We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location and Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riva Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

One of the best places we have visited.... The location was simply awesome. The Beach Front cottage provides a magnificent view of the sea & the beach. If someone is looking for a secluded, calm & serene place for holidays then this is it. The best thing that was the photographs posted in the website for Riva Beach resorts were not manipulated and it displayed what the place is in reality. Would visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose Beach Front Cottages....they have a superb view and very peaceful !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    104
    28
    25
    23
See reviews for
82
105
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Riva beach resort is an excellent resort in the northern most goa, at Mandrem beach near Arambol area of Goa. We stayed there for three days from13th to the 16th Feb.

Pros:
1. On the beach property, separated by a small river with a wooden bridge leading to the beach giving it a scenic look.
2. Most rooms with a clear beach view.
3. Mandrem beach is a quiet clean beach, ideal for people looking for a peaceful time rather than the commercial madness of Baga or Calangute.
4. Decent food options in the hotel and the shack outside.

Cons
1. Some of the cottages do not have a good view, avoid them if possible.
2. Breakfast is not a buffet but pre-fixed menu.
3. Travel to Baga, Calangute


Overall a recommended property for someone looking for a good 3 star property.

Room Tip: Delux rooms, Ocean facing rooms, Suites are good. Courtyard cottage Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhattjignesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I booked an overnight stay at Riva as a birthday/thank you present for my sister and husband, 5/2/14. On arrival the management upgraded our rooms. The rooms are lovely, flat screen tv and facilities to make a cup of tea. The sound of the sea is so comforting. We had a fantastic couple of days, and staying at RIVA only added to it. We will hopefully be back next year

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms while we where there and all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Though stayed only for a very short period the stay was comfortable & good. There were many minor glitches like faulty bath shower, the no so plesant smell of freshly painted roof n furnitures, no dustbin, no water boiler for complementary tea n coffee but over all, all the complaints were attended to as soon as asked. Its a beautiful resort and the beach is amazing ! Not ideal for ppl who wants to spend time at the other popular beaches. Food was good. Complementary breakfast was fine. The reception could be a bit more pleasant

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Resh0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been there for 3 days and was quite happy with the location of the place. I was not that much happy with the service but it may be due to off season as no swimming pool, no wi-fi and room service was lazy. (all these services where mentioned during online booking).

The rooms where clean and very beautiful and i recommend this place by considering the quality of property and its location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jigneshgohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I booked this hotel as the pictures on web looked great and things could be great if it was not so badly managed.
I booked beech front cottage and was given a room next to construction site with no beech views at all and it had very strong paint smell and was half finished..on questioning the manager first he tried to convince me that the room I have been given is the beech front cottage!! Later on he agreed to move us to cottage the following day as there was no availability ...Hotel manager offered us free meal which we refused as we just wanted what we booked for..we did get to move to the cottage the following day and the view and room was very nice however house keeping was terrible . We had to start asking them to clean our room in the morning and after several visits to the manager the room would be cleaned by late evening or night...We just wanted a relaxing holiday with children but had to argue with staff at every stage...
Also the bathroom had sewer smell ...
Restaurant is separately managed and is aweful...food and service is terrible .There us usually one guy serving and you are lucky if you get your food after 1 hour of ordering and when it arrived it was disgusting...
It could be a lovely place as it has the sea views only if you get to the right room but the management is terrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simranjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The cottages have a brilliant view to the beach. The cottages are not too acoustic, so I could hear the neighboring room. But that hardly mattered as we spent most of our time outdoors. The resort has some beautiful spaces to loiter around. The staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonal_2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandrem
1.4 mi away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
11.7 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rococco Ashvem
Rococco Ashvem
#1 of 5 in Pernem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mandrem Beach Resort
Mandrem Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Mandrem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
#2 of 12 in Mandrem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Beach Resort

Property: Riva Beach Resort
Address: Junas Wado,Mandrem | North Goa, Mandrem 403527, India
Location: India > Goa > Mandrem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riva Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riva Beach Resort situated right on the white sand beach of mandrem,one of the finest beach in Goa. we have world class coco wood cottages and ocean palms luxury rooms,all the rooms have a sea view, aircontioning,hot shower,32"lcd,minibar,phoneetc..we provide private sun beds and beach service for all our room customers.we have Buddha grill muti-cusine restaurant where we serve finest food and best service.we also have ayurvedic massage center and yoga thearapy centerother facilities like bike on hire,doctor on call,forieng exchange etc are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Beach Resort Mandrem, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing