We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but no cigar”
Review of Sai-Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sai-Inn Resort
Ranked #15 of 43 Alibaug B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok, but no cigar”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

this is an ok place. bad food but ok everything. we ordered chicken tandoori which turned out inedibly spicy. a major problem is that it is in Kihim which is not an all purpose beachfront. Kihim beach is muddy, rocky and shallow. Not a place to swim. Also there are no water sports or ATV. Do not waste your time and money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
54
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alibaug, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our experience -
1. Rooms not clean. Cobwebs in few rooms. Basic toiletries not provided, albeit they arranged the moment we asked for it.
2. Food pathetic and very poor restaurant service. Breakfast a disaster. Package inclusive of food is a complete waste.
3. TV works occasionally. Other facilities like pool table, TT, mini Zoo - not at all usable.
4. Garden ill maintained.
5. Swimming Pool is though very good.. neat and clean.

Overall not happy with the facility.

Room Tip: Do not go for Maharaja rooms. Cottage rooms or Super deluxe rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alibaug hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were looking fwd to visiting Alibaug, and some people had told us about Sai Inn. It turned out to be strictly ok, albeit at times i was considering asking for my refund and cutting the trip short by a day. We were here for 2 nights. the first day was a disaster. They had no idea about the kind of rooms we had booked. my parents' room was not cleaned at all, and were moved to a new room later, which had a leaky washbasin. Me and my wife had gone for a cottage room, and although the outside looks like a cottage, the inside is just very ordinary. The bedsheets were definitely dusty, as im still recovering from a sneeze attack that has lasted 2 days. The food...was great! But the sad part? Being in Alibaug, the hotel doesnt have an a la carte fish selection. Very badly managed staff, lack of co-ordination. We pre-ordered some fish for dinner (a la carte), but when we sat down for dinner, they had no idea about our order. We got better fish meals at the Alibaug town restaurants the next day, 8 km from this hotel. Other meals and items were good...esp the kadhai chicken and dal. Im not complaining about the food, i just wanted some more fish...considering the koli life like mannequins they have all over the place. We overheard the staff negotiating with a potential visitor over the phone at the reception, and he claimed "madam, lodge aur resort mein fark hota hai. humara yeh hotel resort hai. yahan pe sab mehenga aur accha hai..." we beg to differ. and for 5k and 4k for rooms there...we really beg to differ.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage rooms...at least they are better than normal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abhijeetkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Went there for a family weekend. pool was an important prerequisite for us and the pool was surely not a let down....the property is very spacious with little play areas, hammocks, a good pool, lots of trees. cottages are nicely spread around. the hotel building has rooms.service is just about ok and so is the food. had the bed and breakfast package and breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we went for 2 days and 1 nights on 3-2-2012,property was average,clean,no problems.Flexible with check out timing.Restaurant was not at all good,not good service.breakfast not good.But no good eateries in alibaug.swimming pool was clean.Location of the resort just 3 km from kihim beach.Do not take food package with stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

good location of the hotel, away from the dirty town.
the new side is only worth it, as the old section is not at all well maintained.
the pool is very good.
go for a room on the first floor, facing the pool.
food is not that great, but i dont think u can get anything better in alibaug as it is!!
a short stay of 2 nights is ideal in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aum1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Sai-Inn has a nice facade, clean bathrooms, not-so-clean rooms and food that's given me indigestion. They try to save money by cutting corners, adding on premium prices for guests already paying their package rates (higher than normal) for simple things like being able to enter the swimming pool.

Let's begin our step-by-step journey into the Sai Inn resort.

1. Beautiful entrance, nicely maintained garden and property - if you venture to the back of the hotel, you'll notice where they keep all the trash.
2. Very nice swimming pool. Great staff on hand. But limited hours of entry to the pool make it difficult for all to enjoy. Also, this being India, women don't often want to enter swimming pools with bathing suits, this hotel makes it mandatory for all to have a "bathing costume" and they provide one at RENT for those who have paid an enormous amount of money for a hotel room anyway. So it becomes a nuisance. It's not the minimal fee that's the issue, it's that they don't have the courtesy to simply give it to guests of the hotel who would be willing to wear "reuseable bathing costumes" - a practice, in and of itself a disturbing trend.
3. Food. For breakfast, juice costs Rs. 100 extra, even though you've paid Rs. 1,100 for your "meals" they feel juice is not a staple of breakfast. No fruits. They did make some Jain Poha upon request. Oil is the main ingredient in the Medu Vadas. Stay away.

Lunch & Dinner were well prepared but the current state of my stomach, after having ingested their tasty creations is another story. My stomach is a rumble zone right now.

4. Permanent stains were laden throughout the room we were given. At first thinking that they were caused by mud or footprints, we requested them to clean the room, which they did, but to no avail after realizing that the entire room was a mess to begin with.

Even with the above, the friendliness of the staff must be commended. They do hear you out when you discuss something with them and they were very courteous in helping prepare the Jain meals.

But there being no transport service, they should at least have the courtesy of flagging down a bus or service for guests, which they don't do at all. We simply were asked to wait outside and flag down a bus or car on our own.

Again, these would all be fine were it not for the exorbitant costs of this hotel. For Rs. 2,500 I'd be willing to stay at this hotel again. But for what they provided, it was 100% not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhaval M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alibaug hotels
3.3 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 16 in Alibaug
100 reviews
35.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.5 mi away
Sia Resort
Sia Resort
#8 of 16 in Alibaug
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Elysium Spa Resort
Elysium Spa Resort
#3 of 43 in Alibaug
334 reviews
7.7 mi away
U Tropicana Alibaug
U Tropicana Alibaug
#3 of 16 in Alibaug
606 reviews
8.1 mi away
Paradise Villas & Resort
Paradise Villas & Resort
#17 of 43 in Alibaug
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai-Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai-Inn Resort

Property: Sai-Inn Resort
Address: Rewas-Alibag Road At Chondi Village Kihim | District Raigad, Alibaug, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Alibaug
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Alibaug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sai Hotel Alibaug

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing