We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place, Experience & Service. Highly Recommend!”
Review of Amarya Shamiyana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandrem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarya Shamiyana
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mandrem
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place and the staff. The perfect mix of luxury and comfort with a unique, special & authentic vibe. The staff were all so helpful, sincere and eager to help with anything from beach and restaurant recommendations to shopping tips and more. Alice, Evarista, and Matthieu were all very welcoming and made our stay extra special and comfortable. The grounds and tents are pristine, you feel as if you are staying in a magical little abode - the grounds are covered in soft sand and palm trees, the tents are so clean and beautiful inside, and the lounge area and shop are whimsical and pretty.

The location is also very convenient, it is just down the way from a very nice beach, fairly secluded and very nice so no need to beach hop and search out other beach locales, you can have it all right at your fingertips with Amarya.

We will definitely be back, one of our favorite spots we have stayed in all of our travels thus far and one we do intend to return to. They also have a few other properties in India including Delhi which we are planning on checking out hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Exceptional, beautiful, peaceful beach, few tourists and the best staff I’ve ever seen! Everything was perfect from beginning to end. On the advice of the hotel we rented a Royal Enfield to visit the most beautiful places in the area, very successful experience. We had the chance to sleep in one of these four and beautiful Mughal tent, charming, cozy, ventilated, with a lovely terrace, sun loungers, romantic candles, Wi-Fi, and we even had the possibility of listening to music. This concept is an absolute success, the staff there is too much, and everything is harmonious and beautiful. This is one of my best holiday memories. We will come back here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraChamp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location was excellent, just about everything was within walking distance. All staff was very friendly and helpful. The room wasn't huge but the bed and pillows were perfect and clean. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pleasant and helpful service! Nice checking area and service! Tent was so fun! We will be back. Kids really enjoyed the atmosphere and the beach toys. Loved the cafe too! Fully recommend staying here! Families or couples, both will enjoy the originality and privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaniekells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've been home 3 weeks now and still talk about this wonderful place every day. It really is a unique experience staying here and Mattieu and his small team of staff go out of their way to make sure everything is just perfect, so much so we felt that we arrived as guests and left as friends. If, like us, you have no private transport a short journey lift can be arranged on the back a scooter, otherwise taxis are cheap. The breakfasts are not cheap but everything is absolutely delicious and plentiful, as were the couple of lunches we tried. The tents are huge, with AC and fans, spotless clean, well equipped and have the most wonderful ayurvedic toiletries provided. I loved them so much I stocked up on them from a nearby shop before returning home. It's not really a hotel, just 4 very private but similarly styled tents. Even the reception is a tent with stylish furnishings, books and magazines - "tres chic" Plus there is a gorgeous if a little expensive boutique on site. The icing on the cake here is that it is just steps away from the fabulous La Plage restaurant (also French run but no connection). The food here is gourmet, no doubt about it, we ate our way through the menu over the course of a week and every dish looked and tasted delicious, all for a fraction of what it would cost in Europe. The massages and other body treatments from Arti (a hut wedged between the hotel and La Plage) are divine. In short if you're looking for somewhere to simply drop anchor and do little else other than chill out then this is the place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOULOU50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful large luxury tents with aircon ! Located just behind La Plage restaurant on Ashwem beach, we stayed four nights in the gold tent, and enjoyed it immensely. A really good breakfast with plenty of options and a super helpful manager (Mathieu) informed us of some lovely places to visit (Fort Tiracol and Kerrin beach for example) and some great restaurants.
The four tents are on a concrete base, with luxurious bathrooms and bedrooms, really great surroundings.
The only slight drawback is that, being in a tent, you’re more aware of any surrounding noise – morning cockerels and birds for example. It’s a great location and all the staff were super helpful, including the night security who handily dabbed our scooter seat dry as we headed off into the night. !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. We were in the pink tent. We really enjoyed the freshly made food ,the the attention to detail from all the friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Bed was very comfortable and these really were luxury tents. Would we come again ? Most definately. Thank you very much for a wonderful end to our holiday. Priscilla and Iain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandrem
0.2 mi away
Sur La Mer
Sur La Mer
#1 of 16 in Morjim
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montego Bay Beach Village
0.7 mi away
Boomerang Resort
Boomerang Resort
#13 of 14 in Mandrem
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riva Beach Resort
Riva Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Mandrem
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
#2 of 14 in Mandrem
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarya Shamiyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Shamiyana

Address: Asvem Beach | Next to La Plage Restaurant, Mandrem 403527, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Mandrem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mandrem
Price Range: $225 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarya Group is proud to announce that Amarya Graden has moved to Goa! Amarya has never been so indulgent... Amarya Shamiyana, a beachside hideaway on Asvem Beach, offers four lavish Moghul inspired tents with all the comforts of a modern luxury hotel while indulging our guests with a sleep closer to the shores...and to the stars. Each of our tented suites covers an area of 64 square meters and is replete with its own verandah, two intimate salons, complimentary wifi, en-suite bathroom (with a sumptuous rain shower) and of a spacious air-conditioned bedroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amarya Shamiyana Mandrem, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing