We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Modest Hotel, Superb Service”
Review of Hotel Sea View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alibaug
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sea View
Ranked #26 of 48 Alibaug B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The best part of this hotel is Location (so that should keep the Hiltons happy) It is bang on the beach overlooking the Kolaba Fort. The access allows one to walk on the Promenade and during low tides to walk across to the Fort to see 18th century Ruins and a Siddhi Vinayak Temple.

It is also one of the few hotels on the beach with AC rooms. The Hotel has obviously seen good times and is now well past its prime. The original owner made the hotel with a lot of care (design work on walls, prime chairs in dining hall, Rooms with balconies and views) but it has gone to seed now as the current owners are obviously milking it for location. The pillows tend to be dirty but they do change it on request. The AC work very well.

This is a all vegetarian hotel so only veg fare is served, not even eggs in Breakfast. While the hotel does say it will provide non-veg in rooms by ordering it from nearby hotels, it often does not happen.

But what makes the hotel stand out are the Staff. They are superb. Our requests were always satisfied in a jiffy whether asking for blankets at 11pm at night (A major plus in hotels in india) or a car wash in the morning. It was always done with a smile and they always greeted us with a smile.

For food, it is best you eat outside as there are many options in and around.

We had gone around looking at almost all beach hotels in Alibaug and this one is the best stay available if you are looking for a hotel on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony as these are slightly bigger than rest and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skanekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent location but may spoil your mood with the bad maintenance and lack of cleanliness - you might find cockroaches & lizards roaming in your room. Staff is very unkempt and so is the dining hall. Go for it only if you don't find any other resort near the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisha1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great view. Good location. Just about decent rooms. Need to push a bit to get service. Lax on cleanliness.
Would not recommend except as weekend stay if there are no better options.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sougata_Nupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The look from outside is unwelcoming but for people who are looking for a budget this is certainly the choice. Bang on the sea-shore the hotel give a wonderful view. The rooms are basic with all amenities needed. There are two and three bedded room available. Though you will need to be strict on the staff about cleanliness and service. The best part is in the afternoon the hotel and the sea are far away. But with the high-tide of the night the waves come kissing the walls of the hotel. A pleasant surprise we got early in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trueblueonly4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have been in this hotel in Nov. 2011
Hotel looks so poor, No maintainance.
Rooms are classi.
We were 10 peoples so we booked HAll.
Nice bed & huge hall with 8 double sized beds.
But there were too much mosquitoes.
This hotel has a nice swimming pool but at one corner there is slippery.
Hotel has just Carrom game facility.
Hotel service is worst.
We had to carry our luggage.
Swimming pool was the only best part of the hotel..

But overall our experience in the hotel was okay...
I would suggest you to run away from this hotel..

Room Tip: You take a Sea view room or not.. thing is same.... If you are found of Swimming pools then book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNoReason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in April 2010.
The location is good which is right in front of the Alibaug Beach.
The room rates were costly (may be due to sea view) but we got a room which was not in front of sea. So the rates for such rooms shud be less.
Ther service was good.
Hygience was also good.

Room Tip: There were many other hotels in the vicinity which were less expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samyrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

we stayed in the hotel from 10/10/2011-12/10/2011 in room no 209, 211 and 212(probably), the front side sea facing rooms have an excellent view of the sea. The low tide and high tide can nicely be seen from there..a beautiful experience..
Rooms were large...but not properly clean..had dust on the furniture..not liked the food of the restaurant..so we used to visit restaurant Fulora (Near bus stand/mahabir chowk) for lunch and dinner..
Room service persons are more or less cooperative, tea and breakfast was fine, reception staff and Proprietor Mr.Girish, both are nice persons and very helpful.
But we had serious problem of mosquito and other insect bites in nights. Particularly my baby is 2 yrs old, who and my father (76yrs) suffered a lot due to this problems. care must be taken.
however overall experience and location of the hotel makes it worthy for next visit.

Room Tip: try to have sea facing rooms...they are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alibaug
0.9 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#16 of 17 in Alibaug
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Villas & Resort
Paradise Villas & Resort
#21 of 48 in Alibaug
105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coconut Beach Farm
Coconut Beach Farm
#7 of 10 in Nagaon
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nisarg Guest House
Nisarg Guest House
#12 of 48 in Alibaug
3 reviews
2.2 mi away
Acons Palm Beach
Acons Palm Beach
#6 of 48 in Alibaug
12 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bougainvillea, Nagaon
Bougainvillea, Nagaon
#1 of 10 in Nagaon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea View

Address: Sea Beach, Alibaug 402201, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Alibaug
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Alibaug
Price Range: $50 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sea View 2*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing