We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but that is it”
Review of L'Escapade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Escapade
Ranked #8 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Flemish Brabant Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
312 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cheap, but that is it”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

As the sister hotel Auberge Normande was fully booked, me and my colleagues were booked fo our last day in Carentan in L'escapade. What an experience. The hotel can be either called charming or dated, whatever you like. The room I got was most likely smaller than your average prison cell (not that I ever stayed in a prison cell but if prison cells were any smaller, then I really don't want to commit crime). The space taken up by the batroom was smaller than a small kitchen table. Very hand though, you can go to the bathroom, brush your teeth and take a shower, ALL AT THE SAME TIME. Breakfast was OK and cheap (7 euro) and the room was only 30 euro. Surly a hotel room I will remember for a long time.Internet speed was slow and service was only available at some instances.

Room Tip: Room 5 is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    25
    33
    36
See reviews for
28
69
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Chose this hotel based on the location and proximity to Dday landing beaches and other historical stuff.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The attached restaurant seems to be a local favourite and is full of local people during lunch and dinner service. The food and the service was excellent.

The hotel room....

Looked great as we checked in... however the shower was a disaster. The pressure was very low. 2 temperatures - hot or cold. The toilet roll holder was broken, and the bathroom was like a small wet room. Everytime you had a shower, the whole thing flooded, leaking water onto the bedroom floor.

Great if you don't care (as we didn't) - excellent location.

Room could do with some TLC.

I look forward to comments from the management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel L'escapade. The room was a standard room. A very small room with a even smaller bathroom. The bed was ok but other than that the room wasn't very nice. Only one staff member spoke adquate English. The restaurant had only French menus and the food was terrible. I ordered a sausage platter as a starter. I got a huge basket full of different sausages. I cut out few peaces of sausage and the rest of the basket was taken away. The next morning the exact same basket and sausages were on the breakfast table. The breakfast was also very disappointing. The guy at the reception described the breakfast to be a full continental breakfast. Instead there were couple of croissant and baquets and the sausage basket at the breakfast table. A very disappointing hotel! The only good thing is that you can park your car right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carentan hotels

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed here with members of my family on a cycling weekend. We had booked this weeks in advance, stating on the booking we would be arriving with 6 bicycles. On our arrival we were told to leave or bikes outside in the back yard overnight! We were very concerned bout security, so we negotiated, and the only option was to leave them in the food store! Not ideal. Our evening meal was okay, the service was could have been better, as we often had to keep chasing the staff. Our bedroom were as stated by previous reports. Nice and clean, good beds.

The problem came when we came down for breakfast the next morning. We were booked in for 7.30, as agreed the night before with the hotel reception staff. At 8am we were still waiting and as you could imagine, we were on shedual. The 1x member of staff who eventually open up the restaurant was quite abrupt!!

Just be prepared to wait for service, I couldn't help but feel second to French speaking guests. No members of staff spoke English, which is okay, but not when your ignored a lot of the time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed as a stop-over between Cherbourg and Paris; I wanted Carentan due to its strong WWII connections, and we wanted a more typical French-style country hotel than something more modern like an Ibis.

L'Escapade is situated in the town square, 5 mins walk from the town's little harbour. Despite that, we parked our car right outside the hotel's front door!

The rooms were very clean and functional (no baths), slightly more modern than the rest of the hotel, and the beds were soft and very comfy. The restaurant/eating area downstairs is fantastic, filled with French bric-a-brac; the evening menu was superb (though not much for the vegetarians and it did take a while to come) and breakfast was a good spread continental.

Staff were very polite (and spoke English).

Carentan is beautiful, and L'Escapade feels authentic French; I would love to go back to spend longer exploring the countryside. (L'Escapade offered a far more enjoyable stay than our expensive Disneyland Paris hotel!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlet0nr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Another one night stay on our cycling trip along the Normandy beaches. We booked one of the cheaper rooms which was advertised as having a small bathroom - an apt description. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The 'bathroom' was a small self-contained 'pod' in the corner containing a toilet, handbasin and basic shower (which pumped out plenty of hot water). Not recommended if you suffer from claustrophobia or if you're staying longer than a couple of nights, but perfectly adequate for our needs and exactly what was advertised.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there was secure storage for our bikes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I totally agree with the other review about being ignored and the French getting served before us. We ordered a 3 course meal, the soup came and then after the dishes were taken away it was half an hour before we realised that we just were not going to get out 2nd course!! after trying to attract the attention of the waiters and waitresses, that were rude and ignored us, we finally got our last 2 courses. Having read these other reviews I realise that it must happen all the time and I would not recommend this place. The food was nice and good value but the service was dreadful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
108 reviews
7.6 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
98 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Normande
L'Auberge Normande
#4 of 8 in Carentan
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escapade

Property: L'Escapade
Address: 28 avenue de la Gare | Rue Du Docteur Caillard, 50500 Carentan, Carentan-les-Marais, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan-les-Marais > Carentan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — L'Escapade 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Escapade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Escapade Carentan, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing