We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination - feeling at home, but everything catered for”
Review of The Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Vallorcine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect combination - feeling at home, but everything catered for”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed in this beautiful chalet in July 2013, having been guests of Steve and Helene in their other chalets some years ago. Where previously I'd been young and single, now I had hubby and two young kids in tow. Reassuringly, everything had been catered for, down to a big glass of red wine for us on arrival, and toys in the cot for our 4 month old baby.
We stayed in the family room, which had ample space for our luggage, kids beds, kids toys etc. Beds were really comfortable and big, an important factor for my rather tall husband.
Breakfast offered a comprehensive choice of pastries, spreads, bacon and eggs etc.
The chalet setting and surrounds are beautiful, backing right onto the forest, and surrounded by alpine views. Easy walk to some lovely cafes, a pet farm and some nature trails.
Helene and Steve's elder son, Sebastian was also a natural with our 3 year old, generously sharing his old toy cars and playing with him in the garden.
Steve and Helene were their usual, hospitable selves. Would thoroughly recommend, to couples or families alike. We'll be back for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at The Guest House after a long drive down from England. A friendly welcome from Helen awaited us, along with a very comfortable room, with lovely touches like a selection of books, warm blankets and plenty cushions. Having a large sitting-room with tea and coffee on tap was very welcome. A filling breakfast set us up for a day's walking. We spent another two nights at The Guest House after several days walking and camping and really appreciated the chance to relax and luxuriate in home comforts (fabulous bath!). Chatting to Helen and the two boys made us feel very at home. This is a gem of a place, well worth a visit to experience a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A very relaxing stay in very comfortable accommodation. Peace and tranquility with magnificent views of the Mont Blanc range which are particularly stunning in the evening. Great breakfast and Helen is a lovely host. I have left a bottle of beer cooling in the stream for when we return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only stayed here for the one night on our way to Geneva airport but we enjoyed every minute. The views from the house are spectacular and there are lots of wonderful walks on the doorstep. Our party stayed in two bedrooms and everything was perfect- the rooms were extremely comfortable and very well equipped and the breakfast was delicious in the morning. We travelled with our 1 year old daughter and Helen the owner provided us with lots of toys and a baby carrier to help us make the most of our stay. We thoroughly recommend this guest house and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Steve and Helen have created the ideal bed and breakfast in this beautiful corner of France: warm hospitality, comfortable rooms, a relaxing environment and a great breakfast. The natural beer/wine cooler is fantastic.
We have come here two summers in a row and feel that we have found the perfect base for our hiking excursions. Chamonix is only a short trip by car or public transport if one craves the action.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent three nights here after moving from the vastly over-priced Les Chalets de Phillipes. We loved our room and the atmosphere at the house, which was very homely. The house is set well back from the road and is very peaceful, it's in a lovely little village away from the tourisy craziness of Chamonix but close enough for regular visits. We slept with the window open at night for fresh mountain air, and it was so peaceful.

Helen was a wonderful host and the breakfasts she made were very generous. Little touches like free tea and coffee, the odd chocolate bar and fruit put out, make all the difference to how welcome you feel. We felt so comfortable at the house that we continually failed to make it out hiking for the long days that we planned!

There are only four guest rooms in the top two floors of the house (separated from the family's living area downstairs) so it's never crowded and there's a nice communal living area with access to the kitchen. It is a guest house, not a hotel, so you really are living with the other guests and can hear most things through the walls of the room, but I think that the people who stay there seem to respect the place and reflect back the trust that Helen and Steve put in them so we found everybody to be pretty considerate. I think that it would be a great place to rent out in its entirety as a group or family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a fabulous time staying at the guest house. It is located a 2 minute walk off the main road, in a lovely secluded spot surrounded by trees and alpine flowers. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was a shared sitting room and lots of places to sit outside or on a balcony in the evening after a hard days walk enjoying relaxing and reading. The owners were fabulously helpful and friendly. Are native English speakers, which meant that they could give detailed advise on outdoor activities. They are very experienced in outdoors activities (skiing, mountaineering and mountain biking) and also have contacts for guides etc. So for anyone wishing to do outdoor activities (which is needless to say limitless in that location), while staying in a lovely hotel in comfort, this is an ideal hotel and location. We walked straight out of the hotel up big mountains, including several alpine huts, such as the one en route to the Buet and the Albert Premier Hut. A short drive away are limitless numbers of famous mountains and mountaineering locations, such as the Mer de Glass etc etc. We were there in mid June, and the unusual amounts of snow in 2013 coupled with a very cold spring, meant that there was still snow on the ground and the alpine meadows were full of wonderful flowers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlanDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallorcine
8.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,106 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 3 le Morzay, 74660 Vallorcine, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Vallorcine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vallorcine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing