We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've had an awesome week in this Residence!
Having booked the vacation as a gift, I cannot judge its quality/price ratio, but it has everything you would expect from a quality residence including some small shops inside the building: as the town is pretty much small and a little far from nearby large supermarkets (the closest should be in Argentière), it was a quite helpful thing.
The staff is very friendly, helpful and two-language speaking: on the first day they greeted us with a complete tour of the building and a welcome drink.
Underground parking spaces are a little too small, but the car is rarely needed as the residence is 200m from the railway station (free of charge with the guest card, provided at the reception).
Our room was clean, with a balcony, full of commodities (especially in the kitchen), and was VERY large (I booked a 3 people apartment but they gave me a 4-people apartment on two floors, free of charge!): it also had free fast WiFi despite being at floor +3 (far from the reception). Cabled Internet was also an option on request, but we haven't tried that. There's a soothing background music in EVERY hallway of the building, even in the ski lockers room!
Two towels per person are provided (one small and one large): there's also a washing/drying service in the reception and a drying rack inside the apartment.
Room noise was not a problem, even if the residence was full of families with small children.
Beds are better than expected (by reading the reviews), but they were so warm I frequently had to sleep with the window open and the heating off, in April!
The 32 free movies selection on the satellite TV was actually quite scarce, still it kept us entertained for several nights. Several languages were available but no subtitles, though.
I haven't tried the spa and the sauna, but the fitness room was a nice touch (among other tools, it has a treadmill, a rower, a stepper, mattresses, benches and even a (short) climbing wall), despite being too hot. Swimming pool is nicely heated but frequently gets busy later in the afternoon. The patinoire is nice for sunny spring days: giant chess/checkers are available, deckchairs, tables and also a ping-pong table.
No restaurant inside, only a cafe, but we were autonomous. On the last day, we had dinner at the "L'Arrêt Bougnête", INSIDE the nearby railway station: very recommended!
For skiers, the Vallorcine gondola is in very close proximity and leads you to an easy area, not very crowded and well suited for beginners or families (blue and red pistes). Intermediate and expert skiers probably would like to ski elsewhere, though, unless if they like off-piste runs.
It's hard to find anything which can be improved! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALMBLA, Responsable commercial at Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Residence further to your stay in Vallorcine and for sharing your wonderful experience !

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Vallorcine Mont Blanc

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

Clotilde Hezez
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 408 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am delighted that we picked Residences Vallorcine for a late March ski holiday. It was perfect - all the convenience of self catering in “hotel quality” accommodation. Lots of little extras included in the price. The reception team are very friendly and helpful (did not try to rip you off with extra charges like some ski places).

Our top floor apartment was in excellent condition – pretty with lots of wood and beams, spotlessly clean, very warm and comfortable, well equipped, nice bedding and towels, etc. Free Internet (internet cable can be borrowed foc). Free films (these were surprisingly good).
The Building had a lovely reception lounge with wifi. Ski storage room with free boot dryers. Warm pool with comfy sunbeds and big glass windows to look at the mountain. Free-to-use sauna (4 until 8) or reception will turn on (if you ask) during the day. Little ice skating rink with hut selling hot chocolates and stuff, nice chairs and tables to sit out. Free underground parking space.

Shopping - Little shop/café attached. Opens at 7.30am selling cakes, croissants, breads, meats, jam, and lots more (you can wizz down in the morning and put the cost on your room bill and be back in less than five minutes. There is a separate shop very close with a selection of basic items. Small supermarket in Argentiere. Reception had details of a supermarket that can deliver your groceries when you arrive.

Unfortunately there is not a proper restaurant at the Residences, but you can buy hot roasted chicken, lasagnes, etc to eat in your apartment. The nearby Three Bears has a lovely atmosphere and good food. We also had a reasonable meal at the unpretentious Hotel Buet. Didn’t have time to try anywhere else in Vallorcine.

We like to have a car and try different ski resorts. However, the Vallorcine cable car is really close and a great area to start and end your ski holiday. Nearby Argentiere is also good (and high for spring skiing). It is about ten minutes in the car and you can park for free next to the cable car. Chamonix was an easy drive (the closer cable car is called La Praz – I think - but that was not working). We paid to park very close to the cable car in town.

We are really glad that we picked the “hassle free” mont blanc unlimited ski pass. This enabled us to ski in Courmayeur and Verbier – both excellent resorts with newer ski lifts. Courmayeur is about 30 minutes or more by car. Buy your tunnel tickets (much cheaper) at the ski pass shop in vallorcine. Simply validate your ski pass when you arrive at the cable car in Courmayeur. Lovely long red runs, nice places to eat on the mountain and cheaper than France. Verbier is about an hour, maybe less – very pretty drive first thing in the morning. It is very convenient to park at Le Chable and get the cable car up. Show your ski pass at the desk by the cable car and they will give you a Verbier day pass that covers all the 4 valleys. Lovely fast lifts and brilliant skiing. Again, the beer/food on the mountain was cheaper than in France.

We did not use public transport, however, we would have liked to use the little train (free ticket with the apartment) in the evenings but it is not very frequent and stops about 8 pm – so no good for meals out in Argentiere or Chamonix.

Would definitely return to residences for the quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolidayHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALMBLA, Responsable commercial at Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our establishment further to your stay in March and for your positive feedback.

We are happy that you had a pleasant experience with us in Vallorcine and we look forward to welcoming you this summer.

Kind Regards,

Clotilde Hezez
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is an excellent hotel for families. Speacially if you are going to Chamonix for Skiing.
We (myself, my wife and 2 kids) got a 2 bedroom apartment with closed garage for the car, room for keeping your skies and snow board and all amenities you would expect from a 4 start hotel. The kitchen is functional (we prepared dinner and breakfast during all our stay), the size of the apartment is great (small bedrooms, but large leaving and dinning room).
One of the nights, we had an issue with the hot water in the shower and the manager offered another room for us in case we needed to take a shower next morning (I am glad we never used, since they were able to fix the hot water for the next morning).
Highly recommend this property if you are looking for a longer stay (4 to 7+ days) and would like to be right infront of the Ski Lift of Vallorcine to have access to the Mont Blanc Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdFaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALMBLA, Responsable commercial at Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad to hear that we did meet your expectations during your recent stay in our Residence.
Our guests' satisfaction is our priority and we are constantly working on the quality of the service provided.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in Vallorcine.

Best Regards,

Clotilde Hezez
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 5pattersons
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VALMBLA, Responsable commercial at Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were staying with another couple of friends in a 2 bedroom apartment.

Our first experience was not good - we checked in and the receptionist was so rude that I asked to complain to the manager. The "manager" was actually standing there all the time and had not done anything (her name is Duval). She was even worse and when I asked her to confirm that she really was the manager (I couldn't believe that anyone in a management position would have these customer service skills) she said "Yes. Well... I am the reception manager". So, I asked to speak to the hotel manager and she looked shocked, saying "but that's impossible - it is the weekend!". She wouldn't even give me the hotel manager's name.

Just an awful start to our weekend ski trip. I am still angry.

Service aside, the apartment was fine for a weekend for 4 people. It was clean and functional, but had tiny bedrooms and no oven (just microwave). This is supposed to be for up to 5 people, but I can't imagine spending a week there with 5 people would be much fun. Also the wifi doesn't work in the rooms, just the lobby - seems a small thing, but roaming charges are significant.

Oh, and there was a surprise 15 Euros per day charge for a second car (this was for a 2 bedroom apartment) which is not mentioned on the booking.com website where I booked).

Overall, the hotel itself was fine, especially for a weekend, but if the (anonymous) hotel manager reads this: you need to invest in some serious customer service training!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALMBLA, Responsable commercial at Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Sir,

We apologize greatly for the inconvenience and lack of customer service you received during your recent stay in our Resort.
We thank you for your feedback and the necessary corrective actions have been taken with the front office & management staff. The person you are talking about is no longer working with us and a new Manager is on duty since the end of February.

We hope that you will consider to stay again in our beautiful Resort in the future, and should you choose to do so, please inform us in advance and we shall update your reservation to offer you a complimentary service on your next stay.

We hope that your next experience with us will be excellent.

Kind Regards,

Clotilde Hezez
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed mid-week (one night) in mid-January when the school holidays had ended and the hotel (as well as the slopes) was relatively empty. We got a really good "last minute" / "low season" price of 139 euro/night (for a small apartment that was perfect for us - 2 adults and one baby). In relation to what we got, in terms of the service and facilities of the hotel, the price/quality-ratio was therefore excellent.

Among the many benefits/advantages of this hotel are:
1) Very close to the lift in Vallorcine, approximately 150 meters by foot, and located in a small and cute mountain village (albeit VERY quiet at night with only a few decent restaurants).
2) Supernice staff that - apart from giving us useful advise about the area and ski system - allowed us both to check in early (already at noon instead of around 16h) and check out late (at 15h instead of 11h).
3) very convenient apartments - in our case, a living room (with sofa bed), kitchen (with micro, water boiler, coffee machine, pots/pans, etc, etc), one bedroom and a nice bathroom (with bathtub), plus a balcony.
4) indoor parking (your car will not be covered in snow every morning...) plus a changing room where you have a "personal" locker for your ski equipment (including a dryer for the ski boots!).
5) rental shop literally in the hotel in case you do not bring your own equipment.
6) a very nice sauna (actually two) and one pool, with relaxation areas, plus a spa. (There is also a gym in case the skiing was not enough...).

Last but not least, which was also one of the key reasons why we had opted for this hotel, there is a indoor play area for kids/toddlers (and, although we did not use this, they can arrange baby sitter). The play area was not huge but it was extremely useful when my wife and I alternated in the slopes. For us, this was heaven. And our kid - for once - seemed to really enjoy being with us on ski holidays (it is awfully tiresome for all involved to be stuck in some overcrowded cafeteria near the slopes, where the options for playing are close to nil).

In short, the downsides of this place are very few. But there are a few things that one should, perhaps, keep in mind if opting for Vallorcine and this hotel:
- The village is a bit remote, you may be better off cooking at "home" for the most part (although we had a good dinner at the restaurant in the railway station), and there are no shuttle buses from Vallorcine to the other Chamonix areas (but there is a train that leaves a few times per day).
- The hotel is great in many - if not most - ways, but if you are expecting the usual "standard" of five stars hotels, you may be annoyed with some aspects. Admittedly, the facilities are great. But the reception closes at 20h. There are no extra towels or shampoo/soap in the sauna and pool areas. The apartments are far more cosy than luxurious. There are no complimentary spices (or salt/peppar) in the kitchen - and, as far as we could figure out, no supermarket nearby (so you may want/have to bring a few things). Etc.

Having said all of this, we could warmly recommend this place. And, honestly, compared to many other ski hotels, this one is really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joreSwedeinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Everything was Perfect. Highly recomended :-)
A+++++++

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallorcine
8.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
8.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,187 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc

Address: 44, Route des confins du Valais, 74660 Vallorcine, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Vallorcine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Vallorcine
Price Range: $123 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* Appart'Hotel Located in the valley of Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, the Residence Vallorcine Mont-Blanc features 53 cosy one to three bedrooms apartments, a wellness centre including a swimming pool, a sauna, a fitness room and a SPA by Cinq Mondes. Free WiFi is available throughout the property as well as free private indoor parking. Every apartment includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, a nespresso coffee machine and a fully equipped kitchen. The residence has ski-to-door access and is a 1-minute walk from Vallorcine gondola. Geneva Airport is 105 km away. The Residence has the Green Key Eco Label and is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence And Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc Hotel Vallorcine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing