We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Tropicana Alibaug
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Alibaug
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent Resort”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The place is awesome. Everything about the place was perfect. The room ambiance, food, the service levels of the staff and last but not the least, the resort itself is class apart.

We were there for an overnight. we had requested the hotel staff for some arrangements and they did it gladly. The property is new but the hotel staff is nice & cultured always eager to help. The view from the open balcony at the rooftop is simply amazing, gives you a feeling as if you are on a beach cum hill-side resort.

In all its a super value for Money spent there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shrikant75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshKunwar, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from U Tropicana Alibaug,

At the outset we thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out time to share your stay experiences. Stay feedback is very critical for us and an integral part of our culture to realign product and services to guest expectations. We are extremely glad that you had an excellent stay with us. It has been a pleasure to serve you.

Your feedback has been shared with our team at U Tropicana, which will motivate them to excel further.

We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely,

Rakesh Kunwar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    226
    80
    23
    16
See reviews for
281
135
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wonderful resort, value for money and had a great time. One of the few resorts where everything including landscaping, rooms, quality of service and food was all excellent. Good place to relax, chill out in the pool and spend some quiet moments in the garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jehangir_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshKunwar, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from U Tropicana Alibaug,

At the outset we thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out time to share your stay experiences. Stay feedback is very critical for us and an integral part of our culture to realign product and services to guest expectations. We are extremely glad that you had an excellent stay with us.

Your feedback has been shared with our team at U Tropicana, which will motivate them to excel further.

We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely,

Rakesh Kunwar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The property is very new. It has a good swimming pool. Carrom, table tennis and pool table are also available. Each room has Tata Sky service. The food is very good though it was a bit bland. The resort is located in a very serene location with mountains in the backdrop. A rainy day makes the resort even more soothing with frogs croaking in the background.

The resort is under staffed and this has a big impact on room service and the cleaning of rooms. Even after repeated requests the housekeeping did not change towels on the second day of my stay. The resort is far away from Alibaug and this can be a deterrent for people who want to go to the town. Also, staying up at the resort would mean you have no food options except the resort food as there are no restaurants near by. Resort does not have WIFI or internet facility.

Over all a very good place to take a break be close to the nature during the rains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikramNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshKunwar, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from U Tropicana Alibaug,

At the outset we thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out time to share your experiences. Stay feedback is very critical for us and an integral part of our culture to realign product and services to guest expectations. We sincerely apologize for the occurrences as stated. We have defined systems and procedures in place, however during your stay few of them fell short of delivery.

Your feedback has been conveyed to our Housekeeper with regards to the towels and steps have been taken to ensure that there is no such repetition. The vastness of the property and intermittent rains at times prove a challenge to our service levels. However the team has been briefed to ensure timelines while handling guest requests. Being slightly away from the main city, we enjoy the advantage of the rustic countryside, the serene and tranquil environs, much needed setting for an ideal retreat. Keeping this in mind our kitchen is well prepared to offer diverse value priced food options which includes Local, Indian, Continental and Oriental. We have an Halwai in our team who prepares excellent Indian sweets and snacks. We also advocate food requests over and above the menu on offer.

Many of the systems, procedures and practices are undergoing over-all changes as an International Hotel company, has recently taken charge as Operators. Wifi happens to be one of these inclusions which will be operational very soon.

While we deeply regret for the inconveniences caused, it is our assurance that during your next visit you will definitely feel the difference and experience true hospitality.

We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely,

Rakesh Kunwar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Sometimes its the small things that ruin the experience of a seemingly good place.. the first thing that you notice bout the resort is that its a good property.. well spread out and beeming wid potential. . Jus as you are getting excited bout your potentially lavish experience, u tropicana disappoints u. Following is list of what put us off:
1) the room was nt properly cleaned.. the bedsheets n bedcovers looked like they needed a good washing
2) the AC which was right over the bed leaked.. plus it refused to stay on the whole night. .requiring manual intervention and hence screwing our sleep...
3) there was no mention of the essential nos (reception/room service)in the room.. menu was a mere xerox.. I am sure a resort which charges 7000 per night from its patrons can afford a printed menu in its rooms..
4) major issues wid food department: room service takes too long (min40 mins).. spread is limited.. taste is average.. chicken nuggets were burnt, food is cold til it reaches you..

All in all U tropicana fails to deliver the kind of hospitality it incites at arrival. . If u r ok wid foregoing basic requirements for a hassle free vacation I wuld recommend U Tropicana for u!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehavaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshKunwar, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from U Tropicana Alibaug,

At the outset we thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out time to share your stay experiences. Stay feedback is very critical for us and an integral part of our culture to realign product and services to guest expectations. We sincerely apologize for the occurrences as stated. We have defined systems and procedures in place, however during your stay some of them fell short of delivery.

Our Housekeeper has been conveyed on your feedback regarding linen and air-conditioning, the Executive Chef has been briefed on food experiences. Menus were undergoing change and have been reinstated since. We have ensured value pricing. Telephone extensions are marked on the telephone instrument itself. Please be assured that the relevant processes have been revisited and re-enforced.

Many of the systems, procedures and practices are undergoing over-all changes as an International Hotel company, has recently taken charge as Operators. While we deeply regret for the inconveniences caused, it is our assurance that during your next visit you will definitely feel the difference and experience true hospitality.

We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely,

Rakesh Kunwar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went over the 29-30 june weekend. Must say we were pleasantly surprised with the place ! We were allocated rooms on the first floor... But since we had kids who we thought would be jumping in and out of the pool, we requested the ones on the ground floor. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The rear door, led straight to the pool, which was perfect !!!! There is a small sitting area at the rear end as well. Well maintained bathrooms, clean and tidy.
The staff is very helpful and ensure that your stay is pleasant. Only problem is the kitchen... They donot have enough manpower to handle large turnouts. Its annoying to wait 45-50 mins post placing an order. Only way out is to pre-order and reach the restaurant after 30 mins... If one can manage that, this place is worth staying !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor, for direct access to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ammruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Property is really very good and articulately built and maintained. Services offered were beyond expectation (imagine guard / waiter till 04:00 AM)!!! Overall a good experience, although chef can add a more for a Five Star, Food was really average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anand1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Rooms are really good.
Service is very nice.
Swimming pool is fantastic.
Food is okay not that great...
I would recommend this hotel to someone planning to visit alibaug.
For the tarriff at which they offer the rooms. It is highly recommended.....
It lacks proximity to beach if thats what you are looking for

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_avid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alibaug hotels
32.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
5.2 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 16 in Alibaug
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maple IVY
Maple IVY
#4 of 16 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel Ravikiran
Hotel Ravikiran
#9 of 16 in Alibaug
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sia Resort
Sia Resort
#8 of 16 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
16.1 mi away
Elysium Spa Resort
Elysium Spa Resort
#3 of 40 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Tropicana Alibaug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Tropicana Alibaug

Property: U Tropicana Alibaug
Address: Mapgaon Road | Near the village of Chondi, Alibaug 402208, India (Formerly Tropicana Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Alibaug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Alibaug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U Tropicana Alibaug 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PICTURESQUE ALIBAUG AWAITS YOU. U Tropicana Alibaug spread over 12 acres is located off Chondi Naka and just three kilometers from picturesque Kihim Beach. Tropically landscaped gardens and greenery allowing guests to forget about the worldly worries and bask in an atmosphere of ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. All rooms and suites are decorated in an uncomplicated and contemporary design with local influences and U's unique concept of service. Facilities include an all day dining restaurant, lounge bar, spa, fitness centre and library for guests to catch up on news or sunk in their favourite books or magazines. U's unique concept of service including 24 hour room which will allow guests to enjoy their room for 24 hours from arrival as well as breakfast whenever/wherever during the stay, international and local calls at cost, pre-select amenities such as pillow, tea, music and soap that guests can select from our online U Choose programme and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your U Tropicana Alibaug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Alibaug

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing