We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Le Clos Castel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Clos Castel
Ranked #1 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed two nights with Hazel and her family and it was great. They were very friendly and accomodating. We were planning to come in late and she had offered to prepare an evening meal so we did not have to find a restaurant. It was very nice. We would highly recommend staying here, you will not go wrong. Great location, near Ste. Mere Eglise. Central location to visit all the D-Day Normandy sites. We definately will be planning to stay there again when back in the area at some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were met at the door by Hazel and showed to a lovely room. The sofa bed and cot were already set up in our room for the kids and recommendations were given as to where to go for a play and some food. Both were perfect.
This would be a lovely place to come back to as a couple as well!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASKOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Have just spent two nights at Clos Castel to visit an area not that well known to us. Chose the B&B based on the reviews and pictures here and it was a really good choice. Great location, close to both coasts, very quiet and easy to find. The rooms are beautifully furnished and well appointed and the bathrooms are very modern and spotless (Yes, I did peep into all three rooms - very nosy!).

Thank you Hazel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Omaha room - very big with seperate bathroom and windows to two aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

From the moment of booking (solely based on Tripadvisor reviews) everything was made so easy by Hazel. Upon our arrival we were greeted at the door who was just as super friendly in person as she had been via by email and on the telephone when booking. This was a surprise for my partner and so I was incredibly nervous about planning it and getting it wrong - thank god I went here first, it could not have been better. This place is is beautiful. It is spotlessly clean yet you feel like you are literally home from home. Nothing is too much trouble and Hazel is beyond helpful! Steve is a fantastic source of Information about 101st Airborne and anything D Day! He starts off a little shy and then when the boys get talking about WW2, there seems no end in sight :-) Breakfast is wonderful with cereals, croissants, yoghurts, juices and lots and lots of very yummy coffee! Don't plan on lunch though...trust me, you will be too full!!! Hazel's dinners are even better and you are left sitting needing a whinch for your tummies to be moved off the seat afterwards!!
Tea and Coffee making facilities in the bedroom and bottled water - all replenished daily. The fluffiest and biggest bath towels I have ever known!
A beautifully appointed lounge full of DVD's and Videos and so much local information. Free WiFi!! Off road secure parking!! We cannot wait to book our next holiday to France and we know exactly where we will be staying.
All in all the most incredible stay only bettered when my partner proposed to me on the doorstep of Le Clos Castel whilst looking out onto the lovely garden and surroundings :-) Anyway, if Carlsberg did perfect guest accommodation, this would be it!!! Do not bother trying elsewhwere, you will never get anywhere as fantastic as this for touring Normandy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Le Clos Castel for a week at the end of June and had a great stay.

Hazel is an amazing host and welcomed us by name on the doorstep, from then on we knew we'd chosen the right place for us. So where do we start;

Location - Our aim was to explore not just the D-Day Beaches but other areas of Normandy and Raids was ideal. We were about an hour and a half from Merville Battery at the eastern end of the D-Day Beaches and about the same to Mont St Michel which was to the South West. Carentan was 10 minutes up the road with Utah beach probably about 20 minutes away. The beaches for relaxing at Pirou on the West Coast about 15 minutes drive. For us it was just right.

Breakfast - Cereal and fresh croissants with a lovely pot of English Tea with yoghurts and bananas if you needed them too. We stayed for 6 nights and we had a variety of pastries from Pain au Chocolat, Pain au Raison.

Bedrooms - Lovely. Comfy beds, wardrobes and en-suites with nice showers. A good nights sleep was had. Coffee and Tea making facilities were in the room and there were bottles of water provided daily for our trips.

Other bits;
1. Games room with Pool Table and the ability to pop Beer on your tab.
2. Lounge room for guests with PS2, DVDs and brochures for the local sights etc.
3. Garden to relax in when you got back in the afternoon.
4. A lock-up for Bikers (there were two groups there during our stay) motorbikes were stored overnight in here.
5. Ability to have a packed lunch made for you daily and also a home cooked dinner in the evening (Hazel - thank you our Beef Burgenyon it was lovely) for a very reasonable addition cost.

We'd definitely stay again when we re-visit this part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJButler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Nice rooms, lovely old place with WWII history! Hazel, the hostess is very sweet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLO_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

There were 5 bikes and ten adults.6sleeping in the main house and 4 in the caravan.All the accomodation exceeded our expectations. Our hosts were wonderful and couldn,t do enough to make our tour around the d.day beaches more enjoyable.The rooms and en suit bathrooms were immaculatly clean and spacious as was the rest of the public ereas.The breakfasts and evening meals were wonderfly cooked and presented.Our bikes were parked overnight in the secure barn.Highly recommended for any type of holiday and will consider a family holiday with the grandchildren in future.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristabelNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
8.3 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
15.6 mi away
Chateau de Vouilly
Chateau de Vouilly
#1 of 1 in Vouilly
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Castel

Property: Le Clos Castel
Address: 971 route de Periers | Raids, 50500 Carentan, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Clos Castel is owned by the Ramsbottom family who are originally from Lancashire. We are ideally situated for you to discover the D-Day landing beaches & museums and to explore the beautiful area of Normandy. After visiting the D-Day sites Spend your days absorbing the historic cities of Caen and Bayeux not forgetting to make time to see the wonderful Bayeux tapestry. Or simply relax and enjoy the atmosphere. • Approximately 45 minutes from the port of Cherbourg and 60 minutes from the port of Caen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Clos Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Castel Carentan, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing