in Euros. We have been in Sri Lanka for eight weeks backpacking and the most expensive room in this time was 3700 including service charge. If we knew the price was this amount we would not have stopped here also the amount paid for the service delivered was way below what it should have been.
Check the price

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our three teenagers this summer and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The rooms were large and clean and the food was great. Hosts were friendly and helpful. You do have to walk the last little stretch to the hotel but when we were arrived there was a whole bunch of kids hanging around who will carry your bags up for a few rupees. It's worth it for the fantastic views across the hills and the wildlife all around. The visit to Sinharaja is a must if you like wildlife. The hotel organised it all for us including a fantastic guide. He was great with the kids and really knew how to spot stuff. He grabbed a snake out of the trees and gave it to the kids to hold which was a highlight for them. Don't miss the waterfall for a spectacular swimming venue. Downside of the walk was the leeches (despite tucked in trousers and lots of salt), we all suffered from them, yet the next family through didn't get any so maybe we cleared the way for them :-) They don't really do any harm though so once you get over the squeamish bit not much to worry about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moglet73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not easy to find but well worth the effort. Set amongst the tea plantation at the edge of the forest you can spot rainforest fauna and flora without going anywhere! Host can organise rainforest trips to Sinharaja and are very hospitable. Lovely food - look forward to being able to visit again when the spa centre is finished - currently under construction although this didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Located about 20 minutes walk in the nature, and 5 minutes by car from deniyaya. A " lost" house in the nature, surrounded by rice and tea fields. Ok, it is right that you shouldn't have big hand cases for the last 100 meters. Even though somebody might help you !

Close to the sinharaja national park (20 minutes tuktuk), they can organize a walk for you (3 hours is really the minimum )

The hotel is very simple, in the good way. Large and very nice bedrooms. Very peaceful location. Good food and very very friendly family. All that for such a reasonable price (36€ new rooms with bfast) What else ??

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeroNic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Up a narrow path through the beautiful tea plantation, lies this magnificent hotel owned by German Sri Lankans. The rooms mostly have 3 beds, of which two are very large which makes up for a wonderful sleep at night. The rooms are all furnished with stylish wooden furniture. The bathroom, with solar-powered showers, is very clean and modern. The family that runs this place is very nice, and their cooking is amazing. If you're fond of the tasty Sri Lankan curries, you shouldn't skip this place. Even more, this hotel is convediently located 10 minutes from the town of Deniyaya, and 20 minutes from the amazing Sinharaja Rainforest, which is great for hiking and during the rainseason for spotting animals. A 30 minute walk from the hotel lies the Jungle Temple. During the walk you can enjoy the views of some great paddy fields and the wonderful tea plantations in the area.
So if you're looking for a very comfortable stay and you're a real fan of great nature, this is your place to be!

Room Tip: Though most rooms have great views, the ones on the top floor have the best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsGeraets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

You feel very welcome in this nice lodge surrounded by nature! The food is really good and the staff will help you with everything! They walked with us up to a nice jungle temple and we were invited by the sister of one of the employees to come over and drink thee. They just finished a nice spa, build on a rock.. looks great!

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lieskusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in july 2012; It is not easy to reach the place; it is a steep walk through the thea-plantatio,to get to the hotel so we decided to leave the luggage in the car and just took what we needed in a small bag; But it was worth it; very nice place, very lovely staff , we ate 2 times rice and curry which was not too spicy and for my dauhter they prepared an nice noodle dish... We are a family with 2 children and the room was big and specious with all the comfort we needed.
After the walk in the sinharaja rainforest it was nice to drink a lion beer on the terras with the sound of birds on the background. The children also loved the dog; There are building an extra viewpoint so the place will even get better

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deniyaya
17.9 mi away
Boulder Garden Hotel
Boulder Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kalawana
150 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 12 in Deniyaya
326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sinharaja Rest
Sinharaja Rest
#2 of 12 in Deniyaya
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sinharaja Forest Edge
Sinharaja Forest Edge
#3 of 12 in Deniyaya
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deniyaya National Motel
Deniyaya National Motel
#5 of 12 in Deniyaya
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eco Villa - Sinharaja
Eco Villa - Sinharaja
#4 of 12 in Deniyaya
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya

Address: Temple Road, Deniyaya 81500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Deniyaya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Deniyaya
Price Range: $25 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya Hotel Deniyaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing