We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Clos Castel
Nearby Hotels
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de France(Isigny-sur-Mer)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Grand Hard(Sainte-Marie-du-Mont)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Logis Le Sainte Mere(Sainte-Mere-Eglise)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Duguesclin(Grandcamp-Maisy)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$127
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Roseliere(Carentan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Escapade(Carentan)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
124
9
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
9
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantsplaces to visitlovely placelocal historytouring normandyguest loungelocal areaan ideal locationvisit friendsbaguettea wonderful staystevehostsbeachesbayeuxcloscherbourg
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 135 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed on the campsite at La Clos Castel in August 2013. Hazel and Steve the English owners made us very welcome. The site has 6 hard standing pitches and toilets and showers - well kept and cleaned. There is a also space for tents. Good position for visiting all the d day sites and Caen and Bayeaux.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanePainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights with Hazel & Stephen during our first trip to France earlier this month and were so pleased! Selected this B&B for English speaking hosts and they could not have been more helpful. Suggested changes to our preplanned schedule relating to Tour de France and were spot on! Room/bath were spacious and spotless. Breakfasts were excellent (including fresh-from-the-bakery croissants and pain aux chocolat) and our first evening dinner was quite good (despite mild disappointment over roast chicken replacement for beef bourguignon.) Perfectly located to enjoy D-Day attractions, Bayeax, and Mont-Saint-Michel! Great value. Highly recommend this B&B - Hazel takes excellent care of her guests and makes you feel so at home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very welcome place to stay. Thanks Hazel and Steve.
We only stayed one night with our 3 year old, but were made very welcome. Comfortable rooms with good facilities, Le Clos Castel is a very handy 40 minutes from the Cherbourg ferry. Although we arrived quite late in the evening (10pm) were met by both Hazel and Steve who showed us round and provided a good continental breakfast to set us on our way for the journey south the next day. Will definitely stay again next time we take the ferry over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

There were 9 of us on bikes staying at Le Clos Castel. We arrived later than expected, past midnight, and were greeted by a very welcome beer from their bar - a very good start to the weekend :-)
The accommodation was better than expected, the breakfast and evening meals were excellent as was their company.
Great location for exploring the D-Day sites and general Normandy.
A thoroughly splendid weekend had by all and the value was outstanding.

Room Tip: All good to be fair
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Belated review after staying at Le Clos Castel for a 3rd time!
This is a beautiful house with lovely comfortable rooms, and superb croissants freshly delivered for breakfast! Evening meals are available on request, and are equally delicious.
Hazel and Steve are excellent hosts, and their local knowledge is really helpful.
I've been here twice on a motorbike, and once with my Dad in the car. On each occasion we were made to feel really welcome, and to top it all there is now a guests' bar available.
Also excellent for campers with acres of room for tents and electric hook up for camper vans, with washing facilities on site etc.
Hope to go again soon!
Simon & Sue
Sheffield

Room Tip: The Omaha Room at he front of the Ouse is lovely, with twin aspect windows and double doors looking out over the frontage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonS2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews