We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, looked after very well”
Review of Le Clos Castel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Clos Castel
Ranked #1 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, looked after very well”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Hazel and Steve, the owners, have a real gem here. Out of the way and quiet. I'm a biker and the "bike friendly" description I read drew me here. My bike was parked securely in a locked garage (not really a garage though, more a farm building attached to the main house - it was enormous!). I forgot to book an evening meal for my arrival and the next thing I knew, Steve had given me his! It's these little things that stand out. Room was clean and quiet and the building itself the same. Would definitely recommend and return - indeed, I have already (recommended)!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our group was on a cycling trip around the World War 2 sites in Normandy. Hazel and Stephen worked hard to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one and gave helpful advice on possible sites to visit and on quiet cycling routes. The breakfast was excellent. Definitely a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at Le Clos Castel for three nights this May bank holiday with my boyfriend as a very last minute booking, we only rang up and booked the night before. The location was perfect for us, less than one hours drive from Caen, ten minutes away from Saint Mere Eglise, near to Ohama beach, Bayeux and many more places to visit.
The welcome from Hazel and Stephen was like visiting old friends, the room was very spacious and grand, as was the rest of the "house". The best night's sleep we have had for a long while.
Hazel asked us when we wanted breakfast and the croissants were freshly delivered every day.
Absolutely stunning house and location, definitely worth staying at if you are looking for a peaceful, welcoming and grand place to stay. Nicest B&B we have ever stayed at, better than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I and another couple had the extremely enjoyable experience of spending six night at the le Clos Castel in late April.

First of all, the service absolutely could not have been better. Hazel and Stephen were the absolute best,(for example) providing assistance with finding restaurants for a late meal, help getting laundry done and directions (even loaning us their GPS the first night when ours was still packed away!).

The room was large and very comfortable. Ours was the Omaha room with an en suite bathroom and two balconies allowing for nice views of the beautiful country side.

The location was excellent for our needs. We were close to both Omaha Beach (and the American cemetery which is co located there) and Utah Beach. It is located south of Carentan and north of Periers, both very nice small French towns. It took us about an hour to get to Bayeux, an hour to get to Cherbourg and 1.5 hours to get to Mount Sainte Michel.

Breakfast was absolutely perfect. Hazel has croissants delivered fresh every morning and they were the best I have ever had (especially the chocolate ones)

I could go on and on but let me close by simply saying, that If you are in Normandy I really think you can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have just returned home after a great stay at Le Clos Castel. The rooms were very up market for a B+B. The food was great and Hazel and Ste were the best hosts ever, and nothing was too much trouble. Lots to see in the area - WW2, chateaus and quite near to Caen and Cherborg great for shopping. Also close to beaches on the east and west of the peninsular. Only down side is a lot of attractions are closed this time of year but tend to reopen in February to March but the ones that are open there is no queuing or loads of crowds! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Nutfield, Surrey UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hazel and Stephen have created an excellent B and B near Carenten in Normandy. They were so helpful in planning our days and the breakfasts were excellent. Dogs are welcome and have ample space to play. Hazel also prepares dinner if it is needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieSouth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Helpful owners, plenty of parking and bike storage in the owner's shed. Family room was already booked but the owners kindly accommodated all five of us in the smaller family room which was still really comfortable. Restaurant recommendations were good and the meal in the pizzeria in canrentan was one of the highlights of our holiday! Hazel was full of helpful info and breakfasts were a nice start to the day. Would definitely stay if in the area again

Room Tip: rooms can accommodate family with 3 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IwishIcouldsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
8.3 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
15.6 mi away
Chateau de Vouilly
Chateau de Vouilly
#1 of 1 in Vouilly
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Castel

Property: Le Clos Castel
Address: 971 route de Periers | Raids, 50500 Carentan, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Clos Castel is owned by the Ramsbottom family who are originally from Lancashire. We are ideally situated for you to discover the D-Day landing beaches & museums and to explore the beautiful area of Normandy. After visiting the D-Day sites Spend your days absorbing the historic cities of Caen and Bayeux not forgetting to make time to see the wonderful Bayeux tapestry. Or simply relax and enjoy the atmosphere. • Approximately 45 minutes from the port of Cherbourg and 60 minutes from the port of Caen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Clos Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Castel Carentan, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing