We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Auberge Normande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Auberge Normande
Ranked #3 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just spent four nights at the Auberge. We stayed in room 4, and at 89 Euros a night we
considered it poor value. French friends who live in Carentan said that better places were available for less money.
We ate in the restaurant once and it was also disappointing, one of us had half a lobster (£25) which had been overcooked, and an entrecote (£22) We didn't eat there again, The 89 Euros for the room did not include breakfast, which at 9 Euros a head extra for an uncooked breakfast with cold coffee was also poor value. We cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 4 is bright and airy but has a totally "open plan" bath area: the separate loo does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    64
    37
    37
    21
See reviews for
45
102
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here on advise from the tourism information. It was ok... a bit over priced for what you get. We had dinner in the restaurant which was nice. The staff were out the front of our room till late, but to be honest we had such a fantastic day out it was not noticeable as we crash and burned. We did end up having breakfast as we smelt bacon and it smelt really good, much to our disappointment it was not there. The breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Not to get room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingaussiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemish Brabant Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
300 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel has all the posibilities to be great place to be but the details ruin the experience. As business travel staying here, I expect internet to be at an acceptable speed. It wasn't and dropped out so often it was frustrating. If breakfast is supposed to be as of 07:00, I expect the breakfast to be ready as of 07:00 and not that the staff starts to prepare the breakfast as of 07:10. Overall, not bad but the lack of attention to those details, most likely by being understaffed or being staffed by less than motivated people, throws a shadow over this place. I will return but hope the owners get things sorted out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has plenty of appeal at first sight - and then you get your instructions from the lady dragon with the false smile and without any sense of customer care; I'm afraid that for the most part the food took the same uncaring attitude as the dragon, who rushed stomping between tables all the time that we were trying to eat. And our bottle of red was chilled to the core. Be warned

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carentan hotels

Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

4 of us - 3 rooms. Ours was the 'handicapped' room just off the outdoor dining area. Large room, large bathroom but no doors around the shower. Water drain in the floor but still floor would be wet after a shower. Slippery when wet, not sure how that is good for someone who must have a handicapped bathroom. For us, it was ok but you had to get down on the floor to dry it prior to moving around in the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. It's hit and miss with the housekeeping, one day no towels, on arrival a dirty tea cup in the room, etc...But just ask for what you need and it's no problem.
Breakfast buffet with more than enough. Again, hit and miss - long periods of time to have the croissant basket refilled, coffee carafes would sit empty, but all you had to do was ask and whatever you needed would be provided. It's sorta like 'at home' where you get it yourself, but not.
We didn't eat dinner any of the 4 nights we stayed at L'Auberge. We,nightly, drug 2 tables from a walkway which did double duty as a storage room for tables and chairs and went shopping in town for our dinners. The staff of the hotel did not mind, and gladly provided place settings for our in-room picnics.
Yes, the staff sits outside the kitchen, hidden by bushes, smoking and also having their meals al fresco. They were not loud over the 4 nights we were there and our room within just feet of their outdoor space.
Overall, I'd stay there again, it's so charming. Very little English spoken but a few of the younger staff would try to speak with us in English and did not laugh at our poor attempts to speak French.

Room Tip: In another wing, there is a studio - 2 floors with big bathtub in the center of the floor under a sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The staff smoking under the bedroom window was an annoyance though. The meal from the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastystuffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room was comfortable but was spoilt by the noisy staff who sat outside drinking and smoking until the early hours.
The menu was pretentious and the food was nothing like its description in the menu. My fish was so overcooked that it was completely inedible. Both my husband and I suffered from upset stomachs after dinner. At breakfast we were seated at the same table which still had the spilt candle wax on the cloth from the night before.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybean514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
1.3 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Clos Castel
Le Clos Castel
#1 of 8 in Carentan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Normande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Normande

Property: L'Auberge Normande
Address: Boulevard de Verdum, 11 c, 50500 Carentan, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Auberge Normande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Auberge Normande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Auberge Normande Carentan, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing